• Chelsea's Carvalho calls for Premiership playoff against Man

Chelsea's Carvalho calls for Premiership playoff against Man Utd

tribalfooball.com - May 09, 2008

Chelsea defender Ricardo Carvalho has called for a Premiership title playoff with Manchester United should the two teams finish level on points on Sunday.

If they do so, United would win the championship on goal difference, but Carvalho told the Mirror: "That would be a pain.

"To really resolve the sporting issue perhaps there should be a play-off in a neutral city.
    "It has been a sensational race and for us to go into the final day level on points is incredible. Many people wrote us off after two months and now we have the chance to win an amazing double. "The whole squad believes we can do it."

I wonder if Chelsea had the superior goal difference if he would be saying the same thing?

If dat eva happens...we all know who gat de wood pon who.
      “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

Sounds like an excellent plan, and why is Lazie so hostile to this recommendation?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          Sounds like an excellent plan, and why is Lazie so hostile to this recommendation?
          Excellent? Sheffield United was relegated based on what factor last season? I never hear nobody backing Sheffied United's boss when he asked for a play off? Teams like Manu and Arsenal don't settle for 1-0 victories, they keep going for more and yes at times they lose out.

Chelsea on the other hand score 1 and lock shop. You think if Chelsea was leading in the GD column he would mek such an idiotic recommendation? Him sounding like someopne from the Clinton camp .. wanting to change the rules when things not looking up fi dem. How many of us here were upset that Barca lost La Liga after finishing on the same amount of points and had a better GD than Real Madrid?

Dem have buss ass coming in Moscow already .. dem simply need to be patient.

Agree....just threw a bone to see if you would have to grab some blood pressure pills.

Kinda get de feeling dem expect fi win de CL, they should be careful.
              They are playing Man U, it can and likely will be embarrassing for Chelsea.

Blessed

Come on carvy, hug it up. Just do what Chelsea needs to do which is win. Leave the rest up to God / fate.

This year the outcome comes down to the final day, which makes it very interesting for the fans. A run away winner who is decided with say four games to go is really anticlimactic. However, I don't think a playoff is needed. Knowing that there is a playoff might change the strategy of how teams approach the season. We don't need an NFL/NHL type format.

Anyway, The FA Cup plus the CL provide enough other challenges without throwing something else into the mix.

pr