Cesc still eyes title glory

• Cesc still eyes title glory

Arsenal midfielder Cesc Fabregas has not given up hope of The Gunners pipping Manchester United to the Premier League title.

A slump in form has allowed Sir Alex Ferguson's men to surge six points clear of the North Londoners, while Chelsea have also eased themselves into second in the table.

However, Arsenal returned to winning ways with a remarkable 3-2 win at Bolton last Saturday, despite playing much of the match a man down following Abou Diaby's first-half dismissal.

Fabregas is not underestimating the importance of returning to winning ways last weekend and is keen for his team-mates to capitalise on any slip-up by the league leaders.

"We knew it was an important victory, especially for the confidence of the team," said Fabregas.

Important

"We are still in the title race and for the season that is important.

"Confidence is important for any team in the world. Even if you play well, sometimes things go against you, so we showed great character and ambition on Saturday.

"Let's see if that is positive for the rest of the season. All we have to do is concentrate on winning every game and that's it.

"I know we are not the favourites any more but it is just up to us to win the six remaining league games.

"The title is no longer in our own hands because Manchester United are six points ahead but winning our last games is up to us and we have to be there behind them waiting for any opportunity."

Shouldn't he be focused on getting back into second position before eyeing the Empire?

Nah!
      That will take care of itself if GUNNERS hit #1!

Arsenal Lost the Prem race & C.L trophy To Rafas Rotation ,

Arsenal v Liverpool

Emirates Stadium
        Saturday, 5 April
        Kick-off: 1245 BST
        Coverage on the BBC Sport website, BBC Radio Five Live & highlights on Match of the Day

Arsenal striker Robin van Persie is a major doubt for Liverpool's visit to the Emirates due to a thigh problem.
        Striker Emmanuel Adebayor is expected to feature despite an ankle injury, but midfielder Abou Diaby is suspended.
        Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez could make changes for the second of three clashes between the sides in a week.
        Javier Mascherano is definitely out suspended but it is possible that Benitez could rest Fernando Torres, Steven Gerrard and Jamie Carragher.

Arsenal (from): Almunia, Toure, Gallas, Senderos, Clichy, Eboue, Flamini, Fabregas, Hleb, van Persie, Adebayor, Lehmann, Walcott, Song, Gilberto, J Hoyte, Bendtner, Denilson. Liverpool (from): Reina, Finnan, Arbeloa, Skrtel, Aurelio, Benayoun, Lucas, Alonso, Riise, Voronin, Crouch, Pennant, Babel, Hyypia, Gerrard, Torres, Carragher, Kuyt, Itandje.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Nah!
          That will take care of itself if GUNNERS hit #1!
          Oh! Unuh aware that if the Empire slip up ... Chelsea is there to take over before Arsenal?

Even if Man U slip up , Chel$ki will implode before that , Grant cannot handle pressure.

If thats the case I put my money on arsenal , between Man U & Chel$ki your fixtures are the most enviable at this stage of the season.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

..... between Man U & Chel$ki your fixtures are the most enviable at this stage of the season.
              Really? Lets see. The Empire have to play some teams that gives them alot of problems such as Boro, Westham and Blackburn. There is the big match up against Chelsea ..

Whats so fortunate about that schedule? Chelsea have Wigan, Bolton, Newcastle and Man City.

I can see the head lines on saturaday , Rafa ROTATES ARSE OUT OF PREM RACE and then 3 DAYS LATER , RAFA ROTATES ARSE OUT OF C.L LEAGUE .

OR ARSE ROTATED OUT ....LOLOL , I wouldnt put it past the British media .

BoyU has won the title

if Big SidEEE!!! wins the title by winning all the remaining games, it would be similar to BoyU's title of 1999 when they pipped Arsenal to the title.
                    Last edited by Mexxx; April 4, 2008, 12:06 PM.
                    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

Originally posted by Mexxx View Post
                      if Big SidEEE!!! wins the title by winning all the remaining games, it would be similar to BoyU's title of 1999 when they pipped Arsenal to the title.

Big SiDEEE dug their own hole!
                      Early season & late season - Those draws?
                      Teams that should have been thoroughly whipped! GUNNERS shudda - cudda have been sitting on a 16 point lead before the Chelsea match! cudda-shudda?

RAFA ON ARSENAL, KUYT AND TEAM SELECTION
                        Liverpoolfc.tv 04 April 2008 Rafa Benitez takes five minutes out of his preparations for Saturday's big game to speak to Liverpoolfc.tv about the Barclays Premier League encounter with Arsenal. To watch the interview click here>>

Rafa, looking back on the midweek draw with Arsenal, how satisfied were you with the result?

