Bora showing his wits

• Bora showing his wits

.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Bora deal near</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline>Davies commits US$500,000 towards coach's salary</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>BY IAN BURNETT Sports Editor
    Saturday, October 14, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Finance Minister Dr Omar Davies yesterday brought Serbian football coach Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic closer to inking a deal with the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) as the nation's next technical director, after the Government committed US$500,000 per year for the next four years towards his salary.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Dr Davies made the disclosure at a well-attended business luncheon, hosted by the Gleaner Company.
    According to the finance minister, the financial commitment will be shared by the Government and a private sector company, which he did not identify.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=330 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Serbian football coach Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic (left) is about to get into a car at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in Kingston yesterday. Assisting him is JFF president Crenston Boxhill. (Photo: Naphtali Junior) </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>The 62-year-old Milutinovic, the only man to have coached five different teams at the World Cup Finals - Mexico (1986), Costa Rica (1990), the United States (1994), Nigeria (1998), and China (2002) - is in the island on a five-day "familiarisation trip", following a two-day meeting with JFF president Crenston Boxhill in Mexico last week.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Milutinovic is yet to sign a contract, but following the outpouring of support at yesterday's luncheon, it appears only a matter of time.
    "His is a familiarisation visit to continue the discussion that we have started, and hopefully to finalise these discussions in the very near future," an upbeat Boxhill told Sporting World yesterday.<P class=StoryText align=justify>He added that a part of the coach's visit, was to "meet with the various stakeholders. We did that today and it was a well-attended meeting with a wide cross-section of the private sector and it was well received".<P class=StoryText align=justify>The JFF boss was not prepared to divulge any information regarding the coach's salary, but a Sporting World source said that it "appears to be around the US$1 million" mark.<P class=StoryText align=justify>However, Boxhill did admit that a number of companies had shown an interest in supporting the bid to sign Milutinovic, "especially after he addressed the luncheon for about 15 minutes".
    Some of the companies reported to have been at the meeting are Wray &amp; Nephew, TankWeld, and Digicel.
    Meanwhile, speaking with Sporting World as he toured the JFF headquarters yesterday, Bora admitted that he had all but signed the contract.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The man who is also the first coach to take four different teams beyond the first round of the World Cup Finals (all the above except China), was confident he would be the next technical director of Jamaica's football and he was looking forward to the job.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"A chance to go in Africa is exciting. I think Jamaica have a good chance to go as CONCACAF has four spots... 10 countries competing for three-and-a-half spots. It is possible to go there (South Africa)," said the man who speaks five languages fluently - Serbian, English, Spanish, French and Italian - as well as five other languages in parts.<P class=StoryText align=justify>However, he called for patience from everybody.
    "We need to have patience to find good players with the best personalities to play for the national team," he said. "I need to watch players throughout the country before selecting

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

RE: Bora showing his wits

I find it very difficult to agree with this. Victoria Jubilee Hospital does'nt have an autoclave, but we can find US$500,000 just suh!

At the same time, some of us complain that Bora is only here to qualify us for 2010 and will do nothing for long term development. Well, how serious are we about long term development? Are we really willing to support a football program for the long term, or do we have to find money that we really don't have to support the program, i.e., get to the next World Cup?

The Jamaican govt. cannot afford this and it's about time we all get our priorities right!

Mosiah (10/14/2006)I find it very difficult to agree with this. Victoria Jubilee Hospital does'nt have an autoclave, but we can find US$500,000 just suh!

Victoria Jubilee Hospital not a priority! Maintaing power is the priority, and Omar mussi believe him can save Clueless Crenston with US$500,000. Money deh bout, tis just an illusion when politicians say gov't nuh have the financial resources fi commit to healthcare, better roads, education & crime fighting etc.

US$500,000 is approximately J$33,000,000. Hmmm...ah wonder if is Trafig...nah!

Mosiah (10/14/2006)I find it very difficult to agree with this. Victoria Jubilee Hospital does'nt have an autoclave, but we can find US$500,000 just suh!

