• Boyz stunned by Grenada's Spice Boys in friendly

Boyz stunned by Grenada's Spice Boys in friendly
    Grenada surprise Ja 2-1 in World Cup warm-up

JFF president Captain Horace Burrell, head of delegation and JFF vice-president Bruce Gaynor (left), JFF general secretary Horace Reid (2nd right) and Grenada FA general secretary, Victor Daniel, in discussion on whether or not to have a Grenadian referee officiate in yesterday's friendly international in St George's. The game went ahead with Grenada's George Phillip in the middle. The home team won, 2-1. (Photo: Sean Williams)

ST GEORGE'S, Grenada - Jamaica's Reggae Boyz suffered a humiliating 1-2 defeat against the Spice Boys of Grenada in a friendly international at the Grenada National Stadium here yesterday, the result of a very unconvincing rendition from the visitors.

Jamaica took an auspicious-looking 20th-minute lead courtesy of Stoke City's Ricardo Fuller, but that effort was erased by Sharlie Joseph's equalising goal for the home team in the 68th minute, while Blackburn Rovers' Jason Roberts found the winner in the 76th minute.

It is not the kind of performance and result Jamaica (ranked No 98 by FIFA) would want to carry into next week's CONCACAF World Cup qualifying tie against the Bahamas in Jamaica.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...301&category=1

How many days this Reggae Boyz squad has under its belt?

Why it is difficult for our REGGAE BOYZ to return to a World Cup?! - Lack of continuous preparations!

Let us first acknowledge what we have been doing with our teams over the years. It is fact that in the past our national teams' players and our club teams' players are brought together mere days before tournaments commence. That is our reality. What then holds for the TOP OF THE WORLD teams?

I admire Arsenal Football Club’s and Manchester United Football Club’s type of club team play and I am a fan of the national team of Brazil and the national team of Germany type and structured play. The play is swift. The players are athletic. The technical levels of the players and the tactical play of the teams are superb. The play is most often during games comprised of thoughtful build ups. Intelligent play is a hallmark. My fervent wish is that the play of our club teams and national teams aspire to firstly attain such levels of play and then to surpass them!

The JFF and our Club leaders may have their preferences of style of play but they could do worse than taking a look at successful world club teams and successful national teams and how those entities arrive at on-field preparations of players and teams that maximize on maintaining and improving standards of play.

Our team managers as practical fact disband our teams out of season and or after tournaments. The successful teams keep the teams playing matches - preparations continue. To win you must know the game. It is hard work to get to the pinacle of world football, but to get there you must understand that game within the game.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?id=227
    To get to the World Cup we must walk through and defeat these teams - Cuba, Haiti, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago, Guatemala, Canada and Costa Rica. If we accomplish that...then to perform well, that is, reach the final 16 at the World Cup Finals Tournament, we must be better than USA and Mexico.

Well???
    How have those lower tier teams mentioned i.e. Cuba, Haiti, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago, Guatemala, Canada and Costa Rica, been carrying out preparations since the last World Cup...World Cup 2006?

....and the USA and Mexico?

Well?
    Would it be reasonable to state that we have not even started preparations for World Cup 2010? ...or World Cup 2014?

I am not saying we cannot get to World Cup 2010...but as I have said before...time and time before -
    preparation for a World Cup takes EIGHT YEARS!

If we see South Africa 2010 it would be -
    We lucky bad!
    ...and I do not hope for it...but our history shows
    Wi ead tuff bad
    ...so it would not be strange to see a loud shout for, 'get rid of the FIRST TEAM...the players are too old'...and a return to putting undeserving youth into the National Senior Team; a stop-start-stop-start...as fact, disjointed 'no preparation'...and a return to last minute frantic throwing together of our best...and once again failure to attend at a World Cup Final tournament!
    wi ead tuff bad!
    ...anyway let's keep our fingers crossed...pray this TEAM makes it to the World Cup Finals...and from this squad forward the FIRST TEAM remains the FIRST TEAM (i.e. best available aggregation each time they take the field)...and the preparation (regular diet of quality international matches) continues...never to end...as does the preparations of all the TOP OF THE WORLD TEAMs and our TOP OF CONCACAF, Mexico and the USA! If this latter non-stop preparation continues with our national teams (all our national teams) I have no doubt that our REGGAE BOYZ will in the not too distant future take her place at the TOP OF THE WORLD as regular visitor to firstly, the World Cup Finals and for the lower age-group teams, at FIFA World World Age Group Finals.

FORWARD...I hope!

ok after glossing through all of that....let's see what they do when it counts!

ok after the stumbling through all of that (statrt from Burrell's return - Guatemala, El; Salvador, Trinidad and Tobago and now Grenada) ....let's see what they do when it counts

Yup!
        again) Let's?!

das right.

would you care if they lost all the friendlies but won when it counted?

i would like them to win EVERYTHING but they lost yesterday......do we shoot them for that or wait to see how they do when it really counts?

Sometimes you can't wait to see when it really counts. Tha might be too late!

The report says the Boyz played well in the first half. Was it fatigue that finally set in affected their play in the second half.

ok...so what can be done between now and then?

das right.

would you care if they lost all the friendlies but won when it counted?

i would like them to win EVERYTHING but they lost yesterday......do we shoot them for that or wait to see how they do when it really counts?
                  gamma: The result is not surprising to me. It says nothing about the strength of our TEAM. They have just started to train.

Now if we win, what is as fact practise games during the immediate World Cup matches and continue on with unbroken preparations...eventually we'll get a chance to see better (The best? No!) of these players. That should occur sometime late next year.

If we continue on after that we should see the best of the players in the World Cup and the year after that.

My point - Preparations could have just started for the 2014 World Cup....but we'll have to 'wait and see' if this JFF will have that continuous preparations I have been speaking about since after 1998 France party.

btw - Perhaps the site stills has it on but - I stated (long ago) that if my life depended on being correct on whether or not we make it to South Africa, I would choose - Not making it!

Why?
                  No preparations!
                  Expecting to succeed without adequate preparation means we are depending on

Yup!
                  ...and I wrote this also - I am ing!

federer was once asked about his dominance in tennis and he said "maybe it's because i used to lose so much".....my hope is that the boys will learn from the draw and the loss and see how or what they need to do in order improve...

let's face it ..... we need to improve.

panic?

well then what can be done seems to have been done.....

"let's face it ..... we need to improve."

Do you still think we should have played Argentina?
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

of course!

suh wait...wi must only play argentina when we don't need to improve.....?!