• Burrell puts Multi purpose stadium to use in trelawny

Burrell seeks maximum support from western fans
    published: Tuesday | May 13, 2008

Adrian Frater, News Editor

Captain Horace Burrell ... We will be having a full-strength Reggae Boyz team for this game and we are looking for a bumper crowd. - file
    Western Bureau:
    Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) boss, Captain Horace Burrell, yesterday called for maximum support from western fans as he announced the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium as the confirmed venue for the June 14 second leg 2010 World Cup qualifier between Jamaica and The Bahamas.

Speaking at the official launch for the game at the Starfish Hotel, the JFF boss, who was flanked by vice president Bruce Gaynor, national technical director Rene Simoes and general secretary Horace Reid, promised that quality support from the fans would guarantee them more international games in the west.

"We will be having a full-strength Reggae Boyz team for this game and we are looking for a bumper crowd," said Captain Burrell. "The government, through Sports Minister Olivia 'Babsy' Grange, is now making plans to ensure that the stadium is in perfect condition for this game."

Game packages
    In announcing entrance fees for the game, Captain Burrell outlined a package to meet the needs of fans across the board. The two grass areas (bleachers) will attract a cost of $500, the grandstand will be divided into two categories - category I - $3,000 and category II - $2,500. Twelve corporate boxes will also be available - 16-person box - $80,000 and 20-person box - $100,000.

In welcoming international football to Trelawny for the first time, Mayor of Falmouth, councillor Colin Gager, said he was elated as it falls perfectly in the ongoing expansion of Falmouth, which includes the creation of a shipping pier and several other multimillion-dollar projects.

"I am elated and welcome this venture with open arms," said councillor Gager. "The choice of Falmouth for this game is very good because the parish has an absolutely lovely facility in the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium."

Transportation
    Dennis Seivwright, president of the Trelawny Chamber of Commerce, promised that he will be doing everything possible to help mobilise fans from as far away as Manchester, St Elizabeth, St Ann to come in and join the fans from the western parishes of St James, Hanover and Westmoreland.

"We see this as another test for Falmouth. We successfully staged the ICC Cricket World Cup and we are going to do it again with this football match," said Seivwright. "I will be calling on the business community to throw their full support behind this game and I have no doubt they will."
    Simoes noted that it is of paramount importance for fans to put their support behind the national football programme, noting that it is the kind of partnership that is required to ensure that the Road to South Africa 2010 is a success.
    Last edited by Tilla; May 13, 2008, 07:43 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Suh Burrell nuh consider di 6 hours dat wi haffi endure pon di road ?

Burrell bettah careful.. town man run tings.

Laaawd Gaaawd!! $100,000 fe watch ah foot baawl game?! Jezas!! How much dat inna US$$? nuh bout US1K dat?!
      Dem ah goh 'aff "go-go" ooman in dey ah massage oonu?! All de lickka fe drink an food fe nyaam!!!

how much is a private box a the orange bowl or thwatherouse centre...

About the same in US dollars!

The price is cheap, and it comes out to about $72 US/person for the box seats.

Suh Burrell nuh consider di 6 hours dat wi haffi endure pon di road ?

Burrell bettah careful.. town man run tings.
              6 hours 'on di road'?
              New York, yuh a cum fram?

do you get liqour and food with that.

O.K Mr Burrell ah feelin' yuh !
                  “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

If I know how we do tings here, liquor and food is di least. Expect a Swedish masseuse.

Stop threatening us, Captain
                      SPORTING EDGE Paul Reid
                      Thursday, May 15, 2008

It is unfortunate that Captain Horace Burrell, president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), has to resort to thinly veiled threats in his efforts to marshal support for the CONCACAF World Cup qualifying game between Jamaica and the Bahamas at the Trelawny Multi-purpose stadium (TMPS) next month.

At a press conference held at Starfish Resort near Falmouth on Tuesday, Captain said that unless there was a full house which would return a profit to help boost the JFF's coffers, we can kiss any more games there goodbye.
                      While the Captain might have expertise in many areas, obviously marketing is not one of his strong suits.
                      If I might be 'bumptious' enough to offer some advice, Captain might have been better served if he had played up the beauty of the new facility, the historic aspect of a World Cup qualifier being played in Trelawny and the fact that we might even have new Reggae Boyz showing off their skills.
                      There was also the aspect that the President of the Trelawny Chamber of Commerce Dennis Seivwright mentioned that fans in central Jamaica,like Manchester, would have easier access to the game.
                      Any of these aspects would have gone down better than the threats that we heard coming from the former army man.
                      This is not the first time we in western Jamaica have been given this type of ultimatum, and still fresh in my mind is a decision taken by Captain Burrell when he saw a less-than-jam-packed Jarrett Park for a game between Jamaica and Panama in May 2003. An obviously disappointed Burrell vowed the facility would not get any more internationals, as obviously the fans here in the west did not appreciate what was being done for them.
                      This notwithstanding the fact that one of the few overseas-based players on the Reggae Boyz team was Darren Moore, and the strikers made available to then National Technical Director Sebastiao Lazaroni, in his first assignment were Oneil 'Chippy' McDonald, Fabian Taylor, Jermaine Johnson and Kevin Lamey.
                      It is rather insensitive for the JFF boss to be making these pronouncements in light of the economic realities we are now facing when people have to be making tough choices in the supermarket aisles these days, and helping the JFF maintain their billion-dollar budget is not in the top 10 on their list of priorities.
                      The fact is the JFF had very little choice in bringing the game to Trelawny, as it is very unlikely that the second game at the stadium would have even drawn enough to fill the grandstand.
                      While not counting the chickens before they are hatched and despite our less-than-stellar showing in the recent FIFA polls, this contest should be over in the first half of the first game.

Jamaica should win going away and thus the pull for game two would have lessened, therefore the JFF did well in getting the game to be scheduled outside of Kingston, giving other fans the opportunity to see their football heroes live.
                      In spite of everything, though, I am hoping for a large turnout for the first-ever international football game in Trelawny come June 18 as we get the World Cup campaign on the road.

So, is the writer saying that it was not out of the kindness of their hearts why the west was getting this game? He seems to imply that there is no way we could keep the second match at the national stadium because 1,000 persons in a 35,000 seat stadium not going to look good.

heh heh!

Dem better mek sure dem sellout out di place.

The Writer is Sickko and I agree with him.

Me too!

I don't agree with him. It seems that he is carrying a chip on his shoulder for Burrell. Regardless of Burrell's abrasive personality, the bottomline is that if it is not economically viable to host a match out west, then why waste time. Just think about the time and money it takes to get the Trelawny stadium match ready. The National stadium can host matches basically at the drop of a pin. His point about economic realities is null and void. What? Kingstonians can full dem belly pon football alone? Just putting that point in his article sounds like a man clutching at straws to support his argument....it just don't make any sense.

"It is rather insensitive for the JFF boss to be making these pronouncements in light of the economic realities we are now facing when people have to be making tough choices in the supermarket aisles these days, and helping the JFF maintain their billion-dollar budget is not in the top 10 on their list of priorities."
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015