• Sorry USA

American wall

• Eddie Johnson played as if he had a pebble in his football boots.
    • I miss Brian McBride.
    • I was not expecting an entertaining game (since both countries play mechanical football) --but that just the worst display by MY TEAM the US in a long time.
    Last edited by HL; May 28, 2008, 05:56 PM.

True. I see the same boring display by England putting more than 2 goals in the T&T net on Sunday.

i wonder how much goalS they would put in the rbz NET

As soon as I saw the starting lineup I knew we were going to be completely useless offensively.

Just look at the two forwards. Eddie Johnson, plays with Fulham reserves and began demonstrating long ago that he can't score against teams outside of CONCACAF. And Josh Wolff, who plays in the German 2nd division as a midfielder, and didn't score a single goal last season.

A pathetic display overall, however. I'm hoping for major changes in the formation against Spain.

is who dat look like dem a do di "willy bounce"?

There was simply a wide gap between the quality of the two teams. When the US players had the ball the first touch and movement off the ball was poor compared to the English. Landon Donovan was definitely missing. They should have introduced Adu earlier.

On another note. That Maurice Adu fellow is no good. I have watched his games over and over (Youth, MLS, National Team) and the clumsy guy continuously gives away the ball with his poor passing and slow reaction time. He is an offensive liability.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
              As soon as I saw the starting lineup I knew we were going to be completely useless offensively.

Just look at the two forwards. Eddie Johnson, plays with Fulham reserves and began demonstrating long ago that he can't score against teams outside of CONCACAF. And Josh Wolff, who plays in the German 2nd division as a midfielder, and didn't score a single goal last season.

A pathetic display overall, however. I'm hoping for major changes in the formation against Spain.
              It is not Eddie Johnson. ...both at Fulham and in your display...there is a problem putting two or more passes together. I do not care if it were Pele the overall team performance would be crap. Any forward would have a hard time getting off shots.

It's simple, if the forwards are not getting balls they will not be able to do 'good things'. They'll look like crap. Balls to Johnson were most often overhit or underhit. The poor fellow was chasing and chasing and chasing! ...and when the ball did get to him it was most often a p i ss poor delivery.

What did Beasley do?
              What did any of the players do? ...besides keep making poor passes?

Answer: The positive...possible only positive - The team USA (Cannot give the players a TEAM designation!) worked hard...but unfortunately but not sensibly. Although they were too often giving the England players too much room...when they 'dived' in they came hard and swiftly (...~sigh!~ too often too late.). They rattled the English team and limited the number of chances England got.

Needed - Spread the field i.e. increase width within which to operate. Improve passing! Work harder...damn! ...just work at 'setting up' your fellow teammates when in the final third for shots at opponent's goal.

As Johnson showed with his snap-shot which 'froze' James and went narrowly wide of James' left upright if given the ball in the right places Johnson would be able to be himself i.e. a highly competent goalscorer.

The USA players too often did not move selves into 'open spaces'...inviting passes/good passes...supporting teammates. In this match it was too often 2nd form/grade 4 crazy running around without rhyme or purpose.

I expected better from any TEAM USA!

You're absolutely right that the midfield did no favors at all for the forwards. They played like pure crap yesterday.

But if Johnson is going to continue to start up front then we are in serious trouble. The guy started showing long ago just how limited he is as a forward at the international level.

Only against 2nd tier CONCACAF opponents does he appear anything like a "a highly competent goalscorer".

You're absolutely right that the midfield did no favors at all for the forwards. They played like pure crap yesterday.

But if Johnson is going to continue to start up front then we are in serious trouble. The guy started showing long ago just how limited he is as a forward at the international level.

Only against 2nd tier CONCACAF opponents does he appear anything like a "a highly competent goalscorer".
                  Unno need fi get McBride out of retirement.

Yeah HL in the end what we had was the poor man's England vs. England.

The gulf between the two teams was huge and probably 3-0 would have been a fair result.

Karl's bunk mate at Shady Pines, Eddie Lewis, was the best player for the US for my money. I thought when he and Freddy came on it allowed Clint Dempsey to get more involved and gave him some players he could combine with.

