• JFF upbeat

Wednesday, April 23, 2008
    JFF upbeat...
    ...after positive dialogue with English FA

London, England - Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) boss, Captain Horace Burrell, and its general secretary, Horace Reid, left a meeting with representatives of the English Football Association (the FA) at Wembley Stadium here yesterday in an upbeat mood, believing they are close to writing off a near J$22-million debt.

BURRELL... the FA has been receptive to all our requests

Following a near half-hour meeting with the FA's Simon Johnson, director of corporate affairs, and Jane Bateman, head of international relations, after a brief tour of the new Wembley Stadium, the JFF proposed that the FA uses the debt of £153,431.94 to aid the development of Jamaican football, which would ultimately benefit English football.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...282&category=1

The JFF has been indebted to the English FA following the game between Jamaica and England at Old Trafford on June 3, 2006 , after it was presented with 9,118 tickets to sell to Jamaican fans for the game England won 6-0.

The tickets were sold for £25 each, which would total £227,950, but the JFF failed to hand over the agreed portion of sales to the FA.
    Of that sum, according to JFF documents, 204 tickets were unsold, which would total £5,100. There was a match fee of £48,648.65 and airfare and accommodation fee of £20,769.41, resulting in the current debt of £153,431.94.
    Who negotiated this?

Burrell and Reid

What a ting!

They are close to writing off a near J$22-million debt for the benefit of developing Jamaican football. Only the captain could pull this off.

"Captain Burrell and Reid arrived in London yesterday morning and are scheduled to travel to Turin, Italy today for final discussions with an equipment sponsor."

Which sportwear company is headquartered in Turin? Diadora, Lotto, Fila?

Ah, Kappa is headquartered in Turin!

Hey, we might as well go all the way to ensure that lightning strikes twice in the exact same spot!

Ahem?

The JFF has been indebted to the English FA following the game between Jamaica and England at Old Trafford on June 3, 2006 , after it was presented with 9,118 tickets to sell to Jamaican fans for the game England won 6-0.

The tickets were sold for £25 each, which would total £227,950, but the JFF failed to hand over the agreed portion of sales to the FA.
            Of that sum, according to JFF documents, 204 tickets were unsold, which would total £5,100. There was a match fee of £48,648.65 and airfare and accommodation fee of £20,769.41, resulting in the current debt of £153,431.94.
            The above could be saying the JFF then bosses carried 'out' £153,431.94...the balance after expenses...right?

btw - In Jamaica dollars what is £153,431.94?

...and, if my memory serves me right, we should not forget the then JFF bosses got all the JFF's expenses pre-paid/sponsored? Am I correct on that? If I am the take from sale of tickets advanced by the English FA was all taken 'out' by our then JFF bosses...right?

...anyway you look at it that was good dunny...right?

It simple mean Jamaica vote for world cup host will go to ENGLAND. Tit fi Tat and butter fi Fish.

"Captain Burrell and Reid arrived in London yesterday morning and are scheduled to travel to Turin, Italy today for final discussions with an equipment sponsor."

Which sportwear company is headquartered in Turin? Diadora, Lotto, Fila?

Ah, Kappa is headquartered in Turin!

Hey, we might as well go all the way to ensure that lightning strikes twice in the exact same spot!
                ...don't get caught up in the 'brand name'?
                Kindly consider the possibility that, say a Nike or Puma may offer less (...including a less of 'nothing'...no contract ) than the relatively unknown Kappa?

It is the financial rewards that we are best able to garner that is important. Not saying you should not wonder on the matter...but suggesting a look at 'the totality'?

Right now we better pray that we nuh play gainst some ruff defenders cause if them ever tear a few a we Jersey we may can't play no more games.

2 years without a Kit sponsor? We may have to look to Free Zone.

Go repossesed all of the past administrators expensive cars

as a start..Sell J.f.f real estate,sell the academy a St.elizabeth before termite take full control, Get rid of some of the national coaches,fired all of the confederation president and assigned that duty to reid,pay Simoes assistants same as our local assistants or send them home. Get a game against England and Australia in London. Try and arranged caribana 3 team tournanment (Trini,canucks and reggae boyzs) at BMO field in toronto. Play portugal in toronto in future international date or offseason.

Play Cuba in miami ..
                    Invited the ecaudorian team that beat us in the final of the youth tournanment in jamaica.

Reduce some of the administrators travelling expenses.

if that can't pay off some of our debts then start a money laundering scheme for soccer nations.

Karl, what are you on about? I am simply guessing which company they are talking to since the report said they will be going to Turin to talk to a kit sponsor. Kappa has Turin HQs. Puma doesn't and neither does Nike.

Where did all the rest of your post come from!?!?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                        What a ting!

They are close to writing off a near J$22-million debt for the benefit of developing Jamaican football. Only the captain could pull this off.
                        And you talk about pulling this off in only a half an hour of discussion. Amazing!
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Let us rule out Diadora, as they are in Giavera del Montello which is more than 4 hours drive to Turin.

Next, we can slash Fila as they are a South Korean company with headquaters in Seoul. Although it does not mean that any of them could not have their people meet them in Turin.

That leaves us with Lotto and Kappa. . .
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Karl, what are you on about? I am simply guessing which company they are talking to since the report said they will be going to Turin to talk to a kit sponsor. Kappa has Turin HQs. Puma doesn't and neither does Nike.

Where did all the rest of your post come from!?!?
                            Sorry! I thought there was a hidden message - dat wi should duh betta dan guh a hit-tal-ly?

Well, now that u mention it, I thought we were going for the big guns, like adidas or Nike. Kappa is not in that league, so expect a wicked spin job if all we can get is Kappa.