• Villan mash up Birmingham 5-1

Aston Villa 5-1 Birmingham

By Phil Harlow

Young had a fine game in front of the watching Fabio Capello

Ashley Young and John Carew both scored twice as Aston Villa outclassed Birmingham, keeping their local rivals deep in relegation trouble.
    Young's rasping shot gave Villa the lead and Carew nodded home the winger's free-kick shortly before the break.
    Carew tapped in from close range for Villa's third and Young beat two players before scoring his second goal.
    Mikael Forsell scored a consolation for Birmingham, but there was still time for Gabriel Agbonlahor to grab a fifth.
    Villa have now scored 15 goals in their last three Premier League games, conceding just one in the process, as they keep the pressure on Everton for a Uefa Cup place.
    Birmingham enjoyed a decent spell of possession early on, culminating in an effort at goal from David Murphy, but the visitors failed to really test Villa keeper Scott Carson.
    The home side soon began to stamp their authority on the game as they over-ran Birmingham in midfield, with Carew going close with a header from an inswinging corner and the influential Gareth Barry firing narrowly wide with a snap-shot from inside the area.
    Birmingham, with in-form striker Mauro Zarate desperately short of service up front, were almost non-existent as an attacking force, and Villa had the next chance - Barry's free-kick drawing a reasonable save from Maik Taylor.
    Stiliyan Petrov's swirling effort caused problems for the Blues keeper, and the dam finally burst when Olof Mellberg's mi**************** pass bounced into Young's path.
    606: DEBATE

What a superb performance - Ashley Young was pure class

Fawke101

With England coach Fabio Capello among the 42,640 sell-out crowd, Young did his international prospects the power of good as he unleashed a fantastic effort past Taylor and into the bottom corner.
    There was a hint of controversy in the build-up though, with referee Mark Clattenburg breaking up a confrontation between Young and Mehdi Nafti with a full-blooded shove to the Birmingham defender's chest as play went on.
    Undoubtedly fired up by the unexpected intervention, Nafti beat two players in a narrow space moments later before firing over for the Blues.
    But it was not long before Villa surged further ahead, as Young's accurate free-kick found an unmarked Carew inside the six-yard box, allowing the big striker to nod home from point-blank range.
    It was more of the same after the break, with Birmingham's defensive frailties ruthlessly exposed by a rampant Villa.
    Young was involved again as his long ball found Barry - coming back from a borderline offside position - and the England midfielder unselfishly squared for Carew to guide the ball into an empty net.
    With the match effectively over as a contest, Young scored his second on 63 minutes, beating two players before firing a low shot towards goal.
    Taylor saved the initial effort but the ball bounced perfectly into the 22-year-old's path and he slotted home to cap an excellent individual display.
    With his team's fans pouring out of the ground by the minute, Blues substitute Forssell - on for Zarate, who had a mini-tantrum as he left the pitch - cut the gap after a good passing move.
    But the final goal went the home side's way after a howler from ex-Villa defender Liam Ridgwell allowed Agbonlahor to race through the middle and slide the ball into the centre of the goal.
    It sealed his side's biggest derby win since 1988 - and kept Birmingham in the bottom three of the table.

Birmingham boss Alex McLeish:
    "We were on the end of a bruising from a really good Villa side.
    "Villa's front men were on fire and we were unable to string any passes together until the second half.
    "You have to say that Villa's agenda is totally different to our's - the bottom line is that they are a better team.
    "It's all about our next three games - we have to take as many points from those games as we can. This match doesn't mean we're going down
    "I can take some things from the game and we have been a different team at home."

Aston Villa: Carson, Mellberg (Harewood 85), Laursen, Knight, Bouma, Young, Reo-Coker, Petrov, Barry, Carew, Agbonlahor.
    Subs Not Used: Taylor, Salifou, Routledge, Berger.
    Goals: Young 28, Carew 42, 53, Young 63, Agbonlahor 78.
    Birmingham: Maik Taylor, Kelly, Jaidi, Ridgewell, Murphy, Jerome (Kapo 58), Nafti, Muamba, McSheffrey, Zarate (Forssell 58), McFadden.
    Subs Not Used: Doyle, O'Connor, Parnaby.
    Booked: McFadden.
    Goals: Forssell 67.
    Ref: Mark Clattenburg (Tyne & Wear).
    BBC Sport Player Rater man of the match: Aston Villa's Ashley Young 8.68 (on 90 minutes). Please note that you can still give the players marks out of 10 on BBC Sport's Player Rater after the match has finished.
    Player Rater

Them have nuff $20m striker?

Great news for Bolton.

yes bolton must be smiling, the next two games are winable for Bolton.

You mean all three a them togather? Young, Carew and Gabi? Maybe you coulda package them fi 20 Million.

Lie you a tell. the way them a play is must at least $20 million for each of them.

If them nuh cost that much maybe Liverpool could get Agbonglohor to replace Dirt Kuyt. Maybe that will satisfy X little bit.

You nuh hear Gareth Barry a them target in the summer?

With all those 20 million pound strikers are they challenging for any titles this season or any C.L position ?

What is the ambition next season with such a dearth of strikers is it relegation , FA cup or C.L spot ? just keep it realistic.

Does 5-1 or 6-0 or 13-0 ,love mek a season ? yuh come een like de man wha go watch ball game fe si man pile man and stone man whey score toe punch goal.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

How much unu spend on Kuyt?

8- 10 your point ? have you answered my question ? what is your clubs ambition what are you challenging for in over a 100 years of existence , this season and the season to come be realistic ?

Pile and 6-0 nuh win championships , its consistency.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

My club? who dat.

8-10! sound like pool could have gotten much better than Kuyt.

8- 10 your point ? have you answered my question ? what is your clubs ambition what are you challenging for in over a 100 years of existence , this season and the season to come be realistic ?

Pile and 6-0 nuh win championships , its consistency.
                        Hey ... mi nuh know why Sass and Me questioning you .... afterall .. ypu should know that 6-0 nuh win championship.

Is only a blind fan cannot see what ONeil has done at Aston Villa. Pay attention to how real coach build a team.

Is only Oniel a build Mid table Club ? when dem can occupy a top 4 spot talk to me, last year dem say a spurs a do it . year before bolton ,year before new castle , etc etc .

I am sure yuh nuh waan dem man deh or players a build your club .Hats off to him keep it up at Villa .

Is only Oniel a build Mid table Club ? when dem can occupy a top 4 spot talk to me, last year dem say a spurs a do it . year before bolton ,year before new castle , etc etc .

I am sure yuh nuh waan dem man deh or players a build your club .Hats off to him keep it up at Villa .
                            The fact is any objective football fan can see that Aston villa is improving under Martin Oneil. Now, lets look at the circus act you're supporting, last year unuh finish 3rd, this year unuh aiming to finish 4th.

Yuh leff out every year we a play C.L and everyother year we are in the finals.

I am not worried about 4th place because every year it entitles us both to have the same objective to win a Majour title if not all then at least one of the most covoted on the planet.

And the fact also remains yuh nuh waan dem man deh or players a build your club , thank yuh sah.