• This is the end for Grant ...Blames Mourinho

Is there something in the Air before U face Liverpool

Avram Grant seeks to lay blame on Jose Mourinho

Matt Hughes

For a man facing an uncertain future, Avram Grant seems strangely fixated with the past. Although not uttering the name of his predecessor, the Chelsea first-team coach did his best yesterday to blame José Mourinho for the flak he has faced this season, saying that he inherited a team in no shape to challenge for the Barclays Premier League title.
    In one sense Grant is correct because succeeding a man such as Mourinho is an impossible job, although many will be sceptical about his attempt to deflect the responsibility for his team's failings. Chelsea were fifth in an embryonic table when Grant took over in September, although they were only two points behind Arsenal, the leaders at the time, and level with Manchester United, so keeping them in contention until the later stages of the season does not constitute the remarkable recovery he would have everyone believe.
    Grant deserves credit for keeping an unhappy dressing-room together during a difficult period, although whether Chelsea have made any real progress over the past seven months is unclear, with consistent Premier League results counter-balanced by embarrassing cup defeats by Tottenham Hotspur and Barnsley and lingering doubts about the quality of the team's football.
    As a statistical curiosity, Grant's record in 28 league matches is the same as Mourinho's over the corresponding period last season, which is fitting because it seems certain to
    function pictureGalleryPopup(pubUrl,articleId) {var newWin = window.open(pubUrl+'template/2.0-0/element/pictureGalleryPopup.jsp?id='+articleId+'&&offset=0 &&sectionName=FootballTeamChelsea','mywindow','men ubar=0,resizable=0,width=615,height=655');}Related Links

yield the same result: second place behind United. Failure to beat Everton at Goodison Park this evening would end their fading hopes, although Grant insists that they have done well to extend the title race this far.
    “Realistically, we did not have a chance from Day 1 I was here, as there was always a team above us with more points than Chelsea,” he said. “When I received the team, I don't think anyone, including the Prime Minister of England, could see us in the position we're in now. We came from nowhere to fight for the championship and I think we've done a great job until now.
    “We feel pressure all the time, but it is a good pressure and I don't want to live without it. If Manchester United take the title, I will be the first to congratulate them, but at the moment I will not give up. We're still fighting and still believe we can do it. Nobody told me I have to deliver a trophy, but I want to more than others. Compared to when I received the club, the situation is good.”
    Grant has reservations about the make-up of his - or rather Mourinho's - squad and is planning an extensive overhaul, as The Times reported yesterday. The Israeli is expecting a difficult summer in the transfer market, however, fearing that Chelsea have lost their financial advantage and he may have to lower his sights from high-profile stars such as Lionel Messi, of Barcelona, to less well-known players such as Luka Modric, of Dynamo Zagreb.
    “We know the position of the club,” Grant said. “I do not think the money will be a problem if we find a good player, or players, to bring in. It could be £80million or £100million, but we do not have the advantage of two or three years ago. We know Man United also spend money, in my opinion Arsenal will also buy and Liverpool also. We will do the same. We're happy with what happened this year but want to improve it.
    “The advantage that we had two or three years ago, when all the big clubs in Europe did not have money, including Manchester United, Liverpool, Barcelona and Real Madrid, has gone. Money was not the issue here. Three years ago when a player was big money, he was yours. Now it has changed. I don't think that Barcelona, for example, will give Messi away even for big money.”
    As if preparing the fans for domestic disappointment, Grant said for the first time that the Champions League had been his main target all along, and it could be the only trophy left to play for at the end of this evening. Chelsea will again be without Frank Lampard, who has stayed in London with his ill mother, while Didier Drogba is a doubt because of a knee injury.
    “We have an important league game at Everton and then have five days to think about the Champions League, which we say all the time is the main target,” Grant said. “It's always been the target and we're in a good position.”

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Sad days ahead for Pool

Divisions at Liverpool

The divisions in the Anfield boardroom have been laid bare during a tumultuous past week when Liverpool’s name has been dragged through the mud. Here, The Times examines the contrasting relationships between the main players in the soap opera.

