Stick to the job you were hired to do, Mr Simoes

• What is the purpose of schoolboy football?

Originally posted by Chubble View Post
    Stick to the job you were hired to do, Mr Simoes
    Sporting Edge
    Paul Reid
    Thursday, May 29, 2008

National football Technical Director Rene Simoes has once again registered his dissatisfaction with the long-running schoolboy football competitions, the daCosta and Manning cups.

SIMOES. as our guest one would think he would be more sensitive in how he criticises our treasured institutions
    The Brazilian was seen on national television over the weekend saying the schoolboy leagues did nothing to enhance the development of football in the long run, and our football would be better served if they were replaced by club leagues and academies.

This is not the first time Simoes has voiced this opinion. The first time we heard this was during his first stint as the TD when he made a speech at a luncheon held at an all-inclusive resort in Montego Bay.

My first reaction is that Simoes needs to stick to the job he was hired to do and leave other things to other people. The last time he was here he also said at the same all-inclusive resort that his job was to develop a national coaching system. We are still waiting for this.

The talkative Brazilian also said after our qualification for the World Cup in France that the success then was like building a house from the roof down. It seems this time he has come to patch the said roof as he has done nothing to secure the foundation or the walls since he has been here.

Simoes appears not to have any respect for our culture and systems and showed scant regard, if any, to our CFU competition the last time he was here, saying while he was in the Emirates the only thing he heard about was the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Maybe he thinks that if he never heard of it then it is not important enough for his time and consideration.

The schoolboy competitions, starting from the Under 13 and Under 14, through the Under 16 and daCosta and Manning cups are important to us Jamaicans and have served us well through the decades, and that should be enough for him.

As our guest one would think he would be more sensitive in how he criticises our treasured institutions. What will he attack next, Champs and Schools Challenge Quiz?

I don't think anyone ever said that the schoolboy competitions were the answer to our senior team's needs, and there must be a way for the schoolboy leagues and age group club competitions to co-exist and help each other.

Fact is, no other football competition in Jamaica has the pulling power of the schoolboy league, and even when our alma maters are not doing as well as we would expect, the crowds are better than the average Premier League crowds, and, on most occasions, better behaved as well.

Maybe Simoes was not told that football is the only school sport that attracts paying patrons and this money goes a far way to offsetting the cost of other sports in the schools and, in some instances, subsidising school budgets.

Maybe he also forgot that sports is a vital part of the school curriculum and not every boy (or girl) who takes part would be able to take part in a club setting outside of the school.

Maybe he does not know that most times the school systems are better organised than the clubs and the coaches are better than those in the clubs.

Maybe he did not do his homework before he spoke. What he needs to do is to develop the overall coaching systems he promised over 10 years ago that can be used at the schools and age group club levels.
    Paul is right, Schoolboy football is sacred, it is one of our treasured institutions. The manning cup and the DaCosta cup are recreation for people who should be studying for an a high school education. What Simoes wants are academies whose primary purpose is to poduce footballer. Simoes needs to understand that we are not going to sacrifice education for the national team.

• Originally posted by Karl View Post
      Even if he said what you said it does not make sense. There is no reason to stop using the schools as discovery, condiut for and a place where development of footballers occur.

I am sure no one would think for even one moment that the schools should be the alpha and omega of football development on the island...but to suggest that the schools do not have a long term role to play in development of players is, in my opinion, a nonsense posture!

The aims should be simple. Improve the training that takes place in the schools & in all other venues (including clubs and the proposed academies). Why someone would suggest that the schools either cease preparing footballers and or cease having an important role to play in development of same I cannot understand.
      Does the curriculum of a school only entail football? Ofcourse not, therefore the concentration necessary to develop the full potential of the young baller is never reached. Hence, the underdevelopment of our talents. Don't you see the rational? If schools decide that the game football no longer feeds the role to development, then it will be discontinued, what then for those young ones who have talent?

Come on Karl, no myopic thoughts iya...long term, big picture...come on man! The hurry come up attitude limits our potential, broadening our scope by allowing the opportunity for entire growth will serve better for our football, don't you think?

• Originally posted by Time View Post
        Simoes needs to understand that we are not going to sacrifice education for the national team.
        Why do you think it is difficult to play at the highest level and be book smart at the same time?

Do you think playing a game somehow wipes the mind clean of the ability to learn other academic subjects? Why sacrifice either of the game or the other area(s) of discipline?
        Last edited by Karl; May 30, 2008, 09:44 AM.

• Originally posted by pHoQrY View Post
          Does the curriculum of a school only entail football? Ofcourse not, therefore the concentration necessary to develop the full potential of the young baller is never reached. Hence, the underdevelopment of our talents. Don't you see the rational? If schools decide that the game football no longer feeds the role to development, then it will be discontinued, what then for those young ones who have talent?
          Well if the curriculum at an academic is football only...then the lack of exposing the minds to other disciplines will be seen in falling numbers of quality products from the academy. That academy I think will start turning out poor footballers...footballers who have a problem fitting in on the field...limited minds...poor minds...as it were, unthinking footballers!

Come on Karl, no myopic thoughts iya...long term, big picture...come on man! The hurry come up attitude limits our potential, broadening our scope by allowing the opportunity for entire growth will serve better for our football, don't you think?
          Broadening the players scope? ...better serve our football?
          Ofcourse!