We must be really happy. It was a difficult game against a good team and to draw away in Europe I think is really important.

I'm sure you've watched the game back on video so what pleased you most about the performance?

The work rate of the team was really good, especially some players, but as a team we were working as a unit. We were very compact with a clear idea. Sometimes we could have done a little bit better with the last pass but as a team we worked really hard.

It wasn't part of the plan to go behind and did you feel the worst at that stage because Arsenal looked like they were getting a real grip on the game?

You know Arsenal is a team that always has plenty of possession whether it be the Premier League or Champions League. So to concede a goal when you know they will create chances was a big problem, but we scored our goal early and it was very good.

Arsene Wenger has said it was a like a thunderstorm went through his side when Dirk Kuyt equalised. How much of a boost did it give your players when he scored?

It was really, really important. We were talking before the game about the need to score a goal and to win if it was possible, but the first idea was clear and that was to score, to go forward and to create something on the counter attack. As soon as we scored I think it was really difficult for them because mentally you could see they were affected so it was a boost for us.

There were lots of quality players on the pitch but it was Steven Gerrard with a moment of inspiration for you to set up your goal...

You know when you have players like Torres, Gerrard, Babel and Kuyt up front you have players who can change the game. As a manager you must be really happy with this situation and Gerrard with his ability, his power, changed the game and Kuyt did well for the goal.

Dirk Kuyt has come in for a lot of criticism from some supporters this season but he was a real hero for you on Wednesday wasn't he?

Yes. I think he showed in the derby and in this game that he has a fantastic team spirit. He's a player who works really hard for the team. He's not selfish and I think he is the kind of player you want in the squad.

It's very unusual for you to single out players for specific praise but that shows how delighted you must have been with his performance...

He is a striker who was scoring a lot of goals in Holland. Playing as a right winger, he defends, attacks and runs 40/50 metres all of the time and he doesn't complain. He always tries to do his best for the team. I think he's amazing and I think everybody needs to know he is a player of the team.

He has settled well into this position on the right side of the attacking three, hasn't he?

Yes. He played in this position in Holland sometimes but they were playing a 4-3-3 formation so he was playing as a winger like Babel for example. Working as hard as he does for us in attack and defence shows the mentality and the character of this player.

He's got six goals in the Champions League this season. That shows he can deliver the goods in the biggest competition...

I think he's a winner. He's very competitive so in the big games he is working and ready for everything.

Does his goal give you an advantage going into the second leg?

I think we are in a much better position. We will be playing at Anfield which is very important for us. The away goal is also important, but we know that Arsenal is a good team who normally score goals home and away so our idea and approach to the game will be to win.

Was that a typical Liverpool European away performance?

I think it was more or less. We knew what to do, we were well organised and in Europe it's really important to be compact in defence and after play on the counter attack.

You've beaten Inter Milan away, you won in Barcelona last season, but does that draw at Arsenal rank up with those two in terms of achievement in this competition?

Yes. I think it showed the players are good enough and they have very good mentality, and in the big games some of them can deliver.

You travelled back to Liverpool after the game on Wednesday and you go back down to London on Friday. Is it possible to prepare for Saturday's game in the way you would like to?

Our idea was to come back here to Melwood because I think it's easier for us to train here. We can practice things but if we were in London it would be more difficult. It's not the ideal scenario but at least we can prepare something.

There's so much at stake in Champions League football, the stakes are so high so that does make it more difficult for players to recover both physically and mentally in time for Saturday?

Yes. It's really difficult clearly, especially if you play at the high tempo and the pace of the game like the other day. It's not easy and we will need to check each player but at least we have a good squad.

Can the players be in top condition for this game?

It depends on each one. No, I don't think they will be ready for the game on Saturday and then the game on Tuesday. I think it will almost be impossible but it depends on each player.

I think Arsene Wenger has said it's a survival of the fittest at the moment. Is that true?

We were a little bit tired but they were also tired so everybody must be fit. That is the key and the players have quality so the priority now is to keep the players as fit as possible.

So what sort of game can we expect on Saturday and will it be similar to what we saw the other night?

Yes, more or less. At home especially they will attack so it could be similar.

Is there more pressure on Arsenal than Liverpool with them still going for the title?

I don't like to talk about pressure but it's clear they need to win if they want to be closer to the top of the table, and for us it's important to ensure we finish in the top four. But at least we are five points ahead of Everton so if we make any mistakes we will have more games, and if they make a mistake I don't think that Manchester United and Chelsea will make many mistakes.

