What do you think you are going to win next year ? be realistic!
Gamma has Arsenal won anything since Rafa arrival ?
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.Tags: None
Whey deh man deh , im say ever 3 years like liverpool, i think our development of rebuilding a team to challenge the prem is 3 games in front of Arsenal or a season ahead.the tables dont tell the true tale C.l doesTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Sir have you answered my question?Arsenal rebuiding and pools rebuilding just clashed in a trilogy, we won in every department.
Rafa out coached Arse.Out rebuilt, it get scarier im nuh dun yet.gimme a answer boss .
thanks in advance once every 3 years.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
liverpool has been rebuilding longer...we lost henry last year...c'mon. get real!
let's say we have not won anything since rafa came....CL finals last year and consistently finishing ahead of liverpool in the BPL. ok the BPL doesn't count....you haven't made it to the CL finals yet this year...so let's wait and see shall we?
point is we have been winning , while rebuiding. testament of a great club, not many can boast of such feats except chel$ki and we know why.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
shoulda , coulda , woulda , anyone in thier right mind would say yes based on the trophies won in the last 3 years , we wouldnt want to go back from the beginning of the EPL would we ?
But to give you a toast , I love the way Arsenal plays football.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Arsene Wenger begins post mortem with plenty to ponder
Matt Hughes
Arsène Wenger has pledged to mount a rigorous examination of Arsenal's shortcomings when the season is over and may be dismayed to discover that many of the club's fans have begun to do so already. For all the manager's defiance in defeat in the Champions League quarter-finals, the chances of his team recovering to win the Barclays Premier League title are remote, with the strong probability that they will finish the season empty-handed for the third successive year.
Arsenal's collapse has not been as spectacular as last season, when after failing to contest the championship they crashed out of the Carling Cup, the FA Cup and the Champions League in ten days, but it has been dramatic, with three matches against Liverpool in seven days effectively putting an end to their challenge in the Premier League and in Europe. Wenger's reaction to the defeat at Anfield on Tuesday was to blame the referee, but there are more deep-seated reasons for his team's implosion. Where did it all go wrong?
Timing
Few people recall that Manchester United failed to win any of their first three Premier League matches of the season because they are finishing it strongly, whereas Arsenal have done the reverse. In the past two months their results have been dire, with only two wins from their past 12 matches in all competitions, allowing United to turn a six-point deficit into a six-point lead in six weeks. In retrospect, the tipping point in Arsenal's season may have been that 4-0 FA Cup fifth-round defeat at Old Trafford, since when they have managed to win away to AC Milan and Bolton Wanderers, thanks to late goals.
function pictureGalleryPopup(pubUrl,articleId) {var newWin = window.open(pubUrl+'template/2.0-0/element/pictureGalleryPopup.jsp?id='+articleId+'&&offset=0 &§ionName=FootballTeamArsenal','mywindow','men ubar=0,resizable=0,width=615,height=655');}Related Links
Squad
Such a sudden loss of momentum has put the focus on the size of the Arsenal squad. Wenger chose not to strengthen in January, arguing that there were no players of sufficient quality available, although, given that Robin van Persie had been carrying injuries all season and the shortcomings of Philippe Senderos, the failure to sign a striker and a centre back appears a costly mistake. A bigger one may have been allowing Lassana Diarra to join Portsmouth because the 23-year-old looks to be maturing into a midfield player of quality.
Mental frailties
Arsenal have toughened up from the days when any trip north was a wasted journey, winning away to Blackburn Rovers and Bolton this season, although certain weaknesses remain. Much of it is down to the inexperience that triggered their downfall at Anfield, as well as the temperamental nature of several key players, such as William Gallas and Emmanuel Eboué. Wenger's stubborn refusal to admit mistakes may not help them to learn the error of their ways, either.
Style of play
By scoring six of their past nine goals from set-pieces, Arsenal have proved that they are no longer one-dimensional, although they have an infuriating tendency to overcomplicate. The directness and tactical flexibility of Rafael Benítez would not go amiss occasionally, although those calling for an overhaul should consider whether they would be happy watching Liverpool every week.
Have Arsenal underachieved?
Wenger claims that his team have made progress by staying in contention far longer than last season, but having come so far, there is bound to be disappointment. The Frenchman has repeatedly fallen back on the predictions that Arsenal were expected to struggle this season, so it would be disingenuous of him to claim otherwise. While a talented team are still improving, they must win trophies soon or risk wasting their potential.
Can Wenger be blamed?
As with many great leaders, his biggest strength - a commitment to attacking football played by young athletes assembled without breaking the bank - is also his biggest weakness. Wenger is unwilling to compromise in either regard, which may undermine his search for silverware but has made Arsenal the most entertaining side in Britain for several seasons. Most Arsenal fans would agree that the sacrifice is worth it.
