• I just care about Fulham...

Americans in peril in Premier League

LONDON (AP) - The American presence in the English Premier League could be decimated this weekend: As many as nine of the 12 U.S. players in Europe's top league could find themselves on clubs relegated to a lower division.

Nicknamed "Fulhamerica" by some because it has five U.S. national team players, Fulham is at Portsmouth on Sunday, the season's final day. Fulham most likely will need a victory to avoid being dropped a level down to the League Championship.
    Barclays Premier League

"Getting out of trouble would be right up there with the highs," said Kasey Keller, who became Fulham's starting goalkeeper in March.
    Keller is joined on Fulham by forwards Brian McBride, Clint Dempsey and Eddie Johnson and defender Carlos Bocanegra. All five played March 16 when McBride scored in a 1-0 win over Everton and goalkeeper Tim Howard - likely the first time six Americans appeared in a Premier League game.
    Fulham (7-18-12) has won three of its last four games, moving up to 17th place when it defeated Birmingham last weekend. The bottom three clubs in the 20-team league get relegated, and Fulham moved out of the drop zone last weekend for the first time since December.
    Reading (9-22-6), which has American goalkeeper Marcus Hahnemann and midfielder Bobby Convey, is 18th, followed by Birmingham (7-19-11) and last-place Derby (1-28-8), which has U.S. midfielders Benny Feilhaber and Eddie Lewis.
    The only Americans on teams assured of remaining in the EPL are Howard, Blackburn goalkeeper Brad Friedel and West Ham defender Jonathan Spector.
    Defender Jay DeMerit could wind up on a team gaining promotion: He's on Watford, one of four League Championship clubs in playoffs for a Premier League berth.
    McBride, Fulham's captain, scored the opening goal in last weekend's 2-0 home win over Birmingham on a diving header, his fourth goal of the season. That victory sparked celebrations at Craven Cottage stadium, along the River Thames. McBride, who has been at the club since January 2004, is still wary.
    "As you can expect the atmosphere in the dressing room was very good after the game but we're not under any illusions that this is over," he said. "We still have a job to do, and it's going to be a tough one."
    Americans in the Prem

Portsmouth (16-12-9) is in eighth place and could be looking toward its matchup with Cardiff in the FA Cup final the following weekend.
    "Our confidence has grown for sure and you can see that with our composure," said McBride, who returned in February after missing 5 1/2 months with a knee injury. "It's going to be a very difficult game on Sunday, and I don't think any team in this league looks past the next game."
    The contracts of McBride and Bocanegra are expiring. McBride hopes to stay while Bocanegra, who played just twice since January, intends to leave.
    Johnson signed a 3 1/2-year contract in January, and Dempsey this week extended his deal through 2010 this week.
    "We've been dead and buried for a long time, but it's nice now to at least we have a chance going into the final game," said Fulham coach Roy Hodgson, who replaced Lawrie Sanchez in December. "It's a tough task for us to beat Portsmouth at Fratton Park, but we've got to be happy that we still have that possibility. For a long time, it didn't look like were going to have that possibility."
    Keller said the players never gave up hope.
    "We always felt that we were capable of doing it," he said. "We knew that as long as there was a mathematical chance, if we put a run together, we could get ourselves out of trouble."

Im surprised we don't produce as many top level hispanic players as we used to. I think they are population we should reach out to becuase of their tradition in the sport. He have enough mexicans here, that we can find the next dos santos and the next marquez to play on our national team. The US soccer academy is a great move, but we gonna have to wait another ten years to see results. so were gonna have to wait for two more world cups. maybe by then we'll be hosting it and its will be the perfect time for academy players to come out.

);}

Brad Friedel gave Condi Rice his glubs.

(Very nice gesture)

I wonder if Ricketts evah give his glubs to Portia?

West Brom gone up so no matter what two teams in Birmingham in the EPL.

Mosiah, you are too cruel. I can just see you kneeling beside your bed in prayer tonight begore you go to sleep asking God to let Simoes give Hue a national call-up, let Jamaicans have Justce, and to relegate Fulhamerica to the second division.

Let it be know that I too wish for Fulham's demise, but even if that happens, the influence the USA have over thier cousins, the Brits, will see all of the USAians get trasferred to Premiership clubs.

LOL

dem dollars strong, yes!

You just can't bring yourself to admit that the US has quality players.

Fulham FULHAM FULHAM

Mosiah--Come fallah mi....Fulham....>>>>>

Fulham, Reading and Birmingham are in the proverbial "destiny in their own hands" situation. For Fulham, win and everything criss barring a Reading win by a near impossible colossal margin. Lose, and you have to hope Reading loses too, but against Derby, hardly likely. Of course Birmingham is in a must win situation too. Pity none of their games matched each other up as that would have increased the "watchability" of the fight for the last two wooden spoons.

The top of the table fight will probably see me ditching my coaching (cricket) responsibilities early tomorrow to find a watering hole to watch... EPL come good this year.

Luck to ALL, "good" for Chelsea, "bad" for ManCul (silent "l". ask Willi if that mek sense in french).

pr

pr

The Chelsea- Bolton game is on at 10-a-klak Sunday morning.

Good overall view on your part pr.

Just one question HL.

Regarding "I just care about Fulham".. if Fulham staying up means Bolton going down, would you be okay with that?

Blessed

Day of Destiny

Yes! Salvation!!!

Now it is proven that American players are way overrated and the MLS is garbage compared to other top leagues around the world. Don't even bother to try and explain this because it is there for the world to see...All of nine USA senior team players on teams fighting to avoid relegation on the last day of the premiership. Fulham has 5 regular US starters and was garbage this season, come on HL with half the US starters and not even mid table? And you come here rejoicing over avoiding relegation with 14 minutes left in the seaon? You and the yanks should be embarassed, ashamed of being such poor excuse for top players...I see you guys set your standards real high!

Keller hasn't been a starter for the U.S. since Howard took his place nearly 2 years ago. Same with McBride. He's retired from international play, genius.

No, it wasn't a great season, but having so many players in arguably the top league in the world is nothing to be ashamed of. And don't pretend for a second that you wouldn't want that many Jamaican players in their places.

Instead you'll have to settle for watching them in the lower UK divisions and the Angolan league. Have fun!