I'm sure you expect Everton to beat Derby on Sunday so are you conscious of the need to try and avoid the gap being cut to two points?

Yes. For us this is an important game because as soon as you can win and make sure we are in the top four then it will be easier to concentrate if we can progress in the Champions League. I think it's important to win every game.

Will we see changes this weekend then?

Yes. Normally we would need to change some players. We don't know exactly now how many but we have some problems with injuries and some players are really tired. We need to decide, check each one and maybe we will change some players.

Despite the great result on Wednesday I'm sure you will remember the game at the Emirates last season in the Premier League. Are you keen to make amends for that on Saturday?

If we are concentrated as we were the other day then I think it could be a good game for us. Always it's difficult to play at the Emirates but we now have experience and we can do important things.

We are right in the middle of a number of high profile games. How much are you enjoying the challenge as a manager at the moment?

I like to play these kind of games because it means we are playing for something and trophies so I think it's important for a manager to be happy with this situation.

After beating Everton and getting a draw at Arsenal do you think your players are in the right form at the right time?

I think so. The understanding between some players is good and the physical condition is also good.

You've talked about tiredness but are there any injuries ahead of this game?

Not really. It's just a case of just to check and it depends on each player. Some of them can play with problems and some need to rest.
                        Page last updated at 17:43 GMT, Friday, 4 April 2008 18:43 UK

E-mail this to a friend Printable version
                        We can still win league - Wenger

Wenger is desperate to add to his three Premier League titles

Emirates Stadium
                        Saturday, 5 April
                        Kick-off: 1245 BST
                        Coverage on the BBC Sport website, BBC Radio Five Live & highlights on Match of the Day

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger believes his side can win the Premier League - but says they may have to win all six of their remaining games to do so.
                        Arsenal, six points behind Manchester United, play Liverpool at The Emirates on Saturday in a crucial encounter.
                        Wenger said: "Some people say the title is over but not me, I still believe that we can win the Premier League.
                        "United have four away games and they are at home to us as well. They are excellent, but they can lose points."
                        Interview: Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger

He added: "It depends on how the games go and how much effort the teams put in - but no win is guaranteed in the Premier League.

I am not sure whether Steven Gerrard and Fernando Torres will play

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger

"I would love to put some more pressure on Manchester United. I feel it is very important to win our game against Liverpool first and therefore we need to be at our best.
                        "Everything is still possible, of course - but the main thing for us is to win our games.
                        "Five wins and a draw is a minimum but that means we would have to win at Old Trafford. Six wins would be better."
                        Wenger pits his wits against Liverpool coach Rafael Benitez for the second of their three games in six days, the league match sandwiched in between their Champions League quarter-final.
                        He knows how important Tuesday's second leg at Anfield is with the tie poised at 1-1, but says everyone's focus should be on Saturday's league game.
                        "I will pick a team which can win the game on Saturday. I feel we have a good chance in the championship and do not want to miss that," said the Frenchman.
                        606: DEBATE

I think Arsenal will win on Saturday. Mascherano being suspended is a big problem

pauliebgoon

"For us it is important to win because of the situation in the league. It would have a double impact - one for the league and one for the Champions League.
                        "I never analyse the league when we have things in our own hands but this time that is not completely the case so we have to see where things can turn and change.
                        "Now it gets so tight you have to think about what might happen elsewhere.
                        "It can change much quicker than people think."
                        Wenger also believes Liverpool, five points clear of Everton in fourth but eight points adrift of the third-placed Gunners, can afford to rest players on Saturday with Europe in mind.
                        "I believe they will make changes. I am not sure whether Steven Gerrard and Fernando Torres will play," said Wenger.
                        "They have a big squad and a lot of experienced players who didn't play on Wednesday. To my calculation, eight players with big Premier League experience."

Bookmark with:What are these?

BBC.adverts.write("mpu");Advertisement

BBC.adverts.show("mpu");
                        see also

Arsenal v Liverpool
                        03 Apr 08 | Premier League
                        Arsenal 1-1 Liverpool
                        02 Apr 08 | Europe
                        Almunia agrees new Arsenal deal
                        03 Apr 08 | Arsenal
                        Wenger irked by 'blatant' penalty
                        03 Apr 08 | Europe

related bbc links:

Football on the BBC
                        Arsenal fans' views on 606
                        BBC London audio
                        Arsenal weather
                        BBC Sport Premier League

related internet links:

Arsenal

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

PRODUCTS & SERVICES

ah well.....i wonder if henry could have helped?

henry was tailormade for the gunners, he can do better in spain than he'sdoing now, but his best will have been with the gunners.

i think so...............dont seem to have many attacking options.

