Jamaican government football investment...

• Jamaican government football investment...

Could someone in the know please list some of the sources for return on investment for the government?

(Please don't list T-shirt sales or TV rights since past experience has demonstrated that licensing and overall management control over both have a very poor track record.

Thanks in advance.

RE: Jamaican government football investment...

ForFar (10/17/2006)Could someone in the know please list some of the sources for return on investment for the government?

(Please don't list T-shirt sales or TV rights since past experience has demonstrated that licensing and overall management control over both have a very poor track record.

Thanks in advance.
    Go look for my post on the $50 million USin tourist dollars that flowed into the country in 1998 as a result of the Reggae Boyz marketing the island in france.

$50 million in tourism dollars~sigh~groan~

If Jamaica want to see 10 times $50 million...then the government should use the same funds invested in football to cut downon crime. Jamaica extremely high incidence of crime is the single biggest deterrent of tourism.

EVEN IF JAMAICA WINS WORLD CUP FOOTBALL--AND CRIME REMAINS HIGH NO TOURIST WOULD RISK THEIR LIVES TO COME TO JAMAICA. Know dat.

What % of cruise ship vacationers disembark when they dock in Jamaica?

Oh, one last thing TopBrick. What was the trickle-down effect of that $ 50 million?

Well, stop over arrivals increased by 17% over a similar period last year, and we are on course for a record this year. Yes, these are people who get off the boat! And wi didn't even ake the World Cup!

Having said so, I agree that tourism would skyrocket if we brought crime down to sensible levels.

We need to stop throwing good money at big name coaches and invest properly in our people!

who would you have like to see them hire.

If throwing money at a good farin coach is the way we are going to go, then I have no problem with the JFF's choice.

The better option in my opinion would be to invest in our coaches and invest in our facilities. If we had to get a farin coach, it would not be one of the biggest names in the world, but a good coach that would probably be half the price of a Bora. But the investment in our local football would not be sidestepped yet again.

With the economy the way it is, no matter what you do, it won't be easy.

Wouldn't a better option be for the government employ good permanent staff and finance the Academy for the first 5 years? Then seek some funding from some international organizations as a one of a kind experiment kinda thing? If the results were positive see how many European clubs would come a henker round.

While Bora is a good coach I support you by thinking we could get a good coach not with the name we all know for half that price. I wonder how much the total wage bill for the entire staff will be?

<DIV>There could be 100 better options, mine is just one, in my opinion. But so far, all we have ever thought about doing is getting a big name coach and pay him what we don't have. It's instructive that Bora hasn't even inked the deal yet as we are still having problems, it appears, to find all of his money.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>sigh</DIV>

HL (10/17/2006)EVEN IF JAMAICA WINS WORLD CUP FOOTBALL--AND CRIME REMAINS HIGH NO TOURIST WOULD RISK THEIR LIVES TO COME TO JAMAICA. Know dat.
                  Do you think before you type? We have over $1 million tourists "risk(ing) their lives" to come to Jamaica every year. What does money have to do with crime? You think that if the government threw that $500,000 into poor communities every year it would decrease crime?

You must be a clown or some really ignorant person...did you know that Hedonism II has the highest percentage of repeat guest of any hotel in the entire Caribbean?

Jamaica has averaged over 1 million stay over tourist each year not to mention another million cruise ship guests....

I'd love to hear HL's response to your question , if he thinks more money will lower crime how much will totally erase it - how simple can the intelligent be at times

what is Bora's price and what was Simoes price?

Me yuh asking? I don't know, just know that 2 of them have been too expensive!

that's a bit harsh. maybe he just isn't aware, which technically would make him ignorant as we all are ignorant of one thing or another. if the term is to debase him, then it's uncalled for.

I was under the impression that tourism is up, but frankly there are better guages for how well we are doing or not doing.

As for the points in discussion, I can think of better and more impactfull ways to spend that money.

Guidance

I agree, butI guess placing a bandaid over a gaping sore could at least stop the drainage (sorry if you are having lunch):sick: but the rot underneath continues.