It is funny how I stumbled upon him, last night on Gol TV

Originally posted by Mexxx View Post
    If his Father was Jamaican he would be Jamaican.

Position: Defensive Midfielder (central)
    Coming from Canada, Julián de Guzmán quickly realized that to become a quality player he needed to move away from Toronto to Europe. Being the eldest son of family with mother coming from Jamaica and father from the Filipinas, sport played an important part at home. His mother was an athlete and his father practised all kind of sports and is a huge fan of local basketball club Toronto Raptors. It’s not surprising that short De Guzmán (168 cm) didn’t have a future in that sport and his father made him, and his younger brother Jonathan, joining local football club North Scarborough.
    The turning point for De Guzmán at Depor came when he was included in the starting line-up for the home match against Real Madrid back in January, the team's opening fixture of 2007. De Guzmán started the matches of Depor’s run and was an important part of the team not leaking a goal for 451 minutes in a row. However, Deportivo couldn’t continue this run and finished the season anonymously. Still, De Guzmán made name and was one of the few high lights during the final months of the campaign. De Guzmán himself explained: "The home game against Madrid is when it all changed. It was the coach's last chance' if we would have lost that game he would have been fired so he played his last cards in that game, including me, and came out with the win and we played well”.
    I was watching the Depor game against Zaragosa (who won in stoppage time to stay in La Liga) last night and he stood out, with his Fro and all, and I said hmmm an Arsenal DM ( I am a scout for Big SidEEE!!!) since Flimsy gone.
    So I searched the web and low and behold found out his Mother is Jamaican, so I posted (with OJ in mind that he posted about this player but wasnt sure) to hear our comments.

how many degrees of seperation?
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

Originally posted by Mexxx View Post
      how many degrees of seperation?
      Good to know you keep updated, even if you don't post too often in the other forums.

dude.. we came from the same club.. I am not talking about something I read.. this is people I know..

mek him stay de. What him dont know bigga dan him.

So what about little brother Jonathan?

Originally posted by OJ View Post
            Mexx I have posted about this many times. There is a camp being run by Winston Chung Fah and some dudes from Belgium and Bobby the proud pap says I want my boys to play for Jamaica as he did not like how they were being treated in Canada.. the reply was.. da bredda gwan like him youth wicked.. mi can find better than them pon any corner a Jamaica One kid now plays for Fynoord and will playfor holland and the other you wrote about. Fact is they had actually faxed the Jff about Julian but got no reply..
            If Jonathan is good enough to stand a chance to the Dutch team them he should be good enough to make the Jamaican Team.

The Philippines was also an option for both brothers.

Doubt they ever gave it much consideration, however...

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                The Philippines was also an option for both brothers.

Doubt they ever gave it much consideration, however...
                Insightful.

uhmmm.. not really..

Guess it was my not-so-successful attempt at a 'pick me up' for you guys.

You know, kind of like: "Don't take it so hard, Jamaica. You weren't the only country deemed an inferior choice!"

Something like that.

And a hell of a lot of thanks I get for trying! Ingrates...

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                      Guess it was my not-so-successful attempt at a 'pick me up' for you guys.

You know, kind of like: "Don't take it so hard, Jamaica. You weren't the only country deemed an inferior choice!"

Something like that.

And a hell of a lot of thanks I get for trying! Ingrates...
                      why it would you consider it your task to give Jamaica a "pick me up"?

why would would you feel that anything you may say would be consequential enough to inspire Jamaicans?

Seems that you are barking up the wrong tree fellow.

Originally posted by pHoQrY View Post
                        are u serious...u dont know de guzman...look how long he be playing for canada. he's a terror in our sides everytime we play against canada iya.

he never even considered jamaica...straight canada

Jonathon is the one who is eligible at the moment
                        our ttff press officer did an interview with him at last years Gold cup and his dad did fax jamaica oh and he also listed latapy as his idol