5 Star General out for 2 weeks! Curses!

• 5 Star General out for 2 weeks! Curses!

United will be without Rio for at least two weeks and many club insiders feel with the right treatment he could even be back for the away trip to Blackburn on the 19th April.
    Sir Alex knows it's going to be tough without Ferdinand and Vidic but with Rio hopefully only missing two games and Vidic hopefully back for Chelsea, the title dream is still alive.
    The math is simple. If we can win our next three league games, we'll be crowned Champions on goal difference.
    As we saw on Saturday though, United aren't as defensively strong without Vidic. The giant Serb has been a rock this season and brings out the best of defensive partner Rio.
    Without Vidic, Ferdinand looks nervy as we saw against Boro. What do you think? Do you agree?

This is similiar to last season. We lost both players leading up to the Milan semis and Vidic had to be rushed back for the second leg in Milan. Fergie have to use Pique and Wes Brown as the CDs but there has to be some concern about that. I was hoping he would send out a 4-4-2 at Roma cause I doubt they can handle it, but seeing the problems in the back he may have to employ a 4-5-1 using both Carrick and Hargreves to protect the defense.

United will be without Rio for at least two weeks and many club insiders feel with the right treatment he could even be back for the away trip to Blackburn on the 19th April.
      Sir Alex knows it's going to be tough without Ferdinand and Vidic but with Rio hopefully only missing two games and Vidic hopefully back for Chelsea, the title dream is still alive.
      The math is simple. If we can win our next three league games, we'll be crowned Champions on goal difference.
      As we saw on Saturday though, United aren't as defensively strong without Vidic. The giant Serb has been a rock this season and brings out the best of defensive partner Rio.
      Without Vidic, Ferdinand looks nervy as we saw against Boro. What do you think? Do you agree?
      mmmm?
      The best central defender in the world...needs Vidic to be the best in the world?
      mmmm?

Perhaps you would want to take a new look at Vidic when considering the world's best central defender?

Remember I am questioning your outlook not questioning mine?
      Thanks!

Gary Pallister sees it the way I do.

Former Reds defender Gary Pallister has expressed concern at the affect injuries to Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic could have on United's season.

Sir Alex may have to select a back four against Roma on Wednesday that does not include his two regular centre-halves. Nemanja Vidic is out for a fortnight with a knee injury suffered in last week's 2-0 win in Rome, while Rio Ferdinand limped off against Middlesbrough and is a serious doubt for the second leg against the Italians.

"It's a concern," said Pallister. "Rio and Vidic have been outstanding this season. It's a superb partnership. Vidic is such a strong defender, and Rio loves playing alongside him."

United face a crucial double header at Old Trafford this week, with Roma the visitors on Wednesday before Sunday's league showdown with Arsenal. The Reds can expect defensive disruptions for both games, which will test the squad's durability.

"It gives everyone in the team confidence when you're not conceding goals," Pallister told Sky Sports News. "That defensive stability has been a major plus for United. It's a great platform to go on and win games. Unfortunately that has been taken away, possibly this week, maybe for longer. To not have Rio or Vidic would be a big concern."

United had a flurry of defensive injuries at the same stage last season, and Sir Alex will be keen to have Ferdinand and Vidic back as soon as possible, although the return of Gary Neville and Mikael Silvestre may prove conveniently timed.

mmmm?
          The best central defender in the world...needs Vidic to be the best in the world?
          mmmm?

Perhaps you would want to take a new look at Vidic when considering the world's best central defender?

Those aren't my views bossman. The problem against Boro wasn't Rio, it was Oshea. Fergie should have started Wes as the CD with Rio.
          Last edited by Lazie; April 8, 2008, 09:00 AM.

As mi seh Chelsea is out of sync and not TEAM...but keeps winning!
            What hell if the Blues hit stride and return to best TEAM she can be? ...that would put a whole new twist on the race for the EPL crown?