JAMAICA’S SENIOR FOOTBALL TEAM……… A TEAM IN TRANSITION……. CHALLENGES AND IMMENSE POTENTIAL

• JAMAICA’S SENIOR FOOTBALL TEAM……… A TEAM IN TRANSITION……. CHALLENGES AND IMMENSE POTENTIAL

<SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 16pt">[b]<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: center" align=center><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 16pt">JAMAICA’S SENIOR FOOTBALL TEAM……… A TEAM IN TRANSITION……. CHALLENGES AND IMMENSE POTENTIAL<o></o></SPAN><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: center" align=center><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">(This is the second of a series of articles from the Jamaica Football Federation. Next we look at Coaching Realities in Jamaica)<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">The focus of the nation over the last few weeks on the Senior National Men’s team necessitated a holding back of the promise to do a feature on the team.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">This was a conscious decision because it allows us to look at the very complex issues surrounding the senior team with the distinct advantage of recent actual play and performance in varying circumstances……… at home and away, in conditions of a tournament as against friendly internationals, with all local based players on one hand and with the ‘foreign legion’, so named by the media, combined with the local based players in another.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">This presented a good combination of circumstances to do a realistic review with real life play as the guide as opposed to speculation.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">These set of circumstances combined with our knowledge as to what had taken place with this Senior team over the last two years, i.e. winning the Caribbean Cup in 2005, fairly good results against teams like Guatemala and then playing games against better opposition, USA (draw) England,(loss), Ghana (loss) should, I stress should, allow for a more objective analysis.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Over the last fortnight we have seen the team win two of the three Digicel Caribbean Cup matches with a team comprised totally of our locally born, grown and exposed talent but not doing well enough to move forward to the next round.<SPAN style="mso-spacerun: yes"> </SPAN>A similar situation existed with the away loss to Canada, with a slight variation in that the team there had a sprinkling of overseas players.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><?xml:namespace prefix = v ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:vml" /><v:rect id=_x0000_s1026 style="MARGIN-TOP: 11.15pt; Z-INDEX: 1; LEFT: 0px; MARGIN-LEFT: -18pt; WIDTH: 522pt; POSITION: absolute; HEIGHT: 45pt; TEXT-ALIGN: left" stroked="f"></v:rect><SPAN style="Z-INDEX: 1; LEFT: 0pt; POSITION: absolute"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: #ece9d8; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; BORDER-BOTTOM: #ece9d8; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparen

RE: JAMAICA’S SENIOR FOOTBALL TEAM……… A TEAM IN TRANSITION……. CHALLENGES AND IMMENSE POTENTIAL

You know I have read this twice now and I have to say I cannot figure exactly what the purpose of this report was. Mo you are an insider....what exactly are they trying to tell us? Thanks in advance. - T.K.

RE: JAMAICA’S SENIOR FOOTBALL TEAM……… A TEAM IN TRANSITION……. CHALLENGES AND IMMENSE POTENTIAL

T.K. (10/13/2006)You know I have read this twice now and I have to say I cannot figure exactly what the purpose of this report was. Mo you are an insider....what exactly are they trying to tell us? Thanks in advance. - T.K.
      These releases from the JFF are atrocious. Why do they continue to butcher the english language? TK they are giving themselves an excuse if they fail to qualify for WC 2010. They will just say they didn't get the support to have a local based team in constant preparation.

You did better than me BT. I kept reading it over and over and still have yet to find what exactly they are trying to get across.More times than notit is better to write a five paragraph release and done.

The first thing any first year communications majorlearns is the#1 rule of communication.......whatever you have to say, say it inas fewwordsas possible.Atrocious is the right word. Boxhill should do the right thing and have Mosiah write his releases for him. Mo has more talents than just being a yes man.Deyouth can write! - T.K.

