• Simoes promises better performance against The Bahamas

Simoes promises better performance against The Bahamas

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

René Simoes - LeVaughn Flynn
    National Technical Director, René Simoes, believes that Tuesday's humiliating 2-1 defeat at the hands of Grenada will serve as a wake-up call for the Reggae Boyz as they head into Sunday's crucial opening World Cup qualifier against The Bahamas.

"I think it was a good wake-up call for the entire squad. We can't look at Bahamas like how we looked on Grenada," Simoes told reporters, following the team's arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport yesterday afternoon.
    "Football is not a sport that you can take winning for granted - the fact is that anyone can beat anyone," he said.

Indeed, many Jamaicans must have thought they were dreaming when they heard the score from the Grenada National Stadium in St George's at the end of Tuesday's friendly. Quick second-half goals from Shalrie Joseph and Jason Roberts knocked the Reggae Boyz flat, after the visitors had secured a 1-0 lead through Ricardo Fuller in the first half.

With Sunday's encounter against another underdog, The Bahamas, who are ranked at 167th in the latest FIFA rankings, some supporters have begun to look at the possibility of an unthinkable early exit from the qualifiers for the 'Boyz'. However, Simoes believes that the added pressure stemming from the loss to Grenada will only inspire the team to do better.

"The result puts a lot of pressure on the camp; All of us are as vexed as the rest of Jamaica is about the result, and I just hope it will be a wake-up call," said Simoes.
    "The next game cannot be the same. I guarantee you it will not be the same," he added.

Despite the surprising loss, one Simoes believes to be one of the worst the country has faced, he remains confident in the team's ability.
    "I think this team can perform well. We cannot do what we did against Grenada, so there is no need for a crisis or doubt," Simoes said.

In their two previous matches, Jamaica beat St Vincent and the Grenadines 5-1 at the National Stadium, and secured a late equaliser against Trinidad and Tobago for a 1-1 draw last Saturday.

Jamaica officially open their CONCACAF qualification campaign for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa this Sunday when they take on The Bahamas in a 6 p.m. encounter at the National Stadium. The teams will face each other four days later in the return leg of the qualifier, which will be played at the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium.
    Last edited by Karl; June 13, 2008, 02:58 PM.

Jamaica have to embarass Bahamas by 6-9 clear goals before I truly believe they are on the right path

well, i won't be impressed by a win against Bahamas.

Combined or per match? But what diff does it make? a 2 to 3 goal margin is comfortable. But yuh know what...any win is a win, we jus' haffi get enuff.

pr

You clearly don't have an understanding of World Cup qualifying football.

yuh not impressed by anything if it is not "made in the usa" suh kibba yuh mout'!

that's why he hates himself so.

If The Prof wants to shake up the team and send a sublime message to the players, then he needs to make more changes to the starting 11 vs Bahamas. He should forget about Fuller for the moment! Put JJ up front to partner Marlon King, with Shelton and Burton ready on the bench to edit the forward line.

In midfield, J C-Ryce needs fi get a run. Demar Phillips has an injred ankle so rest him and put Jamal on the left side. One more change would be to put Omar Daley at right back and restore Rudy Austin to the holding midfield position.

But guess wha! None of that will happen! It's gonna be the same ole same ole, and the opposing TD will counter accordingly.
                "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

The opposing TD is another Brazilian who should not be in Simoes' class. I mean, he was merely filling taxis when Simoes was driving his own cab in Rio.

What was the lineup against Grenada ?

. That might mean something...in terms of experience. However, I am reminded of the fact that Doc Rivers was still tossing passes in his twilight years when the Zen Master, Phil Jackson, was coaching championship teams in Chicago and LA. But look who is smiling now!

The ball is round and The Prof must be careful of repeats. He should paste the following results to his drawing board: Bahamas (Olympic Team) 1 - Jamaica 0. And in more recent memory, Grenada 2, Jamaica 1.
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Ricketts; Ford; Goodison; J Taylor; Austin; Daley; Gardner; Phillips; E Taylor; Fuller; King.

Just curious...did anyone expect Simoes to say that he expects to have a worse performance in the qualifier? He gets paid to say that whether or not he believes it.

This team has alot of problems. Had this been CB people here wouldnt be so accepting of the results thus far.

Yuh sure yuh have angostura running in those veins? That is a sensible comment yuh just mek!

True, and if I drive a lada and it dont start I think of id differently if my BMW does not start. I guess its all about expectations.