Outrage at Arsenal TV comments Written by Hakeem Stevens on April 3rd, 2008 </B></B>

Arsenal TV presenter Tom Watt made several inappropiate comments in his phone-in show after the 1-1 draw at the Emirates on Wednesday night. The Gooner’s presenter appeared to accuse Liverpool of rigging the referee amongst other disgraceful comments.
                            He, much like some of the ‘press’ today, claimed the fact referee Pieter Vink was from a town in Holland five minutes from Dirk Kuyt opens the result of the non-penalty award as being even more controversial. Watt took it all a step further though by calling on Arsenal fans to complain to Uefa and Michel Platini.
                            More disgracefully though he said words to the effect of ‘Kuyt probably met him at wedding and they plugged dykes together or whatever they do in Holland’. Impressive journalism if ever you saw it im sure you would agree. The panel, of ‘Shovell’ from M People and ex-Gooner Stewart Robson laughed and ‘easy’ to calm him down.
                            Mind that didn’t stop him, with Watt saying Kuyt is a terrible player and that he ‘couldn’t believe he scored against us’. He also went on to criticise Steven Gerrard, claiming he shirked his defensive duties (yes, whilst being played in an attacking midfield role).
                            Watt shouldn’t have sounded so bitter though as he went on to tell viewers they had nothing to fear about the second leg as they were the best team for 75 minutes and due to having beat us in the Cup games last season they will get through to the semis. He obviously forgot Peter Crouch’s demolition job in the League at Anfield last season.
                            Maybe Watt was trying to enforce what Kop magazine said last week, that Arsenal are just a southern Everton.
                            Watt’s comments, along with the rest of the talking points from last night’s match, will be discussed on the next TIA podcast which will be available on Friday.
                            Hakeem Stevens
                            More articles by this author & contact author

Masch’s ban a blessing in disguise Written by Matt Ladson on April 3rd, 2008 </B></B>

So, Javier Mascherano has had his one match ban extended to three matches - plus a £15,000 fine. While the ban itself was expected, although arguably not merited, from an overall perspective I feel it could well be a blessing in digsuise.
                              Mascherano would have been our player of the season had it not been for the incredible form of Torres and has been our most consistent performer all season long. But with Lucas having been slowly introduced and groomed to the English game to good effect this season it means we have a good replacement in the Brazilian to anchor the midfield alongside Alonso - just as the two of them did against Everton. This means im confident Lucas can now do the job when Masch. is missing in the league fixtures.
                              European football always requires a player in the Mascherano role to excel in order for succcess, just as Didi Hamann so often did during the Uefa Cup run in 2001 and again in the Champions League success of 2005. With Europe now key on our agenda for the rest of the season, Mascherano’s ban allows him to come into these quarter finals with Arsenal fit, fresh and literally chomping at the bit. Our midfield terrier is also hugely important to stop the likes of Fabregas and Hleb breaking from midfield.
                              Rotation Debate
                              It’s funny that for most of the season fans and pundits have moaned at Rafa’s rotation policy, only for the gaffer to quit the rotation in the wake of the Barnsley defeat and now it will be very interesting to see if he does rotate on Saturday. Me personally ive never blamed the rotation in the past - others do it more than Rafa but don’t get the same stick - and sincerely hope he does rotate at the Emirates.
                              A change of system would not be beneficial so keep with the 4-2-3-1 which has been succesful over the last two months and will no doubt be adopted at Anfield next Tuesday again, but allow for some fresh legs to be brought and, maybe most importantly, time for key players to be rested ahead of the return leg. I wouldn’t say to make wholesale changes but the obvious one for me is Torres to allow Crouch to lead the line and give the Arsenal defence a different type of problem. Play him up top with Gerrard still in behind, just as the two did in the league meeting at Anfield last season when Crouchie hit a hat trick.
                              Kuyt, Babel, Hyypia and Aurelio would be the others I’d ‘rest’, bringing in Pennant, Benayoun, Arbeloa and Riise respectively, with Lucas covering Mascherano in the middle alongside Alonso.
                              Here’s hoping rotation leads the way to Moscow…

Matt Ladson
                              More articles by this author & contact author

Rate this article: (3 votes, average: 4.67 out of 5)
                              Loading ...

Email This Article Print This Articleaddthis_pub = 'thisisanfield'; Related Articles
                              Reds confirm Javier appeal
                              (4 April 2008)
                              Masch sorry over red reaction (4 April 2008)
                              Friday’s Back Pages: Pre-Arsenal (4 April 2008) </SPAN>Tags: comment and opinion, javier mascherano, rotation debate