• Man Utd could crack, says Grant

Man Utd could crack, says Grant

Grant is hopeful United will falter under pressure

Chelsea boss Avram Grant believes Manchester United will struggle to win their last two Premier League games.

Grant's team beat United 2-1 on Saturday to move level on points at the top of the table.

United, who face games against West Ham (home) and Wigan (away), top the table with a vastly superior goal difference.

But Grant said: "It is not easy when you are under pressure to win two games. We hope that we are happy at the end of the season."
    Michael Ballack put Chelsea ahead at Stamford Bridge in a game they had to win to stand any realistic chance of winning the title.

The victory is for Frank and his family
    Michael Ballack

Wayne Rooney equalised after a mistake by Ricardo Carvalho but Ballack struck the winner from the penalty spot after 86 minutes following a handball by Michael Carrick.

And Grant added: "We did what we needed to do. We won the game and put them under pressure.

Grants says Chelsea dominated the game

"This team has a lot of character and we played good football today."

Victory at Stamford Bridge would have effectively guaranteed United the title, but nothing will be decided now until at least Monday, 5 May, when Chelsea travel to face Newcastle two days after United host West Ham.
    If United beat the Hammers, Chelsea will need at least a point at St James' Park to ensure the race goes to the final day, when the Blues play relegation-threatened Bolton at home.

Grant added: "We won against Arsenal at Stamford Bridge and now Manchester United but we need to make sure we win our last two games."

Skipper John Terry felt the result against United showed that Chelsea are good enough to win the title.
    "We want to win this Premier League and take the title from Manchester United," said the Blues skipper. "I think we showed we can match anyone on our day."

After Ballack's opening goal, several Chelsea players held aloft a replica shirt with Pat Lampard RIP on the back, a reference to the mother of absent team-mate Frank, who died this week.

And Grant said after the match: "I want to express my sympathy to Frank Lampard.
    "We are thinking about him. It has been a tough week for him. I hope he feels good as soon as possible.
    "You saw the players with the shirt after the goal. We are a big family at Chelsea." Goalscorer Ballack said: "We have to say the victory is for Frank and his family at this difficult time."

Grant must be on crack....

Chelsea throw away the title from the wigan game thanks to Grant inability to change what is not working on time. Chelsea was lucky this time because the ref made some bad calls howbeit against manu this time around.

Drogba kick Vidic ina him mouth then gwaan like a no purpose..

What the hell was that between Drogba and Ballack?

Chelsea and Arsenal do not have no respected leadership thus their demise.

Yu think them foolishness could gwaan while Alex Ferguson is on the bench.

Mi want Grant leggo Drogba and Anelka pon Liverpool..

Remember Chelsea's points total?
      Do we believe Wenger of Arsenal and his Arsenal team are good?
      The media hype...and frankly the forum hype would have you believe that Grant was a mess and Chelsea is and has been doing terribly.

Well? Grant must have been doing something right! Chelsea has done very, very well this season...even if so far the cupboard is bare!

When all things are considered - Final against Tottenham...current position in the Champion League...position in the EPL...??? The facts state there can only be one conclusion - Chelsea has done well! Grant was done well! Just the facts!
      Last edited by Karl; April 28, 2008, 01:52 AM.

Fletcher: We Must Pick Ourselves Up
        Darren Fletcher insists Manchester United must bounce back immediately following their loss to Chelsea at the weekend.

The Red Devils were sunk by a late Michael Ballack penalty as they went down 2-1 at Stamford Bridge to let the hosts draw level on points and blow the Premier League race wide open.

United host Barcelona on Tuesday in the return leg of their Champions League semi-final, needing to win outright or secure another goalless draw after playing out a 0-0 at Camp Nou last week.

And Fletcher insists he and his team-mates cannot afford to mope about missed opportunities, but must instead focus on righting themselves for this crucial period of the season.

Fuel

"The most important thing is to pick ourselves up," he said. "We've got some big games coming up now.

"We've got to use this anger and we've got to fuel it in the right direction and focus on Barcelona and then those two league games.

"We did have some chances but unfortunately it did not just happen for us.

"As time goes on, naturally you start to drop back a little bit because you've got the point, which is a good result for you.

"But in the end they have got the penalty and won the game."

Bearable

Fletcher played the whole 90 minutes against Chelsea after returning from a knee injury that has hampered most of his season.

And while the Scotland international admits he might not be fully match-fit just yet, he insists he is in good shape.

"I feel good," said the 24-year-old. "I was worn out a little bit in the last couple of minutes but that is natural.

"The knee is still a little bit painful but it's at a bearable level now so I can play."

Mike Maguire

No doubt Man U's destiny is in its hand(Fergie's).He has to put his best foot forward, a goal fest is due.
          I would think Grant is aware Chelsea could also crack, West Ham is never an easy game but my money is on Man U.What will likely happen(as a result of Chelsea's victory) is the end of the EPL season will be more cruel and agonizing for Chelsea.
          U R all invited to a fish fry Tuesday, well seasoned Barca will be served.
          A fish of lesser quality will have to do on the last day.

Blessed

Blessed

I'm ****************ed at what Fergie did ... but after seeing that Barca rested most of their players on Saturday ... can we blame Fergie?

He saw that he had room to take a chance since win, lose or draw the Empire would still be on course to win the title. And after watching the EPL review ... I'm curious how Manu didn't get a penalty for the foul on Carrick, nor when Ballack was holding down Ronaldo.

It appears Roman money came into play.

So you think the Ref has cost you the points and maybe title

I'm ****************ed at what Fergie did ... ... I'm curious how Manu didn't get a penalty for the foul on Carrick, nor when Ballack was holding down Ronaldo.

It appears Roman money came into play.
              Well maybe you can understand how I feel?
              http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif