Jamaica v. Argentina

and how did Venezula beat Brazil again?

What number were they ranked? Sometimes unnu look too deep.
    Last world cup Trinidad never looked too bad, so a nuh nuthing.

If we a go climb the mountain then we have to have a little more faith.

Originally posted by Brush View Post
      Do you believe that England would have beaten us in such a manner in the "Office" and without the drama that surrounded that ill-fated tour? I think Jamaica can give any team a run for their money playing in the "Office" and I say this with no apologies.

REGGAE FOREVER!!!!
      With no apologies .... WC qualifiers are played home and away ... all major tournaments (is the Digicel / Shell Cup a major tournament?) are played outside of Jamaica. So ... whats that about the "Office"?

By the way, wasn't the name "Office" given due to how we were hard to beat at the national stadium? Based on that, are we still calling it the Office?

Lazie, the stance that ites like yourself are taking is based on the performance of our team over the last four years under Boxhill's group. I believe that the squad that is presently being assemble will and can give any team a torrid time irrespective of ranking.

BTW, I am very much aware of the fact that WC qualifiers are played home and away but I cannot recall seeing a team qualify for a major tournament with a poor home record.

Jusmy2cents, REGGAE FOREVER!!!

HL, I thought it would be courting disaster to play Argentina now. Moreover, my boss is Argentine, I could not face him at work if we lost to them like 6-0.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

When in our history have we been ready to play Argentina?

Dem lucky a nuff chances guh a begging, US lose dat easy but dem duh well fi get a draw. Memba one strikah mis tree or four, suh is a narrow escape.

People you all need to look at our team in a more realistic light and lower our expectations a bit. Right now we are on the right track towards major improvements, given our extenuating circumstances. Facing Argentina a month ago or even now, would be foolhardy and could potentially hurt our program. We have to display a little more common sense and trust in Burrell and Simoes that they know what they are doing. Playing our Caribbean low-ranked teams is the perfect solution for our team.

Firstly, let's look at this from an administrative perspective. A month ago, it would have been impossible to get the release of players in England. Where was the match scheduled to be played? If it was in England, you need time to put everything in place, plus advertising. With FIFA's riduculous points system, playing these lowly ranked teams is a quickfire way of improving our rankings. It also gives players like Donovan Ricketts and Demar Stewart international caps under their belts to make it easier for them to get a work permit. Once we dismiss these teams soundly, it raises the confidence level of our supporters and sponsors. Hey, Burrell know what he's about. Can you imagine the serious dent in our program if we had played a very slick-moving Argentinean team and had gotten another 6 -0? You would see a Clovis cartoon with Burrell and Simoes in a boat without a rudder heading towards shore with Boxhill and Sickko in front of a mob with pick axe and sticks waiting on them.

Now from a coach's perspective, these matches give him a chance to familiarise himself with his players. Simoes is trying a new formation and he's trying to find the right personnel to fill each role. He certainly could not do that a month ago. These games builds confidence and understanding amongst the players themselves. They also get a chance to understand their coach. Playing a team like Argentina right now is a retrograde step. After the two Bahamas games, then, they can start looking at tougher opponents. For financial reasons, if a big side comes calling, then yes, by all means play them. However, we should not be actively seeking out any of the top 10 ranked teams for another 4 - 6 months. I know I'll get a lot of flak from you all for saying this, but borrowing a phrase from Mr. President, Jangle keeps it real.

We should look on this as a process, and it's up to us as a team how fast we learn. In athletics, short sprints to be specific, athletes do a lot of background work, stamina and conditioning, prior to moving onto their distance of choice. VC, Bolt and Powell just recently started their sprint work with a few weeks away from trials. International football is the same. We haffi creep before we walk. Get Real!
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Unnu need fi be realistic too. Playing Argentina don't mean we will face Messi, etc. Any decent coach would give some of their second teamer a run against Ja, much like England did against Trinidad.

This is a friendly and people play friendlies for different purpose. It can't be no worst than 11 against Iran.

Unnu need fi be realistic too. Playing Argentina don't mean we will face Messi, etc. Any decent coach would give some of their second teamer a run against Ja, much like England did against Trinidad.

This is a friendly and people play friendlies for different purpose. It can't be no worst than 11 against Iran.

"Playing Argentina don't mean we will face Messi, etc. Any decent coach would give some of their second teamer a run against Ja"

heh heh .. unuh getting comical now .. then unuh try fi knock those who are keeping it real?

Yuh see it !!

No a idiot argument unnu have.

When Bora took the sides of local to Iran was it Jamaica or not not?

When the US play with only MLS players is it the US or not?

England rested 7 sure starters for their game against Trinidad so what is the difference? Unnu a wear blinkers.

No a idiot argument unnu have.

When Bora took the sides of local to Iran was it Jamaica or not not?

When the US play with only MLS players is it the US or not?

England rested 7 sure starters for their game against Trinidad so what is the difference? Unnu a wear blinkers.
                          Sass, usually yuh mek sense when yuh talk, but this time yuh just wrong (in my opinion). If Burrell should arrange a match between us and Argentina, yuh think him a go seh to the ATF don't send Messi, Tevez or Mascherano because we nuh waan get six love? If we are going to play any team, we should do so with the intention to win.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Brethren in my opinion there is NO way Argentina woulda use them players fi play against Ja now, it woulda be mostly second eleven players which is still a very strong team. You see England rest 7 starters against T&T, you think they would do that if they were playing a higher ranking team?

They rest them to take a look at other players. Sometimes Brazil send mostly their under 23 sides to play some practise games.

Okay if I should follow this line
                              of reasoning and logic: we could say Ja should only play teams of low
                              ranking (thier ilk) namely; Haiti, St.Vincent et al. Let's say we follow the protocol, got our beating from the US and mexico but qualify via the half spot. We then win a game draw two and qualify for the second round. In the second round we will definitely face a top team (I know we will face one in the first round but left it out to show the fallacy in the above). How will we be prepared to play this top team? It seems that we should just pack up and go home seeing that we are hopeless.

IN GC 97; when all teams hid from Brasil and Ja was thrown in the group, what was the outcome of that game? Ja played Brasil in London, what was the outcome of that game? There is no team on this planet better than Brasil, the buck stops with Brasil in football and Ja has shown more than once that we can play with the best.

It is sad when we look at our sports team through the lens of the country's economic and political conditions. It is sad when we harbour low expectations of ourselves. It is sad when we mentally defeat ourselves by yeilding games to teams before the game is even being played.

In order for Ja to get better we have to run with quality teams; regardless of the results, hence we can improvise and constantly gauge ourselves.

HL, the above argument is rediculous and you know it. I know you would feel insulted if someone set standards for you and told you that you cannot go beyond those bounds.