• Flamini seals switch to AC Milan

Flamini seals switch to AC Milan

Flamini has been in impressive form for Arsenal this season

AC Milan have completed the signing of Mathieu Flamini from Arsenal on a four-year deal.

The French international, whose deal at the Emirates ran out this summer, has passed a medical and agreed terms to stay at the San Siro until 2012.

The departure will come as a blow to Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger, who had offered the 24-year-old a new deal.

Flamini had been a key player this season, making 39 starts in midfield and scoring three times.

While Milan vice-president Adriano Galliani moved to play down fan fears that Flamini had been signed to replace Gennaro Gattuso, the player himself expressed his delight at the move.

Having spent three seasons drifting in and out of the Arsenal starting team, Flamini secured a place in central midfield alongside Cesc Fabregas, keeping Gilberto Silva out the team.
    He also made his breakthrough at international level, winning his first cap in a friendly against Morocco last November.

But for all Flamini's importance to Arsenal, highlighted by a superb performance as they won 2-0 in Milan in the Champions League, Wenger had been forced to concede that the player could be tempted elsewhere.

Flamini's move to Milan will not be the first time he has left a manager disappointed. He was a key player for Marseille, playing in the 2004 Uefa Cup final, but left for Arsenal without a transfer fee changing hands as he had yet to sign a professional contract.

At the time of his move to north London, Marseille coach Jose Anigo said: "He's a traitor - this is a beautiful treason."

While Flamini will battle with Kaka, Andrea Pirlo, Gattuso and Massimo Ambrosini for a place in the Rossoneri's midfield, Wenger is left searching for a suitable replacement.

That search for midfield reinforcements could become even more pressing if Alexander Hleb follows Flamini to Italy, with Inter Milan being reportedly interested.

Wenger slams Inter move for Hleb

Hleb has played his last game for Arsenal this season

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger has warned Inter Milan they will be reported to Fifa if they continue their 'illegal' pursuit of Alexander Hleb.

Inter coach Roberto Mancini has confirmed Hleb is one of the players the Italian club "would like to sign".

But Wenger has slammed their attempt to sign the 26-year-old Belarus winger as 'totally unacceptable.'

"For a club to come out with a statement like that...I think it is disrespectful. It is illegal," he said.

"We will not accept that between big clubs. If I want a player from Inter Milan, I call Inter Milan," added Wenger.

"If they are interested, why do they not call me? If I want to buy someone, I call the chairman and I ask him if he is for sale."

Earlier this season, it was reported that former Stuttgart midfielder Hleb, 26, held secret talks with Inter while in the city ahead of Arsenal's Champions League game against rivals AC Milan at the San Siro.

Hleb has played his last club game of the current campaign after being handed a three-match suspension by the Football Association for slapping Reading captain Graeme Murty during last week's Premier League encounter at the Emirates Stadium.

He is reported to be unsettled at the club as speculation over his future continues.

But Wenger insists that Hleb is still part of his plans and wants him to stay at the club.

"We want to keep the team together, I do not change my mind every week. I am quite stable on that front," said Wenger "Under the new rules a player can buy out his contract, but not Inter Milan. If Inter Milan wants to buy a player they have to call me."

why didnt Chelsea or United go after Flamini?

Flamini seals switch to AC Milan

Flamini has been in impressive form for Arsenal this season

AC Milan have completed the signing of Mathieu Flamini from Arsenal on a four-year deal.

The French international, whose deal at the Emirates ran out this summer, has passed a medical and agreed terms to stay at the San Siro until 2012.

The departure will come as a blow to Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger, who had offered the 24-year-old a new deal.

Flamini had been a key player this season, making 39 starts in midfield and scoring three times.

While Milan vice-president Adriano Galliani moved to play down fan fears that Flamini had been signed to replace Gennaro Gattuso, the player himself expressed his delight at the move.