The Jamaican govt. cannot afford this and it's about time we all get our priorities right!
          How come you don't say that when JTB give millions of US dollars to a foreign ad agency to make a commercial?

Oh, sorry. I will make sure I comment on everything from here on! Even things I know nothing about!

Mosiah (10/14/2006)Oh, sorry. I will make sure I comment on everything from here on! Even things I know nothing about!
              You didn't know that the JTB pays $1 million US for those commercials you see on tv? You need to get out more. When the salary was reportedly $3 million dollar US a year yuh had a problem with it. Now that it's reportedly 3 times less than that yuh still find something to complain bout. Mek it had been a local black man dem hire fi coach di team yuh woulda bawl fi di government lock down Victoria Jubilee hospital fi pay him salary :hehe::hehe::hehe:

Yuh a look trouble dis mawnin.

The comparison is ludicrouth and not worth a comment from me!

What I want to know is what is the JFF plan to earn money?

So far they have not be able to earn one cent profit since they been in office. The $500,000 should be a loan to be paid back with interest after the world cup qualifier.

What I want to know is how is the government so generous and will this continue when the comrade is no no longer the President? Now when Burrell had his grouse with the government we all complain.

WHAT??? RU for real big man, so who was paying Rene when a Labourite was the president?

Unnu memory short or unnu just bias bad????

how much was the Government paying Rene? the government have never contributed 500,000 to any TD salary before.

Remember they started taking taxes from the Brazillians and they complained?

Sickko the 500,000 is in addition to the money given to the JFF.

Can you find out the total sum?

How long ago was Rene here and how have cost risen and salaries as well in that time? Figure that out then you cna have an argument.

Unnu just bias...even if the JFF had hired the best coach in the world or even if they had hired both Bora and Peckerman unnu would still find fault.

U$500,000.00 per year = (i.e if conversion rate is U$1.00 = J$65.00) J$32,500,000.00 per year.

Well Mr. Davis says thatwill be paid...is committed for 4 years!

....and, that would be -

J$32,500,000.00 x 4 years =J$130,000,000.00

Mr. Boxhill is quoted as saying that along with some private sector input, 60% of the money has been source. I wonderwhat faction of that 60% is the government's J$130,000,000.00?

BTW -If the entire government contribution was considered the sum total of that 60%...the total payment over 4 years would be somewhere in the region of $217million. Right?

Would Bora's final compensation be on or around J$266 million? Could it then be that what was meant in the earlier reports was that the total package...and, not yearly compensation...would be J$266 million?

Hey...one media house has the following quote, <P class=StoryText align=justify>"The JFF boss was not prepared to divulge any information regarding the coach's salary, but a Sporting World source said that it "appears to be around the US$1 million mark.<P class=StoryText align=justify>U$1 million, using that U$1.00being equivalent to J$65.00, would have a U$1,000,000.00 per yeartranslate into J$260,000,000.00 salary over 4 years.

Just asking?

BTW - My only problem with how the money is being spent is not that a Bora cannot command such a figure...but, could we have gotten in the light of where we want our football to be i.e. TOP OF THE WORLD, more value for our money?

Someone who could be the coach of the national senior team, who would potentially get better than Simoes' like results (i.e. not only visiting at the World Cup...but, getting Ghana-like results), aid in preparing a realdevelopment plan/strategy/action(s)...includingteaching the coaches of our age-group teams into producing quality results? Yes?

I damn well think so!The JFFboys...yes, boys... have not yet come to the realisation that merely having a senior team is not it!

Sickko you see your problem is only you one fi have opinion.

At least Mosiah is consistent on this.

My problem is not that they are giving the money but that as some stage I expect the JFF to be accountable. You can throw 100million at them and if they don't make basic decisions it make no sense.

You never see anything wrong with how the program run until after the disaster in England or you choose not see.

Reading and understanding is way underrated on this forum...show me where I said you are not entitled to an opinion big man?