• New NPL sponsors could be known soon

Taken fro www.jamaicaobserver.com

New NPL sponsors could be known soon

PAUL A REID, Observer writer
    reidp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, May 14, 2008

COOPER'S PEN, Trelawny - The new sponsors for the 2008/09 Jamaica Football Federation's (JFF) National Premier League (NLP) could be known in less than a month.

While not wishing to disclose who the new sponsors could be or how many entities have approached the JFF to be the title sponsors next season, general secretary Horace Reid said a number of things had to be worked out with the clubs before anything was agreed on.

The NPL season ended without a sponsor after Cash Plus, who had signed a $150 million, three-year agreement before the start of the season, ran into financial difficulties and collapsed.

Cash Plus had taken over from long-time sponsors Wray & Nephew.
    It was recently announced the new season will get under way in August, just over three months away.

Reid, who spoke to the Observer following a press conference at the Starfish Resort on Monday to announce the staging of the Jamaica vs Bahamas CONCACAF World Cup qualifying game at the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium in June, said the "JFF is in discussion with the clubs as it relates to the way forward for the Premier League.

"There are certain mandates that must be followed coming out of the congress held last November."

According to Reid, the meetings would take place soon and it "would be premature" to speak about potential sponsors as "I think first we have to ensure that everyone is on the same page as it relates to the football product".

Meanwhile, JFF president Captain Horace Burrell said they welcomed any input from other football related entities as far as helping to manage the game in the island is concerned.

"The JFF is responsible for managing all aspects of football in Jamaica. We're always glad to have other entities, other arms of the sport, coming along as the federation can't do it all alone, so we welcome the Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA), but the JFF will always take the lead role in all of this," Burrell said.

"We welcome the PLCA or any other entity who can assist the football and together it is our wish to work for the development and betterment of the football product," he added.

He said while they were "looking to professionalise the sport...we will need the stakeholders who are investing heavily in the clubs to play a very vital role like the PLCA is doing".

"The JFF will at all times be in charge and continue to do all we have to do to ensure that we carve out the direction in which the football must move," he declared.
    Last edited by Karl; May 14, 2008, 01:57 PM.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...rell#post60880

mmmm?
    An opening for the captain to do what I would? get back a firm grip on the largest recurring money earner and local flagship - The NPL? Change the Boxhill loosening of the JFF's hold on the NPL to a re-tightening of the JFF's hold?

Yes?!

The PLCA was able to attract some serious money for the NPL (okay, Cash Plus money cannot be considered "serious") and some for the U-21 league. Makes you wonder what the JFF was doing all this time. Would it have been business as usual for them?

Yuh can stay deh a bat fi di JFF every chance you get. Yuh address mi message yet?