Talk bout making a move to save yuh career!

• Talk bout making a move to save yuh career!

McClaren drops Parker hint<P class=big>England coach Steve McClaren has dropped a huge hint that Scott Parker will be drafted into his side for Wednesday's Euro 2008 qualifier with Croatia.

The Three Lions arrived in Zagreb on Tuesday, still licking their wounds from the mauling the English media gave them following their less than inspiring 0-0 draw with Macedonia on Saturday.

McClaren remains in upbeat mood but he admits he needs his side to produce an 'English' performance against Croatia.

"This will be the sign of a good team, the reaction after a disappointing result and performance and I said after the Macedonia game that the reaction has to be positive and we are looking for an English performance: pride, passion, attitude and character and I will be picking a side that epitomises that," he told Sky Sports News.

"It is a big, big test for the team and afterwards we will know more about them, I know what attitude and pride they have and we want to see that pride and passion."

With that, McClaren admitted Parker looks to have played himself into his plans, as rumours that England will adopt a 3-5-2 formation for Wednesday look increasingly likely to come true.

"He [Parker] has been training a week with us now and he has really impressed me," he continued.

"I think Scotty Parker has got that ability to defend and track runners, but he has always got that burst of energy to go forward and I have seen him at Newcastle quite a few times this year doing that holding role but also bursting into the penalty box and scoring goals.

"I've seen him close hand - the last time was a couple of years ago and he has come on and matured. He is captain of his club and I think he epitomises what the England game is about, he can play, pass, tackle and he has good character and attitude."

McClaren says he knows his team for Wednesday, although some of the side are carrying niggles which need assessing before he can name it - one of those being Rio Ferdinand.

"I know exactly in my mind what team I will play, we have one or two niggles we need to assess, and make sure there is no reaction but if that is the case then I know the team," he said.

"Obviously Rio missed the game on Saturday but he has come through and his back is a lot better, but after travel and training we will assess that situation and hopefully he is fit."

One player out is Ledley King but McClaren insists that they were always aware there could be an issue with the Tottenham skipper, even though he played the whole game against Macedonia.

"Obviously we knew there was a problem after the game as there has been in the past and his knee did blow up and there was fluid on it, and so we were always looking at this game and thinking about alternatives if Ledley didn't make it and unfortunately he hasn't," he continued.

The England boss refused to be drawn on the recent criticism of goal-shy Wayne Rooney.

"A lot of people are talking about Wayne Rooney and I would prefer to talk about the team, he is part of that," he said.

"As individuals and a team, we have to play through it and get through it and Wayne has to get through it."

McClaren remains confident England will overcome what looks a daunting task in Croatia.

"Every game defines your England career, whether you're a player, manager or coach and I think it is a big test and everyone knows it will be a difficult game for England - when the backs are against the wall we usually come to the fore," he said.

"We have come here to win and we go in every game to win, no matter where we go England can beat everyone on the day. First and foremost I want to accept the performance and first and foremost if we get that, we should get a result.

"They are a good team, a young team - they have great pride in their country and 12 years unbeaten in Zagreb is some record. We look and think it is a difficult game but they know it is a tough game.

"We are not even contemplating coming here and getting beat."

He also insisted that no matter what the result,

RE: Talk bout making a move to save yuh career!

England won't win dat game. So Mr Man will have 2 come again...........with a brand new excuse.