Last time: CONCACAF has only 1.5 spots for World Cup

• Last time: CONCACAF has only 1.5 spots for World Cup

Of course, 2 spots are already taken by the US and Mexico.

It's simple to see.

The US plays England at Wembly next week, then travels to Spain on June 4th to play...then heads home to face Argentina on June 8th.

Mexico on the other hand, played China about 2 weeks ago--then plays Peru on June 8th.

Compare the above schedules with...let's say the Reggae BoyZ...........

I did not spend the time to look-up the schedule for Honduras, Panama, Costa Rica T&T etc. My point is the US and Mexico are way ahead of the rest--footballically speakin'.
    Last edited by HL; May 12, 2008, 10:59 PM.

Well, yes the USA has good opposition but Mexico?? vs China?? Whe dem rank? and Peru? not exactly powerhouses footballically speaking. But you are correct about the 1.5 places that all de rest dem fighting over. I don't see anything on the horizon that will upset the dominance of US and Mex.

T&T plays England June 1 and Jamaica June 7... England probably agreed to the T&T game as they are currying favour with Jack Warner in their bid to host another WC.

pr

And watch the USA struggle to keep up with the Boyz. Again!

"Keep up", heh, sure! In what competition? It sure as hell wasn't the Hexagonal, because you guys didn't make it that far!

Yet another great zinger from the most deluded poster on the forum!

remind me of the scores between jamaica and the usa in the last campaign.

thanks!

So this is the rational analysis for the US and Mexico already assured of the top 2 of the 3.5 alloted CONCACAF spots. Because of the opposition that they will be playing in their upcoming friendlies?
            If I had a little football league club and were looking for a coach. Well???
            Change the mindset to something positive. 2 wins & 2 draws in 4 games with positive play should be a great moral booster for the next game. No matter the opposition.

Of course, 2 spots are already taken by the US and Mexico.

It's simple to see.

The US plays England at Wembly next week, then travels to Spain on June 4th to play...then heads home to face Argentina on June 8th.

Mexico on the other hand, played China about 2 weeks ago--then plays Peru on June 8th.

Compare the above schedules with...let's say the Reggae BoyZ...........

I did not spend the time to look-up the schedule for Honduras, Panama, Costa Rica T&T etc. My point is the US and Mexico are way ahead of the rest--footballically speakin'.
              That is a fact!
              Can we catch up...rapidly?
              Just depends on our football leaders!

Allow me to go out on a "deluded" limb here. Archivists, this one's for you:

There will be a major surprise in CONCACAF when either the USA or Mexico fail to qualify outright for WC 2010!
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

There will be a major surprise in CONCACAF when either the USA or Mexico fail to qualify outright for WC 2010!
                  True. So the mindset that "bigger is better" has created delusions of grandeur for many in the past.

I wonder what Goliath's last thoughts were when the stone struck him in the forehead.

Goliath's last thoughts and words might have been in the form: "David, go forth and eat from the womb of your...(buddup)", then he dropped like an old cedar tree in the hills of Lebanon.

i think it was ..... "*@&#$^%!!!!"

I won't be a surprise to me. I think Mexico is ripe for the picking.

Jamaica2099 et. al., I fully understand your position as a supporter of the Reggae BoyZ and no other team.

Mexico has qualified for the world cup about 15 or 16 times. The US has a similar World Cup qualification. Mexico has never qualified pass the second round. Recently Mexico sacked coach Sanchez who had a winning record going out. It goes to show the level of their expectations. Passing the second round and maybe winning the World Cup is certainly in Mexico's plan as a football country.

I need not comment on the overall performance record of the US......

Now compare the current performance levels of Mexico and the US with Jamaica (or any CONCACAF nation).

Wishful thinking and analogies will get us nowhere. It's consistent performance that counts.

BTW: Any upset (though desirable), will count as unprecedented.

The fact still remain--there are 1.5 spots in CONCACAF.

Jamaica2099 et. al., I fully understand your position as a supporter of the Reggae BoyZ and no other team.

Mexico has qualified for the world cup about 15 or 16 times. The US has a similar World Cup qualification. Mexico has never qualified pass the second round. Recently Mexico sacked coach Sanchez who had a winning record going out. It goes to show the level of their expectations. Passing the second round and maybe winning the World Cup is certainly in Mexico's plan as a football country.

I need not comment on the overall performance record of the US......

Now compare the current performance levels of Mexico and the US with Jamaica (or any CONCACAF nation).

Wishful thinking and analogies will get us nowhere. It's consistent performance that counts.

BTW: Any upset (though desirable), will count as unprecedented.

The fact still remain--there are 1.5 spots in CONCACAF.
                            So why even show-up? I think with the advent of more CONCACAF countries getting their players integrated into professional oufits have allowed a closing of the gap between Mexico , the USA and the rest of CONCACAF. If we take a careful look at the talent pool of some of the teams in CONCACAF we will realise that there is not much between these teams based on talent. However, with that said, the effort and preparation that teams like Mexico and USA put into there program is what sets them above the rest of the region.

Still, personally I don't think Jamaica has anything to fear from the likes of Mexico or the USA and vice versa. Each country has players playing the game at a professional level and making a name for themselves. And each country has appointed coaches or will appoint coaches with pedigreee and know how. This World Cup campaign will be a lot closer than some people are willing to admit to. I think the days when the likes of Mexica and the USA breeze through the early rounds and stroll through the group of six is over.
                            Just my 2 cents.

REGGAEBOYZ FOREVER!!!!!

No spot is guarantee anymore in concacaf ...

Every country have to leave it all on the field. Gone are the days when mexico and usa was guarantee a spot.

Personally any country can beat any other on any given day. Refereeing,fan support and discipline is going to play a major part in this campaign. Reggae fans need to give more positive vocal support thoroughout our games.Funny thing is that we have the lowest goal vs chance ratio . We need to drastically reduce this to have a chance. Players have to play harder and smarter . Our players need some sprint training and nutrition supplements under Glen Mills guidance.