Stick to the job you were hired to do, Mr Simoes

• Originally posted by Karl View Post
    In one particualr article - I said, either "Our schools are..." or "The schools are..." our academies. Currently that is still the case. I even spent some time on explaining why it would make sense to improve the teaching of/coaching of football in schools - We get the kids from 'the cradle'...and lose them/let them go/they go off at 16 through 19+.

Some of the things I can remember off the top of my head - in no particular order
    i) Captive numbers of willing pupils.
    ii) Investment in physical plants by the government and private sector.
    iii) Cost sharing - staff, physical structure, training of coaches (via teachers colleges and outside experts)
    iv) Ease of...use of...administration
    Karl,

I am not sure if you're being entirely appreciative of the "academy" system as it exists in europe and elsewhere and why the schoolboy system is not going to provide equivalency. First though, let me say that I do agree that we have to use the school system as ONE part of the puzzle, it is not the answer however and not necessarily worth exploring.

Here's why I say this. Remember that the academy system is a COMPETITIVE RECRUITING system. This means that clubs actively scout, recruit and develop players to feed a private or community sponsored enterprise. Because they pull from such a large pool (unlike a school that pulls only from its students) this makes the academy itself (in theory) more elitist so in a city like Kingston, you would have say 10 academies with 100 elite players from age 5 through 18 progressively developing skills based on a common set of standards.

I don't believe this can be accomplished with the schoolboy system as schools won't have the necessary focus to deliver the quality output required. For example, no individual school would have a large enough pool of boys to pull from. As I understand it, the way academies work is that they take any boy from anywhere and invest in that youth's development 365 days a year. That is unrealistic in schools under current systems especially from an adminstrative point of view. Secondly, with a proper academy system, you would get top talent playing with top talent, so a great player from Calabar would be in the same academy as a top player from JC etc. Also, remember that the schools primary focus is to educate, not develop athletes.

The question now becomes how to get academies in place. That is a very tough problem to solve, but it can be done as they do not have to be based on the European model initially. Secondly, I suspect that there are creative ways of aligning Jamaican clubs with foreign clubs in joint development initiatives, but I admit that this is a supposition on my part.

The bottom line though is that the solution to the problem is not simple and it is unlikey as I see it that the schools are the solution. I'd rather they focus on teaching the three "R's" properly.

~Paul

• you right bout that...my sister did go there and trust me...them use to walk wid a big bag while mine did only have one hummingbird excercise book

• me graduate from Ardenne in 98...I did my first two years at Wolmers and then move...Campion did have some good seasons for true...but the perception of their teams never really strike fear in none of my teams

• Karl, you said:

"There is no reason to stop using the schools as discovery, condiut for and a place where development of footballers occur. "

I agree with the first two points, but not when it comes to development of football. Simoes is correct that school is primarily an academic environment. While the "mens sana in corpore sano" philosophy MUST be followed by schools, schools are primarily geared for academic development.

Is the Mof Ed going to facilitate a football development program beyond what now takes place. What about other sports? If the education system is asked to support these programs beyond what a three month tournament entails, it might just crack. I think High School works for individual sports like track and field, where the identified talent typically will train all year round.... yes, footbal training might start in August but game done by Christmas. BTW how much HS football has been played in JA since end of the manning and Dcup season?

So hence, my agreement with you regarding discovery and conduit...ultimate development is probably better suited to a professional/semi pro type set up.

Again, my humble opinion.

• The best offer their coaches to the rest of the World.. not the reverse..

• I understand the perception.

98 !

Moderators ! Dis forum don't have a minimum age requirement ???

• Karl, how can 3 months per year over 3 years (total 9 months) aid in the long term development of any player? And how qualified are these coaches? Are they required to hold coaching certificates?

Simoes does have a valid point.
                President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

• Originally posted by Paul Marin View Post
                  Karl,

I am not sure if you're being entirely appreciative of the "academy" system as it exists in europe and elsewhere and why the schoolboy system is not going to provide equivalency. First though, let me say that I do agree that we have to use the school system as ONE part of the puzzle, it is not the answer however and not necessarily worth exploring.

Here's why I say this. Remember that the academy system is a COMPETITIVE RECRUITING system. This means that clubs actively scout, recruit and develop players to feed a private or community sponsored enterprise. Because they pull from such a large pool (unlike a school that pulls only from its students) this makes the academy itself (in theory) more elitist so in a city like Kingston, you would have say 10 academies with 100 elite players from age 5 through 18 progressively developing skills based on a common set of standards.

