Milutinovic impressed with speed of local players

• Milutinovic impressed with speed of local players

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Milutinovic impressed with speed of local players</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>PAUL A REID, Observer writer
    Monday, October 16, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>MONTEGO BAY - Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic, the man most likely to take over as Jamaica's technical director, says he is impressed with the little he has seen of Jamaica's top club competition.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Milutinovic, who attended yesterday's Wray &amp; Nephew National Premier League game between Wadadah and Portmore at Jarrett Park, says he was impressed with the speed and athleticism of the players.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In a short interview with the Observer, Milutinovic said "speed is important at the highest level, and I saw that today."
    The man who guided five national teams at the World Cup would not be drawn into singling out any player, saying it would not be fair.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Milutinovic drew lots of attention when he arrived, along with JFF president Crenston Boxhill and JFF treasurer Rudolph Speid, just before the game. He was seen making notes on a small notepad he had with him and was also seen with a small personal-sized video camera.<P class=StoryText align=justify>He appeared impressed with Carlington Smith's 32nd-minute goal that gave Portmore a 3-0 lead, he nodded and smiled after the small, speedy player sliced his way through the Wadadah defence before flicking past goalkeeper Gavine Barrett with the outside of his
    right boot.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Milutinovic leaves the island today after a four-day trip when he met with several stakeholders and the executive of the JFF.

RE: Milutinovic impressed with speed of local players

Does he indirectly mean seh dem running around like headless chickens ?

I am sure 'speed' and 'running around aimlessly' are two very different things all together, or maybe the writer did not properly report what the man said.......SIGH!!!!

Does anyone want to take a guess of what Bora wrote on his note pad? - T.K.

I know for a fact he wrote the name of at least one young Portmore player that he was impressed with

I am not surprised. When they palyed in the club championship thing I was very impressed by a couple of the young PFC players. If I am not mistaken one was a midfielder Jason Morrison.

That is a good one Sickko no I am being serious. I bet he wrote something like this:

To: The Serbian Ambassador to Jamaica

Fr: Bora Milutinovic

Please help! I have been kidnapped by the Jamaican Football Federation and they won't let me go. They have been putting me through a series of psychological tortures by forcing non-stop NPL football action on me. I am on the verge of cracking and accepting this job. For the love of God please use your diplomatic influence and get me out of this country. I hear Boxhill's foot steps coming towards my cell. Time is running short. I have to go now. I fear I cannot hold out much longer. Hurry.

If he wrote to the Serbian people they would ignore him as he is now a Mexican by marriage- ha ha ha

Yow Bricktop I am begin ing to see you watch the football very keenly....good call my youth, good call

Well, Bora is showing us from early that we have to look beyond his words. Okay, the players might have been fast, but the football was slow, boring and bad! Horrible game!!!!

Very funny though, TK, Bora being kidnapped!

Sickko (10/16/2006)Yow Bricktop I am begin ing to see you watch the football very keenly....good call my youth, good call
                      I was very impressed with some of the youths on that team. Just goes to show we have the talent it's now up to us to develop them properly.

Thats why I cant fathom the Star article by the Frater guy and why he is advocating abandoning the U21 league.

maybe he said "Speid"...and not speed!