• Simoes has a healthy problem ... too many choices

published: Saturday | May 31, 2008

Nodley Wright, Freelance Writer

Simoes

Technical director René Simoes was visibly pleased at the end of Thursday's training session at the Braco Resorts in Trelawny, despite the fact that he could have a very big problem when it is time to trim his squad.

The training session was intense: almost all the players giving everything. The only player who appeared to be holding back was Luton Shelton, who was limited by back pain.

Ricardo Gardner looked back to his best, Ian Goodison looked in his best condition for about five years, Jamal Campbell-Ryce looked like a team player, but those who really caught the eye were Deon Burton and schoolboy Evan Taylor.

'Have quality here'

"Yes, yes that is true," Simoes said after the training in response to the question about the difficulty in trimming his squad.

"Even this boy, Evan Taylor, you saw the practice today - the guy, it is amazing. He looks so comfortable inside of this squad with overseas-based players and all. I like players like that. I keep saying that we have quality here in Jamaica and I tell you there is another one who plays Under-20 who should be here. I have to look very, very seriously at them and that is good," said Simoes, hinting that Taylor, if he continues, could force himself into the World Cup squad.

Highly-motivated team

The man who guided the country to its historic qualification for the 1998 World Cup in France also highlighted the attitude and effort of some of the older players.

"Burton was very good, but not only him. You look at Ian Goodison at 35 years of age - he looks very good. It is a matter of inside. Your energy is not outside, it is when you can touch deep inside and motivate the guy.

"I think he is highly motivated now. I think the entire team is highly motivated. Marlon King did a wonderful job as well, Ricardo Fuller, Ricardo Gardner, it is amazing what these guys do," he gushed.

The first time invitees Simon Ford and Lee Williamson, as well as the returnee Richard Langley more than held their own, but could have been affected by the field which, as Simoes pointed out, could be a challenge for those who ply their trade in England and Scotland.

"The place here is paradise, but the football field will be. We will make it that. For Jamaica the level of the field is good but for those who have played in a different environment like England, Scotland and so on the level of the field is not perfect so they will take time to get used to it," he said.

Satisfied with effort

That aside, Simoes was more than satisfied with the effort, and the difficult position his players were putting him.

"I am quite satisfied with the effort that the players put out in training. This presents the kind of problem I like to have so when we have trouble to pick the team. The real problem is when you have no options. Now we have a lot of them, but this word is very difficult to use in football. But at the end of the line (it's) how to make marriage between them work," he said, before rephrasing his statement showing a clear understanding of some of the country's social norms.

"In other words the chemistry," he said with a laugh before adding, "chemistry is the right word to say here as to say make a marriage between players does sound wrong. But really what it means is that you take the weakness from one and the strength from another and you blend it. It is good. We are pretty confident about what they are doing. Let us see if they keep doing it."

great to see the U20 kid coming through; hope he plays in the first practice match

RENE SIMOES IS A MAD MAN ! LEAVE THE COACHING ALONE STICK TO ADMINISTRATION.

I SEE WHERE HE IS GOING WITH THIS FRAUD TEAM......NO WHERE IN CONCACAF TOP 5, I WILL SAY IT NOW DISJOINTED & MISFIRING AGAINST ANY OF THE TOP 5 TEAMS.

BURTON , FULLER ?????????? The only quality striker he has called up is King.So we have no depth at the attcaking option ,if King gets injured then what ?

Our Midfield ? who does he have in mind to patrol the midfield ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

yu nu tiyad fi withdraw statements?

RENE SIMOES IS A MAD MAN ! LEAVE THE COACHING ALONE STICK TO ADMINISTRATION.

I SEE WHERE HE IS GOING WITH THIS FRAUD TEAM......NO WHERE IN CONCACAF TOP 5, I WILL SAY IT NOW DISJOINTED & MISFIRING AGAINST ANY OF THE TOP 5 TEAMS.

BURTON , FULLER ?????????? The only quality striker he has called up is King.So we have no depth at the attcaking option ,if King gets injured then what ?

Our Midfield ? who does he have in mind to patrol the midfield ?
          What a way you bringle. You never read where the man seh him want your star baller JJ to run the team.

The man is psychotic , healthy problem where ? does he believe we have depth to make a run against the top 5 , lest he forget he was booed or the team was booed at the national stadium on the last outing and I believe it was because people saw the same ole RUCKS lacing up dem boots and a mis fiyah.

I dont think John Public will be too kind to him this time around esp when we know we have the healthy ones being excluded.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Im mek CB look like im ave sense , im call man older now than when CB lef

Goodison , Andy , Burton who next Tappa ?

You might be right.. yuh hear what him expecting from JJ ?

Psychotic indeed !

The man is psychotic , healthy problem where ? does he believe we have depth to make a run against the top 5 , lest he forget he was booed or the team was booed at the national stadium on the last outing and I believe it was because people saw the same ole RUCKS lacing up dem boots and a mis fiyah.

I dont think John Public will be too kind to him this time around esp when we know we have the healthy ones being excluded.
                  Was Simoes booed because he substituted most of the first eleven or because of the draw?

Some forumites, including myself, might need to know where your frustrations extends from.

So, X, who are the players that you believe should be in the squad? Are you sayin there are better players in jamaica at the moment that are not in thw squad? Just asking.
                    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Originally posted by LannyD View Post
                      But really what it means is that you take the weakness from one and the strength from another and you blend it.
                      sigh

As if U dont know , put your head in the sand all will be Xposed against the top 5 .

Who are the top 5? We recently played Costa Rica at home and matched up well against them I thought.

Mexico, USA, I agree we might struggle against them both. Canada...they dont really strike fair in my heart.
                          President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

The Trinis are concealing their fear with laughter after reading the list of 29 Reggae Boyz list. Somehow the belief is so imbedded in a few Trinis minds that all our overseas Reggae Boyz were born in England. Even going so far as to calling us England Z.

what fear ? of who ? not all but most