• 'Ronaldo Will Go To Real'

Ronaldo: Decision
    Saturday May 31,2008

By Tony Banks

CRISTIANO RONALDO has already made his mind up to quit Manchester United and join Real Madrid – and will announce his decision after Euro 2008.

The news came yesterday from Ronaldo’s godfather Fernao Sousa and will devastate United.

They believed they had seen off Spanish champions Real, who appeared to back off this week when president Ramon Calderon declared that they did not want to fall out with United after Sir Alex Ferguson hit out at their pursuit of the player.

Sousa, one of the people closest to Ronaldo, alongside his mother Maria Dolores, blew the situation wide open again.

Sousa said: “I believe Cristiano has taken a decision that he is going to Real Madrid, but he is not going to reveal it until after the European Championship. Cristiano knows that Madrid are a club to which you can never say no. History shows that you can lose the opportunity – and for that reason he is not going to say no to them.

There are very few people who can say they have the capacity to make their lifelong dreams reality, but Cristiano is in this group of chosen people.”

Real, who had publicly admitted their interest in Footballer of the Year Ronaldo, 23, months ago, are willing to pay a world-record £100million.

Ronaldo has persistently said that he would like to play in Spain, and Ferguson is planning to fly to Euro 2008 in a bid to persuade him to stay.

But he may be too late. Reports in Spain last night suggested that Ronaldo might even ask for a move, which would then force a reluctant United to sell.

Sousa said: “Cristiano has always told me that his objectives in England were to win the Premier League and the Champions League.

“Now that he has done that, he has nothing left to prove. He knows he needs a new challenge.

“He feels his experience in Manchester has made him stronger. But above all, he knows that a train like Real does not come along every day and he would be stupid to miss it.

“Cristiano is in his moment now and is going to take advantage of that but will not take the decision on his own.

“His family are very important to him and we are all advising him he must go to Madrid. It is his place. His mother believes both he and she would be happier living there, not Manchester. I believe we will see him in a white shirt soon.”

Ronaldo’s failure to publicly commit himself to United has caused great concern at Old Trafford, the player frequently issuing conflicting statements about his plans.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Who wants to bet he goes nowhere? But be warned, I always lose my bets. The only way it is going to happen is if the reports of RM paying £100million are for real. If it does happen, it will change the dynamic at manurnited...big time.

Well I would like it to happen!
      Right, Lazie!

Cho, he can go if he wants to. I would rather him not to go but if he does, it will not change the dynamics of the team. We will see the rise of Nani (his clone) and Anderson and Park. We will the title again. We did it without RVN, we'll do it again.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Ferguson issues Ronaldo warning

Ronaldo (right) was Man Utd's star player from the past campaign

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson says the club would rather put Cristiano Ronaldo in the stands than sell him to Real Madrid.
          Ferguson has met the Glazer family, who own the club, and said: "Their attitude is 'To hell with them'.
          "They'd sit a player in the stand, I'm telling you, absolutely no doubt about it, just to prove a point."
          According to Portuguese newspaper A Bola, Ronaldo has promised to clarify his position in "two or three days".
          The 23-year-old is currently with the Portugal squad ahead of Euro 2008 after a season in which he inspired the Old Trafford club to a Premier League and Champions League double.

They have been brilliant owners

Ferguson on the Glazers

He has a deal with United which runs until 2012 but has so far refused to state publicly that he is to stay with the club.
          Real Madrid manager Bernd Schuster has made no secret about his admiration for Ronaldo.
          And United have threatened to report Real to Fifa for making their interest public.
          But the Spanish outfit's president Ramon Calderon has defended their conduct, saying recently: "We know they [United] aren't a selling club. It is a problem between player and team."
          Ferguson insists that the Glazers are determined to keep their prize asset, even if it means taking a tough line. And, despite criticism of the Glazers when they took over the club in 2005, Ferguson praised them for the impact they have had at the club. "They have been good to this club, believe me," he said. "They have been brilliant owners."

Lazie - see what I mean about Darth Vader...he has a player who *may* want to leave and to keep him, he THREATENS him with bench (or "rotting" in the reserves). He has also threatened Real saying he will report them to FIFA. This is kind of approach is what I don't like about him.

What yuh talking bout Paul? Isn't tapping up illegal in the football world? Why when Wenger said he would report Inter for their illegal approach of Helb, how you didn't express your dislike for Wenger then?

Isn't it this year that Ronaldo extended his contract? Him either fall in line or yes ... play in the reserves. What wrong with that?

Chelsea want one Fernando Torres, you think Liverpool will part with him that easily for 50 mil? Him woulda rot inna reserves too.

Sir Alex is playing this perfectly. He belons to Man U cand can go no where unless Man U permits. Man U can let him stew and feel he might get left on the bench. THe stakes wil keep being raised and finally, Real Madrid will do a very foolish thing by offering to pay too much for him. Man U will finally give in and take the windfall, buy Berbatov and two or three others and still have money to put in their pockets. That is the way this game will go. You can take that to the bank.