• Another Jamaican at MFC

By MICHELLE KAUFMAN
    mkaufman@MiamiHerald.com
    Sat. April 12, 2008

Who is he?

He doesn't have Romário's resume or his aura, but Sean Barrett certainly will stand out on Miami FC's front line as the team opens its third season Saturday night at Tropical Park against the Charleston Battery.

Barrett is a 6-4 native of Jamaica who is 29 and has been ''the most interesting story of the preseason,'' according to Miami FC general manager Luiz Muzzi. The tall, powerful forward who had been working in construction for four years, trained with the team last year and showed up for open tryouts again in January. The team took a chance on him, and he pounced on the opportunity, scoring three goals in the team's last two exhibition games.

''This is a player who has exemplified outstanding persistence in trying to prove himself,'' coach Zinho said. 'It is an ongoing joke between us that I told him, `You will need to kill a lion every day,' and apparently, he took me seriously.''

Barrett played for Florida International University in the late 1990s, and then for the University of Rhode Island in 2000-01. He also had a stint with Harbour View FC in Jamaica.

''Zinho decided we needed a big body up front, and Sean has been getting better and better every week,'' Muzzi said. ``He has gotten more confident, and that has made a big difference.''

Barrett's dreams of a pro career were dimming as he approaches 30, but he kept dabbling in the sport, playing in local Jamaican leagues and hoping someone from Miami FC would notice.

''Sometimes it takes a weird road to reach your goal,'' Barrett said. ``I'm very excited to have this chance and can't wait to start the season.''

He likely will play alongside another newly signed forward, Alex Afonso, a 27-year-old who came from Brazilian club Ituano. He was the third-leading scorer in the Paulista championship this season and is known as a finisher. Ever since Brazilian World Cup star Romário left the team after the inaugural season, Miami FC has lacked a proven clincher.

''Last year we had many chances, but we had a problem finishing,'' Muzzi said. ``I think Alex will be able to do what Romário did for us the first year, which is get the ball in the back of the net. He has only been practicing with us for a week, but already I see he will help the team.''

Also joining the team this season is goalkeeper Josh Saunders, who played for the Puerto Rico Islanders last year. He is a 6-4 Oregon native and former standout at the University of California.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011