Jamaica not looking like Champions
culture sound... you need to know who yuh a tawk tuh... guh back an check my post dem bout the grenada game... den come tawk tuh mi...
not saying its not a good result... i am merely pointing out a few glaring areas of concern... the second half was not as tidy as it could have been considering the opposition...
if we wern't intent on scoring goals that is a concern... if we were and didn't break down this weak opposition in the second half, we have more work to do...
i saw a lack of discipline evidenced by some poor decision making by some of the players... the team lost shape with players playing out of postions... pepe and shelton came to mind...
a bright spot was the midfield play of langley... he looks ready for the lights... played with composure and always made himself available for the pass... he played simple when he had possession...
overall not a bad showing over the two legs... lots of room for improvement...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Originally posted by Lazie View PostPersonally, I'm surprised they scored that much, knowing they already qualified. What Burrell needs to do is arrange friendly games with teams from the other CONCACAF groups, South America, CAF and UEFA. Those games Simoes could use to get a true picture of where the team is.
you right still but he should also take into the account the nentality of the fans (this board for example) bring teams like Poland, Switzerland, South Africa, Wales to Jamaica (high profile but "weaker teams") and then travel to Lebanon, Bolivia, Haiti, Tanzania and learn how to win on the road before going up against stiffer competition and hurting the high morale already established
We played scrimmage for the 1/2 half
Originally posted by Lazie View PostDisgrace with what Time? Di man dem qualify fi the next round .. where is the disgrace?
We had Professional ballers playing scrimmage in a world cup match in front of the world. No formation, no structore, everyman for himself.
Poor Simoes could not even relax with the score at 6 love. He was still working the sidelines and looking depressed.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Originally posted by Baddaz View Postthe team displayed a lack of discipline... some poor decision making... jermain taylor making some in the back... pepe leaving to play forward... shelton moving way down in the back like him a play scrimmage... i dont like that... the team lost focus and shape... the team played down to the opposition level in the second half... not a good sign...
That is my biggest concern with the team. They loose focus and concentration. They will not have this luxry in the next stage. They should be working on these things, the intangibles. I hope this is not what we will be seeing in the next round.
One thing I am happy about, they are scoring goals. This can become contagious."We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.
Well Simoes said he was not happy! It was clear to me!
Originally posted by Culture Sound View Postlook like a man thats dedicated to his job and progress to me
Rene Simoes wanted more goals, quick KO
PAUL A REID, Observer Writer reidp@jamaicaobserver.com
Thursday, June 19, 2008
FLORENCE HALL, Trelawny - Despite completing a 13-0 aggregate win after yesterday's 6-0 mauling of football minnows Bahamas in their CONCACAF return-leg World Cup Qualifier at the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium, Jamaica's technical director, Rene Simoes, was not totally satisfied with the performance of the Reggae Boyz.
Using former world heavyweight boxing champion Mike Tyson at the height of his career as an example, the Brazilian said he was expecting a "quick knock out".
Tyson, he said, would have finished the contest quickly.
Said Simoes: "With respect to the Bahamas team and what the coach is doing there, we have to make a habit of completing the job."
He said after leading the first half 5-0, he asked the players for more goals in the second half. "I wanted 10 goals," he said.
The coach refused to go into details about what displeased him, however, saying he would rather discuss it with his players.
When asked to compare the two halves, Simoes was blunt in his description of the second half, "No. I did not like it."
There is a big difference between being good and being excellent, he reasoned, adding that he was not satisfied with just being good.
According to the Brazilian, the team's performance was not what they had hoped as the players "must be hungry to win... the players must strive for excellence", he declared.
Looking forward to the first game in the second round, which will be against Canada, Simoes said they would have a lot of changes to make.
Before making the changes, however, he said the staff would make an analysis of the last five games, including the two against the Bahamas, before making any decisions.
Coach of the Bahamas team, Neider dos Santos, admitted that he always knew the task was be an uphill one against Jamaica after losing Sunday's first leg 7-0.
The Jamaican team is a very experienced one, he said, pointing out that they tried to make some tactical changes, "pushing one player higher... but it did not work".
The Brazilian said they struggled in the first half and came under "great pressure near the end of the first half".
Dos Santos praised the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) for the "first-class treatment" they received, which is not always customary whenever teams travel.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
According to the Brazilian, the team's performance was not what they had hoped as the players "must be hungry to win... the players must strive for excellence", he declared.
evon taylor has talent but needs time to hone his skills... he gets a pass there - still young to this... he had an easy goal but demonstrated poor technique and kicked over an empty goal... shelton needs to work on his first touch... burton could teach him a thing or two... demar phillips has potential for big things but once again, indiscipline in his play is a drawback...
i like langley's approach to the game... he demonstrated excellent positional play in the middle... good football mind... simple and intelligent passes to maintain possession...
woodbine on the right played well... he is a threat going forward... with more games, he could be better...
there is lot of work to do for this team... mostly in the mental aspect of the game... against the big teams, there isn't any room for error like the one committed by jermaine taylor heading backwards when he could have headed upfield... as well as a careless backpass that allowed the bahamian player to run on with only the keeper to beat... a more skillful player would have scored...
discipline and focus needed by the players...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Well we loose the Mexico match and people jump ship
Originally posted by Culture Sound View Postunu hard fi please eeh man...how much match unu watch when the big side a kill the baby and den dem start ramp round wid the ting...when Argentina had Mexico down 3-0 inna the first 20 mins and the game only done 4-0...leff dem mek dem enjoy themself...cause them nah see another qualifier like this the rest a the way enjoy the moment cause when dem go Mexico and get a fat 3-0 nuh bother jump off the ship..
.... You are nostradamus.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
rahtid...long time mi a tell them say mi know wah mi a talk bout...is my fault to ****************....well in that case....we must qualify...because: we winning our next 3 games...Canada is going to beat Mexico in Canada which will make Mexico have to bring a full strength team to Honduras and beat them....that will leave the zone with
Mexico - 12 pts
Jamaica - 10 pts
Honduras - 9 pts (losing their last 2 games)
Canada - 4 pts (only win against Mexico at home)