• The comedy continues ..Hicks calls for Parry resignation

Hicks calls for Parry resignation

Parry (centre) flanked by Gillett (left) and Hicks

Liverpool co-owner Tom Hicks has called for the resignation of the club's chief executive Rick Parry.
    Hicks has written to Parry to ask him to stand down although he has no power to sanction that without the say of co-owner George Gillett.
    The American is thought to be unhappy with Parry who he feels is siding with Gillett in the club's power struggle. The news comes on a day when Dubai International Capital (DIC) ended their interest in buying the club. More soon.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Liverpool fans eye takeover talks

By Bill Wilson
    Business reporter, BBC News, Soccerex

Liverpool FC's US owners have reportedly fallen out

The fans' group hoping to buy Liverpool Football Club says it is preparing to approach the club's US owners in an attempt to discuss its intentions.
    Share Liverpool FC wants to buy the club for £500m, through 100,000 fans paying £5,000 each for a club share.
    It now says it has £60m definitely pledged, and a potential further £55m from fans showing "strong interest".
    The US businessmen who own the club, Tom Hicks and George Gillett, have become unpopular with many fans.
    The pair bought the football club in early 2007, but have reportedly fallen out.
    Great clubs, established social institutions, are being traded on the global capital markets, with no knowledge of the clubs

Rogan Taylor, Share Liverpool FC

Terms of the takeover mean that each can block any move by the other to sell their holding without the other's specific approval.
    Dubai International Capital has recently revived its interest in the club but, to take control, it must buy all of one owner's shares along with some of the other man's.
    'Overwhelming response'
    "We have got to approach the current owners, that is what we have to do now," Rogan Taylor, who is spearheading Share Liverpool FC, told the BBC.
    "I can't say how, or through whom, at present, but we will be approaching them to try and set up talks, and let them know our intentions".
    He said that since the fan website was launched there had been a flurry of activity - with contact from more than 200 countries.
    "Our initial website was a marketing tool to check the level of interest out there," he said.
    Fans have expressed dissatisfaction with the current ownership

"We have been overwhelmed by the response, and now we have to keep things moving forward quickly."
    As well as those expressing a "definite" and "strong" interest in making an investment, there are 13,000 other would-be backers who say they cannot raise £5,000.
    "We will be contacting them about possible group memberships, where fans and family come together to buy one share, and have a nominated shareholder they all agree on," Mr Taylor said.
    Non-profit making structure
    Share Liverpool has set up a steering committee - made up of people with legal, business, accountancy and other commercial experience - to formulate a constitution setting out the way forward.
    A company is being formed as an "industrial and provident society" structure, Mr Taylor said.
    And after talks with the Financial Services Authority, the set-up is close to being ratified.
    "The constitution is designed to deliver a non-profit making structure, and a means of electing an executive board, which would run the company for four years." Mr Taylor said.
    While the board would be the club executive, there would also be a fan parliament of 100 delegates to scrutinise the board's actions.
    "Fans will not be able to say what cheques are written, or which players are bought and sold," Mr Taylor added.
    "The board will have executive control for hiring and firing, buying and selling, lending and spending."
    'Sophisticated'
    Any borrowing to build a new stadium for Liverpool FC would be done against future revenues a new stadium would bring, such Arsenal did to finance its Emirates Stadium move.
    Mr Taylor added that other regulatory issues needed to be overcome, partly because the group is asking fans in so many overseas countries to send money.
    Meanwhile a fighting fund has been established, and the website is being reconstructed to become "more sophisticated" in preparation for future moves.
    "What has been going on at the club, regardless of who owns it, is a vivid illustration of the pattern of ownership in the UK," Mr Taylor said. "Great clubs, established social institutions, are being traded on the global capital markets, with no knowledge of the clubs. "Fans offer everlasting support and should be given the chance now to own an everlasting share."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

DIC pull out of takeover talks Written by Max Munton on April 10th, 2008 </B></B>

The DIC have reportedly pulled out of talks this afternoon regarding the takeover of Liverpool Football Club.
      It is thought the Dubai based investment group are unhappy at the current state of the bad relationship between the club’s current America co-owners George Gillett and Tom Hicks.
      The news comes on the day where Hicks has sent club chief executive Rick Parry a letter asking for his resignation from the club.
      DIC chief execuitve Sameer Al Ansari revealed how although the company are still interested in purchasing the club, negotiations are unworkable at present.
      “You have two partners who do not see eye to eye. And we decided that we pull out completely. Let them sort out their problems,” he said.

Rafa gets an award for how he has carried himself in the storm of an adverserial media.

Cool , calm and collective knowing that in a whiff he could be rotated out before or after winning this year C.L trophy.

Yuh right ... Liverpool is a bunch of comedians.

We entertain. Yes. Especially throughout Europe, for the past 50 years! That's what we do!

You know there are times when one claim to find one amusing it can be an insult? Whenever I'd bored and need a good laugh I find a posting by a Livafool ...

Good for you. I read any of your posts! That usually get's me rolling around, holding mi belly!

Now I can see why the other day you assumed I was attempting a joke .... talk bout a sick sense of humour.

No, Lazie, when you attempt it, the jokes never work. Just be yourself! You'll have the whole board in stitches!