Not having Landon Donovan was always going to hurt as they had literally no counter attacking threat whatsoever.

What is frightening about the US in all these friendlies is their inability to solve pressure. Even in the matches they win their ineptness at creating anything during the run of play is troubling. Against Concacaf teams they don't get challenged enough to be exposed for this but when they play the Euro squads you can see it clear as day.

Eddie Johnson should never touch the field for the US again. - T.K.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
                      Not having Landon Donovan was always going to hurt as they had literally no counter attacking threat whatsoever.

What is frightening about the US in all these friendlies is their inability to solve pressure. Even in the matches they win their ineptness at creating anything during the run of play is troubling. Against Concacaf teams they don't get challenged enough to be exposed for this but when they play the Euro squads you can see it clear as day.

Eddie Johnson should never touch the field for the US again. - T.K.

Interesting talk, sah!
                      ...and you are 100% correct on
                      i) missing Donovan (this should give pause for those who think he is no good!);
                      ii) this current USA team being not able to 'see, think and adjust' during matches.

...but you are dead wrong on Eddie Johnson. Presently he is the only good pure striker USA has.

The new boy, young Aliadore (Is that his name? He was not in the last squad.) would be next in line. Both Johnson and young Aliadore also play excellent TEAM.

lampard nuh worth quatty fi England. Him can take a rest.

It wasn't just missing Donovan that hurt us, but also missing Feilhaber. He's great at helping us keep possession, spreading the ball around, finding open men, etc. Bradley and Clark can tackle and win balls, but they can't distribute like Feilhaber can.

And Karl, please, enough with the Eddie Johnson praise. He is a good striker when he's playing against mid-range CONCACAF teams. Raise the level of competition just slightly and he's completely harmless. Don't believe me? Just look at his international record (caps and goals).

He has blazing speed, but little else. No soccer brain or off-the-ball movement and can't strike the ball from distance to save his life. Can't dribble. Scared to take on his man and go for goal, so he usually backpasses to a midfielder.

He's still only 24 so maybe he'll eventually get his act together and make a believer out of me. But I'm not holding my breath.

Anyway, it's clear that McBride's retirement left a huge hole that still needs to be filled. Keep your eyes on Altidore and Cooper. They could step up.

a nuh just Donovan missing it seems like it was the whole team .

The US currently don't have a depenable striker.

And Karl, please, enough with the Eddie Johnson praise. He is a good striker when he's playing against mid-range CONCACAF teams. Raise the level of competition just slightly and he's completely harmless. Don't believe me? Just look at his international record (caps and goals).

He has blazing speed, but little else. No soccer brain or off-the-ball movement and can't strike the ball from distance to save his life. Can't dribble. Scared to take on his man and go for goal, so he usually backpasses to a midfielder.

He's still only 24 so maybe he'll eventually get his act together and make a believer out of me. But I'm not holding my breath.
                              Johnson is not a great dribbler. That's fact. Why then would you want him to often attempt to 'take on' opponents...particularly as every half-dead coach and footballer knows that the easiest way to get by an opponent or opponents is 'use a TEAMmate'...pass and move into space?

Johnson does that "pass and move into space" well! It was not his fault that his TEAMmates could not make an acurate pass to save their lives or on receiving the ball not lose it MOST often.

Johnson also in that match had no support when he fought for and won ball in the air while under pressure. Not one of his TEAMmates seeing Johnson go up for a ball (aside: Usually Johnson was under pressure! ) ran into the open space for Johnson's head pass. What were they doing sleeping?

The loss of McBride.
                              Yes you lost a good TEAM player...but the supporting cast around him were more experienced...and I am sorry to have to say this next because it speaks to where you TEAM is going...better players.

Keep your eyes on Altidore and Cooper. They could step up.
                              Aaaah that's the youngsters name - Altidore!
                              I have been watching him. Bradley would do well to give him regular match play. Bring him on for the World Cup. He could create waves if the players around him improve mightly. If the present sorry lot continues as that last display against England USA may not make it to the World Cup and that would be a pity for football in our region.
                              Last edited by Karl; May 31, 2008, 07:06 PM.