• Calling it as we see it

Calling it as we see it

A full week has passed since the publication of the column I wrote under the headline, 'Of Jamaica football and 'Portmorization'', but I am still getting feedback from readers, some supporting the sentiments I expressed and others taking issue.

While the feedback was varied and ranged in emotion from unequivocal support to almost angry disagreement, I found a common thread among all the respondents. Every single one expressed a deep-seated love for Jamaica's football and indicated a desire to see us do well.

Measured
    In his usual measured way, JFF general secretary Horace Reid, who explained that he had cut administrative ties with Portmore United FC on assuming the JFF's 'gen sec' role, challenged my claim that there appears to be an incestuous relationship between Portmore United and the JFF and the club was deriving undeserved benefits among other things.

Mr Reid also disputed the insinuation that the Portmore United officials, who flew to Brazil during the recent national training camp, may have acted improperly by doing club nusiness at the expense of the JFF. He said they acted entirely above board and only in their capacity of JFF officials.

While Mr Reid's feedback was somewhat defensive, the views expressed by Laurence Robinson, a Star reader based in The Cayman Islands, painted a picture of serious disappointment with the state of national football and a fear that the close ties between the leadership of the JFF and Portmore United might impact the national programme negatively.
    "There might be one and two players there, e.g. Rudolph Austin, who can be considered justified of a national call but, certainly, not almost the entire Portmore starting 11", wrote Mr Robinson. "At this stage of the cycle of our development the time has come for us to get rid of that type of politics in the ball game. It has damaged football too long. Simoes is not fooling anybody."

Mr Robinson went on to explain that, "I think Simoes is getting ahead of himself this time around. It is not like his last campaign where the country was nowhere and had no World Cup experience and was therefore light-years behind in some aspects. To put it in Jamaican terms, 'wi nuh frighten nuh more'. So even this talk about just being proud to represent the national team is rubbish, I think we are way beyond that now."

I found the total contents of Mr Robinson's response, which was about twice the length of my column, so interesting that I have decided to forward it to the JFF. Maybe it will help the JFF to understand what national football means to Jamaicans, even those who reside in other countries.

And, in speaking about the love for Jamaica's football, I find it quite bothersome that some persons see criticising the JFF as unpatriotic. I know for a fact that some board members are unhappy with aspects of the national programme because they have stated so, off the record. However, there seems to be a genuine fear of Captain Horace Burrell, so much so that rocking the boat is seen as tantamount to committing suicide.

Free speech
    I have long taken a decision that I will not put myself in any position where I cannot speak my mind freely so I am fully prepared to cut the ties I have with the St James FA at the first sign that there is any attempt to restrain my rights to free speech. I criticised the previous Crenston Boxhill administration when I saw the need to and I will criticise the Burrell team whenever I see the need to.

I want to publicly extend my appreciation to the many Jamaicans, far and wide, including the gentleman who thinks I might be jeopardising my chances of visiting the United States by criticising their visa policy in regards to Jamaican sporting representatives, who keep sending their feedback. I am sure our love for sports transcends everything that is petty and unbecoming.

adrianfrater@hotmail.com.

Maybe it will help the JFF to understand what national football means to Jamaicans, even those who reside in other countries.

Kindly request a copy of that letter about which he spoke...and post?
      Thank you!