I don't believe this can be accomplished with the schoolboy system as schools won't have the necessary focus to deliver the quality output required. For example, no individual school would have a large enough pool of boys to pull from. As I understand it, the way academies work is that they take any boy from anywhere and invest in that youth's development 365 days a year. That is unrealistic in schools under current systems especially from an adminstrative point of view. Secondly, with a proper academy system, you would get top talent playing with top talent, so a great player from Calabar would be in the same academy as a top player from JC etc. Also, remember that the schools primary focus is to educate, not develop athletes.

The question now becomes how to get academies in place. That is a very tough problem to solve, but it can be done as they do not have to be based on the European model initially. Secondly, I suspect that there are creative ways of aligning Jamaican clubs with foreign clubs in joint development initiatives, but I admit that this is a supposition on my part.

The bottom line though is that the solution to the problem is not simple and it is unlikey as I see it that the schools are the solution. I'd rather they focus on teaching the three "R's" properly.

~Paul
                  As usual, good talk!
                  ...yet you start from a position of falsehood as base - "...entirely appreciative of the "academy" system as it exists in Europe and elsewhere and why the schoolboy system is not going to provide "equivalency."

My point was not that the schools would replace or stand in place of academies....or as you suggest provide "equivalency". My point runs parallel to yours as far as 'pool' from which players are drawn excepting the pool at all levels, excepting at that school level on which you/we focus i.e. secondary high schools...the 'pool' would be more discerning of talent available in its immediate area (primary & other schools) and those students gaining 'scholarships' that enter those doors.

Yes...I must agree that the "outside" academies would potentially have a much larger pool to draw from...but how can you dismiss the thousands that surpass the many the academies (the current working football academies in Europe and elsewhere) turn out? What do the figures tell us of the numbers that pass through the current private and club academies? Most of the players produced are 'run of the mill'...'get nowhere players'. Relatively few TOP OF THE WORLD players are products of these elite institutions. Many players enter the professional games via routes outside of the academies. Players from Africa and our Caribbean area are examples that readily come to mind.

As far as our schools were concerned my call was for -
                  i) All schools would have competent football people
                  and...
                  a) at the lowest levels introduction to the game would have appropriately trained personel (those trained to teach the very young);

b) at higher levels e.g. primary schools those appropriately trained to teach those age groups;

c) At least some secondary high schools would have a football academy wing/department.

ii) Schools would provide the coverage for entire island as far as "leaving no youth with the necessary potential being left to rot".

iii) The schools (school system) have inherent offerings that we could not afford to 'dump' -either by underuse or ignoring.

iv) The schools provide for upward mobility - including to/into club academies or JFF run or as they shall as the years go by come on board, private academies. The school allows for exposure of widest cross-section of our children. Playgrounds...in school competitions - prep, primary, secondary...to be discovered.

v) The linkage via Teachers Colleges Departments cannot be discounted.

Aside: e.g. While at Mico I got training on T&F - Meet Director's role, field events assistant and field judges role, starter and finish judges' role, relay and lane judge role. ...and the practical - College meets, primary schools, new secondary high schools, and the various all island champs....including Schoolboy & School Girl and national champs.

Off the top of my head - At this moment Edwin Murray still continues as one of Jamaica's premier track meet director. Others such as Dorothy Hobson (field judge) and Horace Lewis (starter) still continue as track officials. Raymond Graham went on to become one of Jamaica's premier T&F coaches. There were others some of whom have gone on to be T&F coaches at US colleges.

Similar thing occurred in football. I was one of those who went on to coach and referee.

The point is the Teachers Colleges can draw from outside experts and do have lecturers who (at least in my time - were mainly trained in 'sports' at UK Universities.) The technical matters are more and more being emphasised - The heading, kicking, 'handling of the ball'...
                  appreciation of and importance of TEAM and the 'triangle', etc.

The key is I am not disagreeing with Simoes on where we should go with academies or that we must implement superior teaching/coaching techniques when compared to that which we currently have...

...but, I am vehemently disagreeing with his 'dumping' of that which we currently have and not suggesting ways to improve same even as he advocates introduction of football academies.

I also vehemently disagree with the suggestion that there can be no equal absorption of "academics" and "football" or any other sport by our kids. In fact, one underlying theme at the teachers college I attended; we all learn/we all can learn/have the ability to learn at the highest levels in multiple 'subject areas' all at the same time. Football is merely another subject area...some may lack physical attributes...but all things being equal we all have the mental capacity.

I am fully appreciative of what academies can do...but, our schools must not be dumped. They should...they must remain a vital part of our youth football development.
                  Last edited by Karl; May 29, 2008, 10:20 PM.

• Whoever read all a dat is a better man dan me.

• Rubbish? I think you are being too kind.

• give me a link nuh.

• Why do I feel everyone read it?

• wah yuh a talk bout...mi might be a little young still but I think I know more than the average bout football

• Definitely the average in here...

• No, only "O" Levels and CXCs.