• Stop the petty foolishness this is a Reggae Boyz post

Foote Cone & Belding - advertises travel to Jamaica

Brandweek, May 24, 1999 by John Consoli

Find More Results for: "jamaica tourist board ad campaign "

The goal was not out of the ordinary for the ad agency that had represented the Jamaica Tourist Board for about 10 years: Elevate Jamaica's image and increase the desirability among tourists to travel to the Caribbean island. But the budget-less than $1 million-could hardly buy massive exposure on national TV.

The media team at Foote, Cone & Belding swung into action to come up with a promotional campaign that included the use of several different media-newspapers, magazines (consumer and trade) cable and spot television, and outdoor--and spent $886,000 to garner the equivalent of $5 million-plus in media exposure value.

The campaign increased tourism revenue in Jamaica by more than $50 million in 1998, compared to the previous year, and resulted in drawing 33,600 more tourists.

The initial problem was how to capture public interest in Jamaica with such a limited national budget. The FCB team came up with a unique idea: Use Jamaica's qualifying entry into the World Cup soccer tournament, the Reggae Boyz team, as an embodiment of the country's unique culture, enchanting attitude and friendly nature of its people. The FCB team wanted to find a way, using several different media vehicles, to showcase Jamaica's newest ambassadors to a World Cup audience in hopes that people subliminally store away Jamaica in their minds as a possible vacation destination.

Advertisement

"We decided to use the Reggae Boyz to instill in people's minds the warmth and excitement that can be generated from this country," said FCB senior vp and media director Ellen Oppenheim.

"We wanted to portray Jamaica as being a country that was more than just sun and sand," said Tyler Schaeffer, FCB senior VP and group media director. "We wanted to build an image of Jamaica and through that image build tourism. By using the spirit of the Reggae Boyz, we hoped to translate that as being reflective of the spirit of the Jamaican people."

"As Jamaica continues to produce talented people who make contributions to the rest of the world, the country becomes more multidimensional," said Jonathan Spitz, vp, management director at FCB. "When you think of vacationing there, you are interacting not only with the beaches but also with that culture and its people. The Reggae Boyz add another dimension."

While the World Cup is not as popular among native-born Americans, it is on par with the football Super Bowl in popularity among people in most other countries, many of whom have emigrated here. With a large audience following the World Cup games, which are played from preliminaries through finals over a six-month period--including several rounds in the U.S.--the FCB team came up with a plan to get maximum exposure for minimal expenditures.

The plan began to take shape in late 1997, and in January of 1998, FCB got an idea to create the world's largest soccer ball, five stories high, which would be transported to different cities and which fans could sign wishing the Reggae Boyz good luck. The ball-signing began in Kingston, Jamaica, and then traveled to New York, London and to the cup finals in Paris, each time garnering local publicity in those cities and around those countries. The ball-signing in New York took place in Bryant Park on 42nd Street. "It was like a big good-luck card that everyone could sign," Schaeffer said.

The ball-signing in New York got coverage on every local news station and on each of the national morning-news programs, as well as on assorted local nightly newscasts around the country.

Also, early in the year, FCB bought a "Good Luck Reggae Boyz" back-page ad in The Washington Post on a day in which Jamaica's team faced the United States national team in an early World Cup match in that city. "Washington is a big tourist market for Jamaica," Schaeffer said, "and we want

RE: Stop the petty foolishness this is a Reggae Boyz post

Tell us exactly what is the "petty foolishness" of which you speak?

Thanks!

Karl (10/15/2006)Tell us exactly what is the "petty foolishness" of which you speak?

Thanks!
      Moving the post to another forum when it clearly deals with REGGAE BOYZ football

So we see where reaching the World Cup resulted in $50 million US in revenue flowing into the island but we are up in arms over $500,000 US for a top flight coach

Bricktop (10/15/2006)So we see where reaching the World Cup resulted in $50 million US in revenue flowing into the island but we are up in arms over $500,000 US for a top flight coach
          Oh! You would have seen thatI am with you on that. ...in fact, if you read my post on another topic you would have seen I have no problem with Bora receiving $1 million per year.

When you invest, it is the returns...the bottom-line that is most important. The Mutty Perkins of this world have tunnel vision.

People with tunnel vision aways speak with great conviction on topic(s) about which they know next to nothing!

Aside: One of the reasons I was on the Burrell administration and this Boxhill administrationabout lack of stats on football - numbers involved...lives impacted...money the game circulates in our economy.

Bricktop (10/15/2006)
            Karl (10/15/2006)Tell us exactly what is the "petty foolishness" of which you speak?

Thanks!
            Moving the post to another forum when it clearly deals with REGGAE BOYZ football
            Anyone who read this post would realise it is a fit for this forum. If it was moved a mistake was made. I do not know about you...but, I make mistakes!

...and, too often! :w00t:

[quote]Karl (10/15/2006)

Oh! You would have seen thatI am with you on that. ...in fact, if you read my post on another topic you would have seen I have no problem with Bora receiving $1 million per year.

When you invest, it is the returns...the bottom-line that is most important. The Mutty perkins of this world have tunnel vision.

People with tunnel vision aways speak with great conviction on topic(s) about which they know next to nothing!

Aside: One of the reasons I was on the Burrell administration and this Boxhill administrationabout lack of stats on football - numbers involved...lives impacted...money the game circulates in our economy.
              I know you are Karl. I remember you posting an article that highlighted the boost to the economies of the countries in the WC finals.

Karl (10/15/2006)
                Bricktop (10/15/2006)

Thanks!

Anyone who read this post would realise it is a fit for this forum. If it was moved a mistake was made. I do not know about you...but, I make mistakes!

...and, too often! :w00t:

I don't think MOSI... uh I mean the person read the entire post before moving it

Don't be Brickt...don't be silly! No one would move such a post!

Mosiah (10/15/2006)No one would move such a post!
                    Sure. How about addressing the content of the post now :hehe:

HAHA! How do you know it was directly because of the World Cup participation? Tourism goes up by 33,000/year all the time! So, to what do you attribute the increases before and after 1998?!? HAHAHAHA!

I am not saying that qualifying for the World Cup doesn't have its benefits. I just feel that the private sector should do more. There are countless statistics to show that it is easier to develop doctors and engineers than it it to develop a professional athlete in any sport!

I believe that the govt should be investing in sports, not just football, in a more meaningful manner, from the bottom up, in a more sustainable way. But we are not serious about real development. The South Africa World Cup is a political adventure for our govt. We believe that we have a right to be there because of our long history of solidarity with the black South African people. Now, that's all well and good, but yanking out at least 1/2 million US dollars/year for the coach's salary is bad bizniz in my view. Would we ever have considered even US$10,000 for the academy?

Oh, I can bet that T&T doesn't have to rely on its oil exports any more! Tourism must be booming in the twin island republic!

Mosiah (10/15/2006)How do you know it was directly because of the World Cup participation?

Does tourism revenue increase by $50 million US per year on average? It wasn't because of the World Cup participation it was because of the PROMOTION of the World Cup participation

Divide 50,000,000 by 33,000 and tell me what yuh think.

And, while we are at it, had the Tourist Board used a local company for the promotion, would it have been as successful?

Mosiah (10/15/2006)Divide 50,000,000 by 33,000 and tell me what yuh think.

And, while we are at it, had the Tourist Board used a local company for the promotion, would it have been as successful?

Do you know that we realised 3 straight years of declining visitor arrivals in early 2000? Which local ad company do you think has the experience/staff/contacts/expertise to handle a million dollar ad campaign? Yuh think this is a BIGGA or BOYSIE commercial?