:w00t::w00t: Yuh a real trouble-maker!!!!
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

<DIV>
            T.K. (10/13/2006)Deyouth can write! - T.K.
            </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Heh heh! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I agree. (Not about di youth!) It wasn't the best-written article. Had the writer used some subheadings, it would have helped. That would force her to not stray. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Anyway! The points were, apart from being many and varied...geez! Let me see:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>1) They will have the teams in continuous training</DIV><DIV>2) They will adapt the "adopt a player" program to offset the financial burdens of the football program</DIV><DIV>3) Foreign-based ballers are not necessarily better than local-based.</DIV><DIV>4) Things have changed since 1995</DIV><DIV>5) Erm...there must have been some other point.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>On a side note, I gave Fuller a pretty low score on his performance the other day. On watching the game the other day, I probably could raise his score by a point, and that of Stew Peas as well. But the best thing the captain did that day was to applaud the fans. You could see him summon to the other players to circle the stadium and thank the spectators for their support after the game, even while some players, sadly, seemed bothered by the gesture. That is no small thing! Well-done, Captain! </DIV>

I am loving the work by Janis and Garth. Interesting piece! ...as was the previous article.

Later I'll make comments on the article...points on which I agree, those on which tweeking the facts, I think, was done...and,some general comments.

To Janis and Garth: Keep up the good work!

Karl (10/13/2006)I am loving the work by Janis and Garth. To Janis and Garth: Keep up the good work!
                Did you say you used to be a teacher? Well at least we know it wasn't an ENGLISH teacher :hehe:

Ah....now that is what I am talking about.Mo for Press Officer!

I really think the hiring of Bora will bring some well needed excitement back into the program. While we won't be able to play in the Gold Cup I do believe we now have a coach with the credibility to bringthe local and foreign based Boyz onboard with the program. So as much as I cuss Boxhill daily today I will give him his kudos on a job well done. It will be nice to see the senior team actually building towards the 2010 qualifyers. - T.K.

I'm sure it's not JANIS. Please don't mess up her name!

T.K. (10/13/2006)You did better than me BT. I kept reading it over and over and still have yet to find what exactly they are trying to get across.More times than notit is better to write a five paragraph release and done.

The first thing any first year communications majorlearns is the#1 rule of communication.......whatever you have to say, say it inas fewwordsas possible.Atrocious is the right word. Boxhill should do the right thing and have Mosiah write his releases for him. Mo has more talents than just being a yes man.Deyouth can write! - T.K.
                      I accept the articles for what they are - 1. to engage the fanz in discourse and, 2. to lead the discussion...naturally in a direction favourable to the current JFF administration.

Nutten wrang wid dat! The how?...of the presentation andleading of the discussion is very important.I think in the two articlesthe job is well done.

The fanz are not being hammered over the head on this administration is 'the greatest thing since slice bread'...but have are some pointers on where the adminstration is trying to go; here are some of the obstacles in its path; subtle..ever so subtle?...the previous administration had a better path/set of circumstances within which to work...or at the very least that path is different from that (presented?) on which this adminstration has to trod...

...steps are being taken to adapt to the 'new path'. Come walk wid wi dun dis yah road! ...i.e. deflection of the fanz ire!

It is a good move...good attempt. Will it work?!

...Naturally only if the back office work by Boxhill and crew gain positive results.Yup! Boxhill and the crew mustpresent tangible results...and, super quickly to quiet the fanz...appease the footballcommunity, the fanz and Jamaica....or, 'off with their heads'!

Have to come back to the two articles - Good work!

Bricktop (10/13/2006)
                        Karl (10/13/2006)I am loving the work by Janis and Garth. To Janis and Garth: Keep up the good work!
                        Did you say you used to be a teacher? Well at least we know it wasn't an ENGLISH teacher :hehe:
                        As a teacher you have to know when to mark for English! This is an occasion when use of English is very important...but, I take the line that it is the attempt to engage minds on problems in the football industry/running the JFF/national football programs and 'steering' the 'football people'/stakeholders in the direction the JFF wishes that is 'the aim'.

Yup! The teacher thinks that is what should be dealt with here. Again...I think, the writer has made a good attempt.

Mosiah (10/13/2006)I'm sure it's not JANIS. Please don't mess up her name!
                          Please accept apologies! Janice it is!

Please accept my apology, Ms.Janice Rose-Brown.

I am truly sorry!

Excuse me but what is he saying is dis football or politics