Oooh, why yuh pick pon Campion, mi boss?
Stick to the job you were hired to do, Mr Simoes
What were the exact comments made by Simoes regarding the local schoolboy competition? And what makes his comment wrong given the context in which he speaks? As far as I know simoes speaks within the context of Jamaica's football development (I woukd be surprised if it were otherwise). I wonder how many talented footballers over the years never really got a chance to develope their football skills when it mattered most simply because they didnt get the chance to play d cup or manning cup for one of the elite schools? 2-3 months for the entire year is hardly adequate time for any player at any player in any league or division to properly develope their playing skills.
The writer of the article was just trying to eat a food.President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)
the article was rubbish...took Simoes' utterances way out of context, and has made the haters float to the top. Mi caaan believe it!
The man distinctly said that our school football program should not continue to be the catalyst for our national program in the long run. Instead, we should try to get the clubs to take up the mantle. He said, that schools are essentially for academics, while clubs are for football, so the clubs would have a greater interest in the proper development of our young ballers.
How comes nobody nuh post wah di man did seh...anybody can get it...Karl????
dem a tear di man down same way...and di man a talk truths. Is it only obvious to the blind that if our clubs were to take it up, it would be better for us in the long run?
Jah know...mi feel a way afta mi read da article deh...
I can tell you what the High school coaches are telling the boys here in T&T. My son happens to play U14 for his HS and the coach at his school has instructed them all to become affiliated to a club, i.e. Joe Public, Jabloteh, Rangers etc. ALL the starters of his team are so affiliated.
The seasons do not coincide. Like in JA the clubs at the teen level (or at any level) do not have the following that the High Schools have but I believe that being a part of a larger organization helps the kids understand better what success will entail. HS is more for prestige and glamor and to satisfy the egos of the Old Boys (btw I plead guilty).
prPeter R
Quick question for anyone: is there any restriction on the level of school (i.e. junior sec vs HS) to participate in Manning or Dcup? I've been away long so tell me, is there a tier system with schools being relegated and promoted etc.
If this is the situation then definitely ALL the available talent will not be captured by HS. And since the season is relatively short, just how much development takes place.
What did Mike Lee Chin advise on the other forum? find a mentor(system) and copy it til you perfect it.
prPeter R
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostBrazil, Argentina, Italy, France, Spain, Netherlands, Germany are the top teams in the world today and they all have one thing in common. Take a guess what that is?"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by pHoQrY View Postthe article was rubbish...took Simoes' utterances way out of context, and has made the haters float to the top. Mi caaan believe it!
The man distinctly said that our school football program should not continue to be the catalyst for our national program in the long run. Instead, we should try to get the clubs to take up the mantle. He said, that schools are essentially for academics, while clubs are for football, so the clubs would have a greater interest in the proper development of our young ballers.
How comes nobody nuh post wah di man did seh...anybody can get it...Karl????
dem a tear di man down same way...and di man a talk truths. Is it only obvious to the blind that if our clubs were to take it up, it would be better for us in the long run?
Jah know...mi feel a way afta mi read da article deh...
Even if he said what you said it does not make sense. There is no reason to stop using the schools as discovery, condiut for and a place where development of footballers occur.
I am sure no one would think for even one moment that the schools should be the alpha and omega of football development on the island...but to suggest that the schools do not have a long term role to play in development of players is, in my opinion, a nonsense posture!
The aims should be simple. Improve the training that takes place in the schools & in all other venues (including clubs and the proposed academies). Why someone would suggest that the schools either cease preparing footballers and or cease having an important role to play in development of same I cannot understand."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."