• Reggae Boyz team house gets extensive facelift

Reggae Boyz team house gets extensive facelift

DANIA BOGLE, Observer staff reporter
    bogled@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, June 05, 2008

JFF president Captain Horace Burrell (second left) cuts the ribbon to the newly refurbished team house on Shortwood Road while Courts' deputy managing director, Dennis Harris (second right), technical director Rene Simoes and Reggae Boy Deon Burton (left) share in the moment. (Photo: Karl McLarty)

JAMAICA'S national football teams will have more comfortable surroundings when next they go into camp following the $4-million refurbishment of the team house at 102 Shortwood House.

The newly refurbished house was unveiled yesterday at a function hosted by the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) and Courts Jamaica Ltd, which was responsible for the under-taking.

Courts provided furnishing and appliances, with assistance from Pings Fabrics - which provided drapery - and Sherwin Williams, which provided paint.

The dwelling was fitted with 16 bunk beds as well as a new living room suite, patio and coffee table set, refrigerator, a plasma television set, DVD/VCR recorder and microwave.

Counters were installed, lighting and plumbing fixtures replaced and dining room, bathroom walls and kitchenette retiled.

Director of marketing for Courts, Janet Sylvester, told the Observer the project took almost a year to complete and went 100 per cent over budget because they kept encountering more problems that needed fixing.
    "We wanted to do a redecorating job and when we got in we saw it needed painting, drapery and bedding. Then we realised we had to get carpenter, an electrician and a plumber," she explained.

The premises have been used by the national football teams for over 10 years and was the base for the Reggae Boyz during their 'Road to France' 1998 FIFA World Cup-qualifying campaign.

JFF president, Captain Horace Burrell, who commissioned the services of Courts after taking office last November and seeing the state of the property, implored players to take care of the facilities, adding that rules had been drafted for the use of the house.

"I'll be over you to ensure that this place is properly kept," he warned.
    Meanwhile, Reggae Boy Deon Burton, who was part of that 1998 campaign, was among the players present and told the Observer there was a marked improvement from when his group used the facility years ago.

"The transformation is amazing; to see what it used to be like to how it looks now is just amazing," he said, adding that when the team first used the house players slept on mattresses on the floor.

The front steps have also been replaced by a concrete ramp for the ease of team nutritionist, Dr Heather Little-White, who uses a wheelchair.

Sorry, but I have to be a little negative here. That ramp could kill someone in a wheelchair! They need to follow some standards when designing these facilities. The ramp is extremely treacherous and should be taken out and replaced with something that follows some ADA guidelines.

Maudib, being the construction expert that he is, could supervise this. To demolish what's there right now, perhaps he can call in the RIU personnel who have had some experience demolishing the 4th (or is it the 5th) floor of the Mahoe Bay Hotel.

Otherwise, great improvement! And the orange colour was perfect, being just a couple houses away from PJ's residence!

That may be true--but what has been done to improve the players housing--is a vast improvement over your man Boxhill feeble attempt at anything.

No?

Or whomever was there before. Yes!

wasn't burrell elected in november?

Director of marketing for Courts, Janet Sylvester, told the Observer the project took almost a year to complete

Mo, your respect is concrete. However, where de bumb* ra** cl**t is your analysis of the game alongside your opinion of the team going forward etc.
            Of course if you have already done this and I have missed same your respect is concrete.

Cho Peter Tosh

Construction Expert ?

I meeting up with one of Jervis senior engineer this evening... social ting, yuh name sure to come up..

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                Mo, your respect is concrete. However, where de bumb* ra** cl**t is your analysis of the game alongside your opinion of the team going forward etc.
                Of course if you have already done this and I have missed same your respect is concrete.

Cho Peter Tosh
                And Mr. Lionpaw....weh de bumb*ra** cl**t is de highlights weh yuh promise fe post.
                Ofcourse if you have already done this and i have missed same your respect is concrete.

Cho Rudi[/quote]
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Goes to show that Burrell was undermining Boxhill unda de quiet....

OR......

Yuh talk bout Jervis as if mi suppose fi frighten. Peter Jervis use to work fi mi! And guess which good school him go?

or...the word shoud be OVERmining Boxhill...

Should make it all the more entertaining... yuh nevah tell mi unnuh suh close !

What position him did hold in yuh company ?

yaaaard bwoy

Wras! At dis rate unnu shoulda pay fah!