Gerrad threatend to be shot ....Why he doesnt walk alone

• Gerrad threatend to be shot ....Why he doesnt walk alone

THE father of Steven Gerrard last night revealed how a notorious figure from the Merseyside underworld had threatened to shoot the Liverpool FC captain in the legs and maim him.

Gerrard’s father Paul said they recruited John Kinsella as a fixer to “sort out” George Bromley Jnr, who had terrorised the Huyton-born midfielder for two years.

The revelations came in a letter written by Paul Gerrard on Tuesday, the day his son was leading Liverpool FC to a famous Champions League victory against Arsenal at Anfield.

It was submitted as evidence yesterday in a robbery trial at Lincoln Crown Court, where Kinsella is one of four co-accused from Liverpool.

The jury was told that Gerrard, 27, was placed under police protection because the thug was “making his life a misery”, including, on one occasion, ambushing the footballer outside his apartment in Southport.

Kinsella, 43, is one of four men accused of taking part in a £41,000 robbery in which a haulage depot nightwatchman was tied up.

But he claims he was in the area of the raid at the time only in his role as an under-world enforcer – a job he once carried out for the Gerrards.

In the letter from Paul Gerrard – which was confirmed as genuine after police visited him yesterday – he told of the “total respect” he and his multi-millionaire son had for Kinsella, after he helped put an end to their “nightmare.”

Mr Gerrard wrote: “I would like to say that, in 2001, my son Steven was being terror-ised by a notorious Liverpool gangster known as ‘The Psycho’, who was threatening to maim my son by shooting him in the legs. Also, he was trying to extort money from Steven.

“We immediately contacted the police and asked for protection. This went on for a long time, during which Steven’s car was smashed up and the gangster chased him while he was driving home from training.

“This was one of the worst times of our lives. It was really having a bad effect on his career. Liverpool FC provided security for Steven, but the threats still kept coming.

“We were at our wits’ end when we were introduced by a family friend to John Kinsella. I told him about the ongoing threats and violence. John then reassured me and my family he would resolve our nightmare.

“From that time until this day, we have never had any more problems from the Liverpool underworld. Steven and I have total respect for John for what he did for us. Yours faithfully, Paul Gerrard.”

Giving evidence, Kinsella said he was contacted by the star’s family after Gerrard was threatened by Liverpool gangster George Bromley Jnr.

He said: “I took steps. I spoke to George Bromley Jnr. I told him to stop it and leave him alone. After I had spoken to him, he followed my advice.”

Kinsella, a boxer and martial arts expert, said his work for Gerrard was just one example of how he collected debts and sorted out problems for people.

The trial continues.

------------------------

WOWBack to top

PP4321
    TIA Youth Team

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:41 am Post subject: Re: Gangster in ‘threat to shoot’ Steven Gerrard Mod Comment wrote:Seriously, is there any need to quote the whole thread? If you're quoting something specific fine but why the whole thread?

Just heard this on the radio and I was amazed.

I remember there were rumours floating about years ago about this but Liverpool being Liverpool I put it down with the "fowler takes smack" stories that were floating about.

Puts a different perspective on him wanting to leave the club and the city in the past. Who could blame him after going through that?Back to top

Scrummie
    TIA Reserve Team

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 9:32 am Post subject: Wow. That is shocking. Kinsella must be a Liverpool fan!Back to top

Kid Viravax
    TIA Legend

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:08 am Post subject: its Purple Aki!Back to top

Somebody-Special
    TIA Legend

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:15 am Post subject: Kid Viravax wrote:its Purple Aki!

Lock the doors! Batton down the hatch's! He is BACK! Back to top

Gavo
    Banned

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:34 am Post subject: Does no one remember all this at the time? It goes as far back as 2001, and is old news now.

The media, eh. They certainly know how to spin a headline don't they. Suddenly a story about a court case becomes 'Gangster in threat to shoot Gerrard'
    .Back to top

Sinner
    TIA Reserve Team

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:37 am Post subject: "New law on the way forbidding newspaper articles to have titles"Back to top

Mulder
    TIA New Signing

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 11:22 am Post subject: Cant we get this 'Kinsella' bloke onto the big fat texan !!Back to top

Denzil
    TIA Moderator

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 1:45 pm Post subject: Back to top

The Gunslinger
    TIA Subs Bench

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 1:51 pm Post subject: Mulder wrote:Cant we get this 'Kinsella' bloke onto the big fat texan !!

hahaha good one! although I wouldnt mind a go myself first!Back to top

showmethemoney
    TIA Reserve Team

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 1:56 pm Post subject: What I find odd is, this nut stick George Bromley is only in on a theft - hardly going to get him 50 years & I question why Gerrards father would send this letter to the courts, which is sure to aggreivate Bromley.

The Gerrards must have known this would be made public - however much of a tard this bromley is, I'm sure he has freinds in liverpool, so for me its highly risky.

Gerrard senior must be very very confident his son isnt going to feel the brunt of this guy bromley & his mates.

just a tad weird for me.

lets hope nothing bad happens to John Kinsella.Back to top

rippedshorts
    TIA Youth Team

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:59 pm Post subject: Jesus Christ..... Is it just Liverpool??? Oh Lord.... who will come here now???Back to top

Scousefire
    TIA Youth Team

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:03 pm Post subject: This Kinsella is no fool himself, and besides - I am led to believe this was all over a bird Gerrard was seeing who was an ex of this Bromley JrBack to top

mafiaman20
    TIA Legend

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:12 pm Post subject: I heard about this a while back, I think it stemed from a woman Gerrard was dating at the time. This gangster guy had kinda a thing for her.Back to top

Red Wave
    TIA Reserve Team

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:13 pm Post subject:
    Originally posted by Scousefire
    This Kinsella is no fool himself, and besides - I am led to believe this was all over a bird Gerrard was seeing who was an ex of this Bromley Jr

Yeah, we've heard this sorta stuff regarding Gerrard's missus before, and the rumours (as Everton fans kindly reminded us all a couple of wees ago), about her sleeping around with people of this ilk. Wonder if it is Bromley or the likes?

I agree with Rippedshorts worries as well. The constant house robbings, added to all this stuff regarding Gerrard, must put players off going to Liverpool.
    Last edited by Mosiah; April 11, 2008, 11:34 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Giving evidence, Kinsella said he was contacted by the star’s family after Gerrard was threatened by Liverpool gangster George Bromley Jnr.

He said: “I took steps. I spoke to George Bromley Jnr. I told him to stop it and leave him alone. After I had spoken to him, he followed my advice.”

If only our gangsters were this agreeable! Or is bad Kinsella bad suh!?!

Ahhh boy! This post is someting else! Nah go say nutten more.

Our gangsters do talk with knives and guns ,the problem is the end results dont leave any room for the individual to conform .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You see the Bottom on that woman, de Naked bottom, de Ass

If me do dat what ounu would a do?

World nuh level atall atall
        http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

What are you talking about?