GOL TV Commentator's Take On Jamaica Game 2

• GOL TV Commentator's Take On Jamaica Game 2

GOL TV commentators were mentioning what Jamaica needs to work on for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers. They said Jamaica needs one or two friendly matches against good teams.

Rene Simoes would not comment publicly, but here is what the GOL TV commentators were saying.

1. BLOWN SCORING OPPURTUNITIES. In the second half, Jamaica had plenty of chances to score, but the end result was either a bad pass, or a horrible shot. The commentators said these chances MUST result in at least a shot on goal. "When they (Jamaica) play Mexico, they won't get very many chances," the commentators said.

2. LACK OF WORK FOR THE DEFENSE. Three of four of Jamaica's startind defenders are over 30 years old. They were not pressured during either of the two games vs. Bahamas. The commentators wondered how they would react under sustained pressure by a good offensive team.

not saying a word

Many of us worry on this!
      I also did not like how we gave the ball to Bahamas so many times (Anti-TEAM behaviour). Now the Bahamas players often very obligingly gave it right back. Somehow I do not see any of the TEAMs we shall meet in the next round being so 'engagingly friendly'!

The better quality opposition met, the more likely one shall be punished for giving the ball away!
      Last edited by Karl; June 19, 2008, 01:28 PM.

jermaine taylor alone accounted for at least 3 in the defensive 3rd. so far i have kept out of the nosworthy for prime minister chorale ensemble but we need someone to partner pepe.

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
          GOL TV commentators were mentioning what Jamaica needs to work on for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers. They said Jamaica needs one or two friendly matches against good teams.

Rene Simoes would not comment publicly, but here is what the GOL TV commentators were saying.

1. BLOWN SCORING OPPURTUNITIES. In the second half, Jamaica had plenty of chances to score, but the end result was either a bad pass, or a horrible shot. The commentators said these chances MUST result in at least a shot on goal. "When they (Jamaica) play Mexico, they won't get very many chances," the commentators said.

2. LACK OF WORK FOR THE DEFENSE. Three of four of Jamaica's startind defenders are over 30 years old. They were not pressured during either of the two games vs. Bahamas. The commentators wondered how they would react under sustained pressure by a good offensive team.
          Or could it be that the scoreline in the 1st leg had an effect on the play in the 2nd half of the 2nd leg?

i'm sure it did, but that does not affect the larger point which is, if dem send yuh out deh to score goals...make hay while the sun is shining!

if simoes asked for more goals thye should have obliged......is a concentration thing.

You tuh ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Is who you afraid of?

not saying a word

... Call a spade a spade!!!!

Originally posted by Bruce View Post

Very good observations made here by the analysts. Its the reason why Im not overly excited about the wins against Bahamas. Not saying Im not happy that we won but we are expected to win against teams like that comfortably as we did.

The real test for the boyz starts in the semifinal round in my opinion. The opposition will be better and much stronger.

i'm sure it did, but that does not affect the larger point which is, if dem send yuh out deh to score goals...make hay while the sun is shining!

if simoes asked for more goals thye should have obliged......is a concentration thing.
                    Gamma, that is my biggest concern with the team, lack of concentration. They have to learn that. I do not care who the oponents are. Most of the team plays professional. I expect them to exhibit more poise and focus.
                    "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.

We took candy from a baby

Originally posted by Mark View Post
                      Gamma, that is my biggest concern with the team, lack of concentration. They have to learn that. I do not care who the oponents are. Most of the team plays professional. I expect them to exhibit more poise and focus.
                      ... and we feel that we achieved something...rathid.

All we need to do is compare our 7-0 against the USA's 8-0. How did the USA look as they humiliated the Bajans? How did we look against the Bahamians?

I might have to apologise again.

The only thing those commentators observed are the posts on the forum.

Blessed

All we need to do is compare our 7-0 against the USA's 8-0. How did the USA look as they humiliated the Bajans? How did we look against the Bahamians?
                              Mo, I did not see the entire USA game. However, what I am impressed with about the USA goals, the players composure. They were more purposeful. I am wondering if the field has a lot to do with our players not able to make those crisp passes, moving into spaces, etc. I am just trying to find some answers why we cannot look as effective when we have players playing in similar competitions. Hope the coach is capable of bringing them together to play as a unit.
                              "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.