Maybe Simoes is right ?

The 'writer' does not refute the statement.

Apparantly there is no room for constructive criticism in the 'writers' world.

A microcosm of why Jamaica is struggling as a nation.
    Yuh spot on Ben J. I guess it is a matter of having canvas and will paint for some.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Well start think change and stop hug up dcup and manning as our major developmental tool.

That a part of the problem with too many oldster. Because we play DCUP or Manning Cup them think a di only way and as usual "our days were better". We all need fi leggo that and realise that we are not developing our players as good as we should.
      Sass, one of the things I have come to know is that our people do not embrace change, even if it is for the better. The question is, is schoolboy producing the best players our country can? Maybe not, but that is what we are comfortable with so why should we change.

The schoolboy football competitions can continue in my books, but they should not be expected to be the development tool for the national teams.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

And I actually think this is part of his job.
        Suh yuh agree wid mi then that Sickko wrenk?

Karl again playing school boy football is only two months of the year.

No school I know is set up to have a year round program. You need to seperate the better players and give them a better chance to grow and that can only be done if we have four academies or a proper club structure.

Karl again playing school boy football is only two months of the year.
            So what has that to do with improving the 'football product' in schools?

No school I know is set up to have a year round program. You need to seperate the better players and give them a better chance to grow and that can only be done if we have four academies or a proper club structure.
            Actually the schools are set up to have a year round program on any subject and of any and all sports. The administrators have organised for specific sports that the intra-school and inter-school activities occur at their (that is, the administors) set time. It would be a small matter to, from these 'short periods', identify best talents and arrange that those best talents have all year instructions/activities on the sport that best fits with that talent.

you think PE class and house match can cut it as soccer developement?

NO school in Ja is setup and can run a year round soccer program, NONE.

the fact that nuff people turn out fi the games fool them to think that because people support it "a di best thing"

Yes I love the school boy competition, and it must continue but we need some changes bad.

the fact that nuff people turn out fi the games fool them to think that because people support it "a di best thing"

Yes I love the school boy competition, and it must continue but we need some changes bad.
                  If dem doan know anyting better and can't imagine what could be better, then what yuh expect?

"Yes I love the school boy competition, and it must continue but we need some changes bad." - nuh dat wi a say?!?

but Karl shoulda know better or so you would think.

How many primary school have a man teacher much less a PE teacher, much less a soccer coach? Most of them just tell the youth them fi do some apart/ togather, run one lap and go kick ball if they have a male teacher. You forget that some high school can't even pay a part time coach?

Karl not saying anyting different, sass!

Karl is actually saying the school is the place for developement of footballers.

It plays a role but should not be the major factor as it is now.

Yo Simoes right for what him say....people can talk bout the history of Jamiacan school boy football and blah blah blah....but the fact of the matter is the school boy football system is just a bag of 15-19 year olds that end up playing alongside couple overage big men (Pele Wilson for example) that think say them a balla and when them meet them match them can't live up to them hype.
                          The system doesn't have to be revamped but if it was tweaked to push the boys towards being future National and professional players instead of just trying to win the cup one year skull class, get some grades and then graduate and never to be heard from again. Give them something more to look forward too, take it from a youth that has been through the system and was at Wolmers playing for Coles when Bibi was there...trust me if there was an academy in place nuff ballers that "starred" in the Manning and DaCosta Cup back then would have been fighting for a spot on the National team. So instead of 8 logical local talents competing it would have been 20 - 25, and "team chemistry" wouldn't be a problem because the academy would have instilled that from early.

Another example, Mario Swaby, me and him use to go the same Prep School play on the same side, then he went to KC...that youth was a baller from then but his talents never showed until he played for Portmore under Linval Dixon (remember which system he is coming from)

Therefore Simoes right for what him say

Should we get rid of the schoolboy competitions?

No man.

We should leave that in place for the rejects that cyaan mek di Academy rosters.

The support for '3rd Rate' youth competition might wane but at least we will keep the 'tradition' going.

that mi say too...because all the school boy system do is trick some youth weh can beat two youth from Campion say him a the next coming of Messi