City defence praised by Todd

• City defence praised by Todd

<DIV class=headline>Also not mentioned in this report.....in the other report that I read on this match it said that Ricketts made a great save on someone's bicycle kick shot. Glad to see him stick it to Tilla week after week. And unno wan' bench deGeneral. - T.K.</DIV><DIV class=headline></DIV><DIV class=headline>City defence praised by Todd</DIV><DIV style="PADDING-BOTTOM: 5px">By Simon Parker</DIV><TABLE style="BORDER-RIGHT: rgb(255,255,255) 5px solid; BORDER-TOP: rgb(255,255,255) 5px solid; BORDER-LEFT: rgb(255,255,255) 5px solid; BORDER-BOTTOM: rgb(255,255,255) 5px solid" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=10 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=caption>City keeper Donovan Ricketts played through the pain barrier after being treated for a toe injury</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Colin Todd backed City's defensive qualities after last night's goalless clash at Northampton.

The Cobblers, who have the worst home record in England, claimed only their second point in seven games at Sixfields Stadium.

But Todd was happy to see his side's shut-out which lifted them temporarily into fourth spot, three points behind League One top dogs Nottingham Forest.

"Northampton hadn't won at home and they saw this as an opportunity to put that right," said Todd.<A name=mpubot></A><DIV id=midpagempu style="DISPLAY: none" align=center><DIV class=am id=midpagemputop style="PADDING-BOTTOM: 5px">continued...</DIV><DIV class=am id=midpagempumpu><SCRIPT language=JavaScript></SCRIPT></DIV></DIV>

"But we know that every time we play, teams are going to raise their game because we are a good side.

"It certainly wasn't a bad game for 0-0. It was well-contested and very quick, which shows how good our fitness levels are.

"You know how I like us to play and John Gorman's got his side playing the same way and trying to be positive.

"We defended very well and just needed that little bit of luck at the other end to nick a goal. I thought we played into their hands in the first half, because we didn't have enough purpose going forward, but in the second we looked more like ourselves and could have won."

Donovan Ricketts will need treatment on an injured toe he suffered in a first-half clash with City old boy Eoin Jess. Ricketts is certain to miss the Johnstone's Paint Trophy clash with S****horpe on Tuesday but should be all right for the league meeting with the Iron next weekend.

Physio Steve Redmond thought the keeper would have to come off at half-time but Ricketts stayed on, although he was unable to take goal-kicks and resorted to throwing the ball out every time.

Todd said: "Stevie said we had to take Donovan off but I knew I could convince him. I promised him that if he could get through the 45 minutes, he could have a couple of days off!

"We don't think it's anything too serious but we'll probably send him for an x-ray as a precaution."

David Wetherall, who missed two days of training this week with a throat infection, picked up a slight knock, which means he may not play on Tuesday either. Mark Bower, Marc Bridge-Wilkinson and Dean Windass are also doubts with bumps and bruises.

Todd will spend the weekend deciding whether to push ahead with signing a winger on a month's loan. The player concerned is keen to come but, with Jermaine Johnson on his way back, the City boss is still mulling it over.

He said: "JJ will be fit for next Saturday but that's not to say I won't pursue the loan. I'll give it thought and take it from there on Monday."