• Devon Rickettes ... a forgotten star

Devon Rickettes ... a forgotten star

Devon Rickettes of Hanover Masters '

Western Bureau
    This past Thurs-day, I attended the press launch of the 2008 St. James Guardian Life Division Two Football Competition in Montego Bay and while many important things were said from the podium, the thing that impacted me most was a conversation I had with a female football fan.

After demanding that I take a seat beside her and 'just listen', she proceeded to outline her displeasure with us sports writers, who have not been giving former national striker Devon Rickettes his just due when making reference to outstanding national footballers produced by western Jamaica.

To remind me of Rickettes' exploits, she proceeded to trace his illustrious career spanning his schoolboy days at Herbert Morrison Technical, his exploits at Wadadah, his stint with the semi-pro outfit Wavers FC and his time with the national team and his sparkling 1993 Gold Cup performance.

When the mostly one-sided conversation ended, I had no choice but to sum up my best apology to the young woman and promised her that in the future, I would make sure to include the name Devon Rickettes when making reference to the other western stalwarts such as Paul 'Tegat' Davis, Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, Durrant 'Tatty' Brown, Warren Barrett and the late Steve 'Shorty' Malcolm and Winston 'Twinny Bug' Anglin.

After I left the Guardian Life function, the discussion I had with the young lady continued to occupy my mind so much so that when I got home, I decided to go through by old scrap books just to refresh myself about Rickettes' career and the impact he has had on the game. It turned out to be a most refreshing and informative exercise.

Rickettes' career began to take shape at Herbert Morrison in 1987 when the coach, Maurice Whitely, discovered that while he was an exciting young goalkeeper, he was also a decent striker, who kicked well with both feet, was quite good in the air and had the type of speed that would make some sprinters green with envy.

Whitely, who decided to play Rickettes as a striker, was rewarded in a big way in 1988 when he played a key role in Herbert Morrison's daCosta Cup success. While fellow striker Winston 'Tonto' Henry got most of the goals, Rickettes and skipper Keith 'Baddas' Tom-linson was his main provider.
    While he did not enjoy any further success at the schoolboy level, more success was to come his way representing Wadadah FC in the NPL football. He played such an important role in the team's 1991-92 championship success that he was selected for the Wavers semi-pro outfit and later Jamaica.

Operating alongside Paul 'Tegat' Davis at the helm of Jamaica's attack, Rickettes proved himself as quite a lethal striker, taking tournaments like the Caribbean Shell Cup by storm. He was one of the outstanding players in 1993 when Jamaica placed third in the CONCACAF Gold Cup Tourna-ment - still our best finish ever.

As a national player, it was not easy for Rickettes as in those days, the pre-Rene Simoes era, conditions were quite tough in terms of a living conditions and a proper feeding programme. In fact, at one point, he simply walked away from the teams when the situation got unbearable. However, because of his love for the game, he did not stay away for long.
    Since ending his career at the national level in the 1990s, Rickettes has basically been enjoying life away from the limelight. He currently plays in the Steve Bucknor Western Masters League, where he has been an integral part of the amazing six-year championship streak of reigning champions Hanover Masters. In three games so far this season, he leads all scorers with seven goals.

While Rickettes is not one to boast of his exploits as a national player, nobody privy to the history of national football can deny that, in terms of raw results, the somewhat unassuming Rickettes, ranks among the best strikers Jamaica has produced.

Nb. Please feel free to send your feedback to: adrianfrater@hotmail.com.

Very good player. Was not as great as the Western massive use to make him sound, but was very good.

I must mention Cassman Williams who was one of the deadliest

strikers for seba in their heydays...Jamaica used to have this player on the bench when he was highest goalscorer playing beside Tegat Davis. By way Cassman was also coach by maurice whitely at William Knibb if I recalled. These are young players who never was given a chance because of the jamaican systems in those days.
      By the way one of my favourite player in those days was a little unherald youth name ESTO who single handedly shift up boys town midfield (Howard Cephas,Donovan Downer,Hyde) and score from half line during Carl Brown days. I watch this kid against the big teams like harbour view,cavalier,Wadadah etc and nuff time ref no call foul pon him. I memba Cobra kick him down inna the box a compound and ref just turn the other way.
      I see him score a wicked goal against harbour view after couple drawback around couple national players .

Personally I think this player have more technical abilities than Cargill considering the age difference but was just unfortunate not to be playing for a big team. Overall the west was full of talented individuals those days..

Tuffy,Blacks,Hero, shabba,Ferguson,chadwick wright to name a few.

Cassman did play for Jamaica....I use to use esto penalty run up.. Start with a walk then explode.

Funny I dont think whitely was the senior coach for Prince mabye u 16 as Jackson did at the time. Then Whitley transfered to herbie..