Lost in transition - no excuses, Wenger has to bolster his defence
By MATT BARLOW - More by this author » Last updated at 21:51pm on 9th April 2008
Comments
The Slogan of the Wenger Years has always been: Arsene Knows. Arsenal are a club who trust their manager and that special bond is not about to be broken.
However, picking through the carcass of another empty season may prove more painful than usual for Wenger, especially if Manchester United trample his team's fading morale into the dirt at Old Trafford on Sunday.
Scroll down to read more:
Read more...- It's just ridiculous: Arsenal defender Clichy rages at team-mates as Toure rages at ref
- We are still playing for the title at Old Trafford says Adebayor as Toure vows to win for the Arsenal fans
- I thought we were heading out when Arsenal equalised, admits Liverpool striker Crouch
- Former Liverpool boss Houllier agrees with Wenger that poor refereeing ended Arsenal's European Cup dreams
- I don't know if we can win the title, admits Arsenal star Gael
Sure, he can find droplets of goodness in the progress of Cesc Fabregas, the promise of Theo Walcott or Emmanuel Adebayor's willingness to inherit the burden of leadership up front from Thierry Henry.
He can savour morsels like the victory over AC Milan, a 21-match unbeaten run at the start of the season or an improved points tally in the Barclays Premier League.
But, unlike in previous seasons, he cannot simply toss the remains into the dustbin with a professorial shrug that says: maybe next year, when this brood are a little older and wiser.
A failure to convert promise into trophies was down to "a lack of experience, that's all," according to captain William Gallas, who is 30 years old and has won two Premier League titles with Chelsea and 60 caps for France.
For most of the season, Wenger has chosen to operate without the vast experience of World Cup winner Gilberto Silva and Jens Lehmann, two survivors from The Invincibles campaign of 2003-04.
Kolo Toure and Gael Clichy have also won the Premier League.
Manuel Almunia is 30, Tomas Rosicky is 27, Alexander Hleb is 26, Bacary Sagna is 25.
As Rafa Benitez pointed out, this team are not a bunch of novices.
Wenger's squad lacks the depth to rotate without weakening the team and Arsenal's intricate style of football makes it harder to simply slide rough-'n-not-quiteready players in and out.
"How could I know Rosicky, Eduardo and van Persie would all be injured at the same time?"
was Wenger's reasoning for not shopping in January.
But many pundits had warned much earlier in the season that Arsenal had nowhere near the back-up players available to Manchester United or Chelsea, so it cannot be claimed now that this is simply being wise after the event.
It has been in defence where his slender resources have been most ruthlessly exposed.
The injury to the rock solid Sagna last month forced Wenger to split the central defensive partnership of Gallas and Toure.
The manager was happier to move Toure to right back and bring the unconvincing Philippe Senderos into the back four than risk Justin Hoyte.
Arsenal's run of two wins in 12 games dates back to that FA Cup drubbing at Old Trafford, where Wenger must take his team again on Sunday, with confidence ebbing away.
"It will be hard to bounce back," said Gallas after the defeat at Anfield. "Morale is low. Nobody expected much from us at the start of the season and we have overachieved but when you get this far it still hurts."
At first, Gallas stepped impressively into his responsibilities as captain but his emotional personality, typified by a tearful tantrum at Birmingham and gloomy reactions to defeats at Chelsea and Liverpool, raise questions about his long-term suitability.
Wenger will head towards the summer in search of defensive reinforcements and a new goalkeeper but must also consider whether to change his captain again. Perhaps it is time for young Fabregas to take the armband and become a leader.
The manager will have the full backing of the board, the players and the supporters as he plots his next moves, something which makes him the envy of his profession.
"The boss knows the answers," said Adebayor. "He knows what to do and what's needed to win. We are disappointed but we will be back in the Champions League next season."
Arsene knows. There's the trust again.
But Arsene also knows Arsenal cannot wait for another three years for their next trophy.
He knows time is running out for this team to complete its transition.
MISFIRING GUNNERS Arsenal's record since they won the 2003/04 Premier League by 11 points:
2004/05: Lost to Bayern Munich in last 16 of Champions League, second in Premier Lge, beat Man Utd in FA Cup Final on pens, lost to Man Utd in qtr-final of Carling Cup.
2005/06: Beaten 2-1 by Barcelona in CL final, fourth in PL, lost to Bolton in FA Cup 4th rnd, lost to Wigan in CC semi-final.
2006/07: Lost to PSV in last 16 of CL, fourth in PL, lost to Blackburn in FA Cup 5th rnd, lost CC Final to Chelsea.
2007/08: Lost to Liverpool in CL qtr-final, currently third in PL, lost to Man Utd in FA Cup 5th rnd, lost to Spurs in CC semi-final.
