• 'i'm Ashamed'

'I'M ASHAMED'
    Simoes mourns Ja's loss to lowly Grenada

KAYON RAYNOR Senior staff reporter
    raynork@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, June 12, 2008

Technical director Rene Simoes speaks with journalists on arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport from Grenada yesterday. The Reggae Boyz lost 1-2 against the hosts in a friendly international on Tuesday. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)

DESCRIBING Tuesday's 1-2 defeat by lowly ranked Grenada as a "shame" and "unacceptable", national technical director Rene Simoes says the Reggae Boyz will rebound in Sunday's CONCACAF World Cup qualifier against the Bahamas at 'The Office'.

The second leg will be played at the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium on June 18.

"Nobody can be pleased to lose to Grenada; it's a shame, it's unacceptable, we are very upset," Simoes told journalists after arriving at the Norman Manley International Airport from the eastern Caribbean yesterday.

"I think maybe it will be a good wake-up call for the entire squad, that (we) don't look (at) Bahamas as we looked at Grenada, and football is not basketball, it's a different sport that anyone can beat anyone, so I think it's a good wake-up call," added the philosophical Brazilian.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...302&category=1
    Last edited by Karl; June 12, 2008, 08:53 AM.

A contemplative Reggae Boyz captain Ricardo Gardner on arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport yesterday from Grenada where the team lost 1-2 against the host nation. In the background are Luton Shelton (right) and Adrian Rei. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)
    Is Adrian Rei a new UB-40?

When Shalrie Joseph start score pon yuh, it bad!

I may have missed this, but did Shavar Thomas get called for the camp?

How can Simoes justify starting my baller, the inactive Andy(the middle, the heart of the team)?
        Why not start the work horse Omar Daley?
        Do we have a WC defence?

Blessed

How can Simoes justify starting my baller, the inactive Andy(the middle, the heart of the team)?
          Why not start the work horse Omar Daley?
          Do we have a WC defense?

Blessed
          Just asking - Yuh si Andy innah MLS matches so far innah dis year? Well...im tun wuk-harse!

When was the last time he played with his fellow boyz?
            Is my baller but is a sure sign of failure resulting in absolute desperation.

Blessed

Blessed

Mosiah, goes to show--you know nothing about Shalrie Josephs.

Josephs is a fantastic mid-field player!!! MLS New England Revs would be nothing without him. The mid-field player that Simoes is looking for to replace Peter Cargil --is of the Shalrie Joseph mold.

It would suit you to sit down, be quiet and listen Mosiah.

You know what? Go drink some water!!!

Can we now play Argentina?

Blessed

'No reason for a crisis'

published: Thursday | June 12, 2008

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

SIMOES

Following an astonishing 2-1 defeat at the hands of Grenada in Wednesday's friendly, Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) technical director René Simoes has sought to assure nail-biting Reggae Boyz' fans that the team will put up a much better performance in Sunday's crucial World Cup qualifier against The Bahamas.

"There is no reason for a crisis now. No doubt it was a tough lesson for us and we are ashamed. But, I think that there will be some benefits from this lesson," Simoes told reporters at the Norman Manley International Airport yesterday, following the team's return.

"It's unacceptable for us to lose to Grenada. We are upset, we started the game looking like we would easily beat Grenada, but we made too many mistakes, lost focus, concentration, so all of us will have to look back at things like that," he said.

The concern voiced by fans ahead of Sunday's game stems from the fact that with a full-strength squad, which included over 15 overseas-based players, Jamaica were favoured to easily beat the Grenadians, a team 45 places below them in the FIFA world rankings.

Instead, the team stumbled to an embarrassing 1-2 loss despite taking a lead early in the first half.

While not formally expressing the sentiment, Simoes stated that underestimating opponents can pose a problem.

"Sometimes you think life is going to be easy, but it is always hard and the only thing for us to do now is to take the defeat as a valu-able lesson.

"Football is a sport that you cannot take for granted, anyone can beat you, anyone. We all did poorly in that game."

He added: "I have no doubt that this team can do very well. We will analyse our mistakes. The next game cannot be the same. I guarantee you, it will not be the same."

Lone goal
                  Striker Ricardo Fuller scored the lone goal for the Boyz in the 18th minute, but quick goals in the second half from key Grenadian players Shalrie Joseph and Jason Roberts floored the visiting Jamaicans.
                  Jamaica will kick off the qualification campaign for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa this Sunday when they tackle The Bahamas - 167th in the FIFA ranking - in a 7 p.m. encounter scheduled for the National Stadium. The teams will face each other four days later in the return leg of the qualifier at the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium.

The last time he played for the Boyz was against St. Vincent.

Unnuh mek ball look like Rocket Science to r a s s

I would highly recommend it!!!

chusssss mi.

Yes, Mr. Leyton Orient.

Who was talking about his exploits as a midfielder??! I am talking about his GOAL SCORING EXPLOITS! In over 150 games for the Revolution, he has scored around 15 times, half of which have been penalties. Only a certain Ricardo Fuller can match those numbers!

The goal he scored for Grenada the other day was his first in 12 matches.

May I suggest that you shut up, sit down and listen up when football experts talk. And no water for you! Wouldn't want to dilute that football mind of yours any further!

~THWACK~!!! mosiah....WHY?!!!

If dem cyaan 'ear, dem mus' feel!

I would paste this article at the Reggae Boyz living quarters as a motivational reminder. Then paste the victory articles after every match. Then once again paste the "I'm ashamed" article after every fifth victory article.

I guarantee a lot of positives would encourage the Boyz for every game with those reminders.