Having spent three seasons drifting in and out of the Arsenal starting team, Flamini secured a place in central midfield alongside Cesc Fabregas, keeping Gilberto Silva out the team.
      He also made his breakthrough at international level, winning his first cap in a friendly against Morocco last November.

But for all Flamini's importance to Arsenal, highlighted by a superb performance as they won 2-0 in Milan in the Champions League, Wenger had been forced to concede that the player could be tempted elsewhere.

Flamini's move to Milan will not be the first time he has left a manager disappointed. He was a key player for Marseille, playing in the 2004 Uefa Cup final, but left for Arsenal without a transfer fee changing hands as he had yet to sign a professional contract.

At the time of his move to north London, Marseille coach Jose Anigo said: "He's a traitor - this is a beautiful treason."

While Flamini will battle with Kaka, Andrea Pirlo, Gattuso and Massimo Ambrosini for a place in the Rossoneri's midfield, Wenger is left searching for a suitable replacement.

That search for midfield reinforcements could become even more pressing if Alexander Hleb follows Flamini to Italy, with Inter Milan being reportedly interested.

Or dem nuh rate him
      http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

Originally posted by Mexxx View Post
        Or dem nuh rate him
        Who Flamini gonna start ahead of at the Empire? Carrick and Hargreves is already there. I read he is getting 144,000 quid per week. Milan have money fi waste?

I saw 144K/week and said

Who Flamini gonna start ahead of at the Empire? Carrick and Hargreves is already there. I read he is getting 144,000 quid per week. Milan have money fi waste?
          that was impossible for a DM.

and if that is the case, Arsenal cannot keep players away from Milan (Inter or AC). The city is the fashion capital of the world and I hear it is beautiful and romantic. So if they pay 144,000 per week for Flusyini how much are they paying Kaka, Pirlo, the Black Pearl, Pato, and the entire defensive line?
          http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

Tilla's most quoted newspaper The Sun, states

Originally posted by Mexxx View Post
            that was impossible for a DM.

and if that is the case, Arsenal cannot keep players away from Milan (Inter or AC). The city is the fashion capital of the world and I hear it is beautiful and romantic. So if they pay 144,000 per week for Flusyini how much are they paying Kaka, Pirlo, the Black Pearl, Pato, and the entire defensive line?
            He has broken into the France national team and is expected to be a key member for Les Bleus in Euro 2008.

Flamini caught Milan's eye a few months ago when Arsenal dumped the Italians out of the Champions League. Until then, Juventus seemed favourites to get him as they were offering Flamini a bit more than Arsenal.

Despite being a childhood Juventus fan, in the end Flamini chose Milan who've offered him close to £70,000 a week - nearly double the £40,000 a week that Arsenal offered.

Mexxx, I heard Arsenal offered &50,000 a week

Who would want to leave such a good team with great prospects?
              And it appears Wenger is worried about a mass exodus.
              Do you think Henry will be back?

Blessed

Blessed

hey..if th14 can be let go everyone is fair game!

Who would want to leave such a good team with great prospects?
                  And it appears Wenger is worried about a mass exodus.
                  Do you think Henry will be back?

Blessed

Blessed
                  WHAT MASS EXODUS ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT ?

this is ironic.. in the sense that we lost Diaharra and most likely Gilberto to the preference (rightly so to Flamini)..

could be a player having a great season and will return to his watermark..

dont know about Henry.. He would not be back in the same role. Its now a more rounded team. I would love to see him back still. I would be annoyed if he showed up in a Chelsea shirt..

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                          WHAT MASS EXODUS ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT ?
                          WILLIS!?!

Flamini will get his money...but will he accomplish anything tangible on the football field with his new team?

Seems lke a good money move...
                            ...but football move????

Cannot blame him for taking the money...there is...and shall be life outside of and after football!

Karl, yuh talking as if he moved to...Arsenal! Flamini moved to AC Milan!!! How can you see it's not a good football move?!?