It's just ridiculous: Arsenal defender Clichy rages at team-mates as Toure rages at ref
Last updated at 16:15pm on 9th April 2008
Comments (24)
Gael Clichy today slammed the manner of Arsenal's dramatic exit from the Champions League as "ridiculous".
• More Premier League news club by club
The French left-back was appalled by his team's failure to hold on to an away-goal victory at Liverpool last night after Emmanuel Adebayor made it 2-2 in the 84th minute.
Rafael Benitez's team ended up winning 4-2 in the quarter-final second leg at Anfield with two late goals, including Steven Gerrard's hotly disputed penalty.
Scroll down for more
Fall guy: Toure tussled with Babel (top), lost him (middle) and then put an arm round him
Read more...- I don't know if we can win the title, admits Arsenal star Gael
- Match photos: Liverpool 4 Arsenal 2
- LIVERPOOL got out of jail against Arsenal thanks to Peter from the land of hammer throwers, and Phil Senderos
CITY boss Sven and Roni are both having a laugh
DERBY and Bolton don't so much play in white shirts as white flags - Fab and Nando, jewels in the English crown
- Wenger sunk by Red tide: Late strikes hits Arsenal dream of Euro glory
- Liverpool prospect critical but stable after car crash
- Wenger rage: He hits out at Liverpool's 'dodgy' penalty but now it's Reds v Blues... Part Three
- Humble Roma boss Spalletti apologises for Ronaldo attacks
- Arsenal boss Wenger: My boys will bounce back
- Wenger should let Walcott loose on United
- Flamini a doubt as Gunners enter Old Trafford's last-chance saloon
- Former Liverpool boss Houllier agrees with Wenger that poor refereeing ended Arsenal's European Cup dreams
Arsenal defender Kolo Toure insists referee Peter Frojdfeldt was wrong to award the spot-kick after he tangled with Liverpool winger Ryan Babel, but Clichy was more concerned by the lapses which led to the opportunity.
Clichy said: "We did well to score the first goal and to come back and get the game to 2-2. And at that point we were through. But what happened after that was really disappointing.
"To concede a goal like this, whether it is a penalty or not a penalty, may be disappointing but it is not unlucky.
"It is unreal to have had a chance like this, to score the equaliser and get to 2-2 and then to concede a goal only a few seconds after kick off. I can't find the words for it. It is just ridiculous."
But Toure's response was closer to manager Arsene Wenger's explanation for the defeat, insisting he did not commit a foul on Babel ahead of the penalty decision and that, if there was any contact, it was with Cesc Fabregas and outside the area.
Scroll down for more
No penalty: Kuyt tugs back Hleb in the quarter-final first leg
The Ivory Coast defender said: "We came back into it and then Liverpool got a penalty which was really hard to accept. "The referee gave the foul against me, but I just moved away from him [Babel] and I think Cesc
Share this article:
What is this?
- Digg it
- |
- Del.icio.us
- |
- |
- Newsvine
- |
- Nowpublic
Add your comment | View all Comments (24)
24 people have commented on this story so far. Tell us what you think below.
Here's a sample of the latest comments published. You can click view all to read all comments that readers have sent in.
What is it about Arsenal? They simply can't accept defeat without trying to blame everyone but themselves?
- Paul Y, Stockport
Liverpool will get found out next round against Chelski when their luck in Europe finally runs out.
- Mark Boutros, London
Fair play is a farce in football, if that Babel foray can be classed as a penalty. It's never a case when Arsenal are fairly judged. When Arsenal complain, we're whinging, when Arsenal don't, we bottled it. A sad day for football, that's what last night was!!!Last edited by Sir X; April 9, 2008, 07:20 PM.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
OJ - just please focus on winning the league now thank you...anybody will do...except the "unmentionables" from up north. Your team is too young to win anything, but I will say this: you lost your grip on the season at Birmingham with the Eduardo injury and Clichy's mental lapse that gifted Birmingham a (questionable) penalty. Those dropped points started a mental breakdown in the team plus the agony of losing Eduardo.
The problem the team has put itself in since them are due to inexperience, like yesterday and like at Birmingham. Now if you can show some maturity (like you did at Bolton) and win the remaining games in your season, you may just cause the s-h-i-t-t-e-r-s to fall from their perch... I am rooting for you...and if you win...I will make X apologise and applaud unuh"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
What evidence do you have that Arsenal is better? Because u r leading in the league?!?! LOL!
OJ, leave the weak excuses for people like Karl and family. No calls and wrong calls happen all the time in football. If there were 2 such no calls, then maybe you would be justified somewhat.
And learn this, Reina is excellent at penalties so there is no guarantee that you would gone ahead. And even if you did...see how ridiculous this is getting?
Better unnu hug up unnu buss ass and cool.