Tom Hicks and George Gillett Jr, American co-owners

Despite declaring when they bought the club in February last year that their main priority was “winning, then passion, respect for tradition, and legacy”, relations between the business partners soon became fractured and now they are not on speaking terms. Gillett admitted last month that their relationship had been “unworkable for some time”, while Hicks has become incensed by Gillett’s attempts to paint him as the villain of the piece.

Hicks and Rick Parry, chief executive

The full extent of the hostility has become apparent only over the past few days, with Parry claiming that it has been a “nightmare” working under Hicks and the Texan, in turn, branding the chief executive as “arrogant” with an “inability to manage an organisation”. Theirs is the most corrosive relationship.

Parry and Rafael BenÍtez, manager

BenÍtez has been privately critical of Parry for some time and the manager could barely contain his disgust on Sunday after learning that Parry was present at one of the two meetings with the co-owners and Jürgen Klinsmann, the former Germany coach, last year. It is difficult to see how the pair can continue to work together.

Gillett and Parry

Gillett offered Parry his full backing last week amid Hicks’s calls for the chief executive’s resignation, but while Parry has the support of Gillett, there is a feeling that theirs is more a marriage of convenience.

Gillett and BenÍtez

Although Hicks initially took the heat for the Klinsmann episode, BenÍtez has come to hold Gillett responsible for arranging the meetings to discuss the possibility of the German taking over as manager.

Hicks and BenÍtez

Some at the club believe that Hicks’s repeated pleas of support for BenÍtez are little more than a smokescreen through which the Texan hopes to curry favour, but both are in regular contact.

Hicks and Ian Ayre, commercial director

Close allies. Hicks want to replace Parry with Ayre, who he claims has “positioned the club to take advantage of its success on the pitch.”
    function pictureGalleryPopup(pubUrl,articleId) {var newWin = window.open(pubUrl+'template/2.0-0/element/pictureGalleryPopup.jsp?id='+articleId+'&&offset=0 &&sectionName=FootballTeamLiverpool','mywindow','m enubar=0,resizable=0,width=615,height=655');}

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Lazie why is this man saying having a 80 -100 million transfer budget as not having an advantage ?

It could be £80million or £100million, but we do not have the advantage of two or three years ago. We know Man United also spend money, in my opinion Arsenal will also buy and Liverpool also. We will do the same. We're happy with what happened this year but want to improve it.
      “The advantage that we had two or three years ago, when all the big clubs in Europe did not have money, including Manchester United, Liverpool, Barcelona and Real Madrid, has gone. Money was not the issue here. Three years ago when a player was big money, he was yours. Now it has changed. I don't think that Barcelona, for example, will give Messi away even for big money.”

X, what's up wid 'nandi?

Mi 'ear say i'm nah train....!?
        Him say him nuh haffy train.

"There's ongle one Onandi Lowe".

Him a wait pon the call from the TD so him have fi stay close to his phone.

Scotalnd yard must be after them backside thus all these exc

uses. This man do not have any passion for the game like Alex Ferguson. The man is too dull for such a star studded side. Mi think nuff man start getting upset over Analka signing amount but it is not being clearly stated. How the hell can you allowed a player like Essien playing defence. The man is box to box player, he can shoot well and he has good ball control,he has some good defensive abilities...why waste him in defence when you want to win a Epl title. Personally I think Chelsea is fully focussing on the champions league because there is more money to gain from that than the EPL.

Ok chelsea need a new coach, Bibi need a new team, Shelton need a new team, Fuller need a new knee before world cup qualifying start, Ricketts need a new work permit, harbour view need a new coach and jamaica premier league need a new sponsor.

how him can blame mourinho? nuh di same side win back to back titles?

Lazie why is this man saying having a 80 -100 million transfer budget as not having an advantage ?

It could be £80million or £100million, but we do not have the advantage of two or three years ago. We know Man United also spend money, in my opinion Arsenal will also buy and Liverpool also. We will do the same. We're happy with what happened this year but want to improve it.
                Drowning man grabs at a straw. Why yuh call me out on this? If it was up to me, Chelsea would be relegated.