...but that is not what you meant. Somehow it appears to me that you think our footballers must necessary be fools! That would not be 'good'! ...or for that matter a sensible way of thinking.
          Last edited by Karl; May 29, 2008, 09:47 PM.

• I beleive in the academy...but the education system can suffer if it isn't implemented right...the only way that it won't suffer is if the academy is not only for football but also an institution for learning. Basically it should not be an alternative for school and it should not be an establishment separate from school, because lets face it them won't go class....put it on a scale go class now then play ball later, or kick back till later and then go play some ball.

• Originally posted by Culture Sound View Post
              I beleive in the academy...but the education system can suffer if it isn't implemented right...the only way that it won't suffer is if the academy is not only for football but also an institution for learning.
              Agreed!

Basically it should not be an alternative for school and it should not be an establishment separate from school,
              I am for what you say...but additionally I think there will have to be some place for the 20-22 year olds if only as 'finishing school' for those excellent players not taken by professional club at an earlier age.

There would have to be excellent Sports Management Company and Football Agent working to make things happen for these 'late developers (...and others).

...because lets face it them won't go class....put it on a scale go class now then play ball later, or kick back till later and then go play some ball.
              The thing about school..i.e. going to classes is the lure to attend has its pull in how good were the teachers in stimulating interest in the kids and the quality of the school-class environment at the earliest (earlier) years. If the teaching was excellent...which means the school-class environment was excellent. Good teachers and teaching...have kids 'running' to school-class. In college there was the saying if the pupils found the subject 'difficult', the teacher was failing! i.e. nothing is hard (for the pupils) when enjoyable...nothing is hard (for the pupils) when it is being enjoyed! I am saying if the academic work is enjoyable...the footballers will not 'skip'!
              Last edited by Karl; May 29, 2008, 10:26 PM.

Why do you think it is difficult to play at the highest level and be book smart at the same time?

Do you think playing a game somehow wipes the mind clean of the ability to learn other academic subjects? Why sacriface either the game or the other area(s) of discipline?
                .... So if there is a focus on balls and brains then improve the level of play in the manning and d cup. Don't scrap them for football academies.

Well if the curriculum at an academic is football only...then the lack of exposing the minds to other disciplines will be seen in falling numbers of quality products from the academy. That academy I think will start turning out poor footballers...footballers who have a problem fitting in on the field...limited minds...poor minds...as it were, unthinking footballers!

Broadening the players scope? ...better serve our football?
                  Ofcourse!

...but that is not what you meant. Somehow it appears to me that you think our footballers must necessary be fools! That would not be 'good'! ...or for that matter a sensible way of thinking.
                  Bredren...my apologies for not making my argument more clear for you to understand. What I' trying to say to you is Simoes argument was about advancing our football beyond where it is, in the long run. His belief is that our footballers would be better served by being involved in a setup that concentrates on the game. At no point is there an advocation for the removal of school football, all that is being suggested is a more direct approach to advancement in the game.

Karl, when u going to try and discredit someones writing, try and delete the part that does not relate to the argument you pushing. For if you noticed, reading the entire paragraph shows that your statement is way out of context, making your conclusion nonsensical iya.

On your second response...now that you agree with the broadening of our scope...let me reword it so as to ensure that you are not totally obliterating your arguments.

it is essential to recognize that in expanding our methods used in achieving full potential from our footballers, it may be necessary to develop outlets of concentrated learning, so as to increase our football growth level.

...dis fool fool baller argument nuh mek it bredren, how yu fi bring up dat, how yu come to dat conclusion not even mek sense iya...straighten up and fly right !

• Karl,

The problem is not Simoes, it is people like Paul Reid who might not be accurately reporting Simoes'the words. Don't you see a pattern here in the articles he writes? Did Simoes really say we should "dump" the school system? i don't know the answer but again, like the article on the Trelawny Stadium an Burrell, I'd like to see and hear what Simoes himself said with respect to the schools.

The point is that while the article is an opinion piece we must base our opinion on factual occurrence rather than a narrow interpretation of what the speaker intended.

pr

• The point is that while the article is an opinion piece we must base our opinion on factual occurrence rather than a narrow interpretation of what the speaker intended.
                      I like the words "narrow interpretation" as I have found this particular writer does have a narrow perception of most issues. He seem to limit his view on what he hears just to get a story.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

• Originally posted by Peter R View Post
                        Karl,

The problem is not Simoes, it is people like Paul Reid who might not be accurately reporting Simoes'the words. Don't you see a pattern here in the articles he writes? Did Simoes really say we should "dump" the school system? i don't know the answer but again, like the article on the Trelawny Stadium an Burrell, I'd like to see and hear what Simoes himself said with respect to the schools.

The point is that while the article is an opinion piece we must base our opinion on factual occurrence rather than a narrow interpretation of what the speaker intended.

pr
                        Point taken!

• Originally posted by Time View Post
                          .... So if there is a focus on balls and brains then improve the level of play in the manning and d cup. Don't scrap them for football academies.

My point exactly. We can have both School football and academies!

• well ef is dat alone .... mosiah mi KNOW yuh neva read it!

• Test!

...just checking if an article from waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay back can be brought forward! ...mmmm? Lata will try 1 from even further back in time!

• Originally posted by Muadib View Post
                                Maybe Simoes is right ?

The 'writer' does not refute the statement.

Apparantly there is no room for constructive criticism in the 'writers' world.

A microcosm of why Jamaica is struggling as a nation.
                                He was right then and he would still be right today.