• My mind on how we grow...should grow

...and where we should go has not changed -

and I will argue that over the years I stick to the way I see it. That way, in my mind, has not changed!

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=45

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=161

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=197

...written/stated elsewhere on the site - needed at all levels of national team building "steady diet of quality international matches"!

...and where we should go has not changed -

and I will argue that over the years I stick to the way I see it. That way, in my mind, has not changed!

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=45

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=161

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=the&id=197

...written/stated elsewhere on the site - needed at all levels of national team building "steady diet of quality international matches"!
    Jamaica's football will not move forward (and that isn't moving up in the FIFA rankings) unless some serious changes take place in our football structure.

Scrap the meaningless DCup and Manning Cup.
    Merge the leagues into an islandwide D1 and DII leagues. Leaving the NPL as the "top" league. All these leagues fall under the JFF.
    The parish associations should simply focus on youth development.

Jamaica's football will not move forward (and that isn't moving up in the FIFA rankings) unless some serious changes take place in our football structure.
      Agreed!
      Mindset of those with the clout means to change!

Scrap the meaningless DCup and Manning Cup.
      Disagree with you and Jawge on this!
      ...for many reasons one of which is "football is a business"...why would you want to "disband/do awy with the cheapest/most economical...yet greatest market penetration and visibility your product has?

...it would take too long to show regurgitate the many ways our talent pool is(?)...could be tapped & covered!

Merge the leagues into an islandwide D1 and DII leagues.
      See responses above!
      ...and that would also not be cost effective! Who would sponsor these leagues and watch these leagues? How would you get players and other entites motivated to provide 100% input - i.e. teaching/coaching, etc?

Leaving the NPL as the "top" league.
      This is already the case!

All these leagues fall under the JFF.

The parish associations should simply focus on youth development.
      ???
      What are the parish associations currently focussed on? My take is the parish associations, such as they are, are not focussed on anything!

Agreed!
        Mindset of those with the clout means to change!

Disagree with you and Jawge on this!
        ...for many reasons one of which is "football is a business"...why would you want to "disband/do awy with the cheapest/most economical...yet greatest market penetration and visibility your product has?

...it would take too long to show regurgitate the many ways our talent pool is(?)...could be tapped & covered!

See responses above!
        ...and that would also not be cost effective! Who would sponsor these leagues and watch these leagues? How would you get players and other entites motivated to provide 100% input - i.e. teaching/coaching, etc?

This is already the case!

???
        What are the parish associations currently focussed on? My take is the parish associations, such as they are, are not focussed on anything!
        When I think back and recall likes of Byron Earle, Kevin Wilson to name a few "tearing up" school boy leagues ... who have they benefitted our national team? I see that y'all into this tradition foolishness. Suh gwaan waste time. Thank God fi UB40s.

Who would sponsor?

How many leagues we have in Jamaica? NPL? Confed? 13 D1, 13 D2? How much dat? With the exception of the D2 leagues, all leagues have sponsors. Suh nuh ask who gonna sponsor. That would free up sponsorship for individual teams.

When I think back and recall likes of Byron Earle, Kevin Wilson to name a few "tearing up" school boy leagues ... who have they benefitted our national team?
          ...and you could list 'millions more'...but isn't it lack of opportunities for development of that talent that is the problem? ...not the talent or better put, not the lack of talent?

Who would sponsor?

How many leagues we have in Jamaica? NPL? Confed? 13 D1, 13 D2? How much dat? With the exception of the D2 leagues, all leagues have sponsors. Suh nuh ask who gonna sponsor. That would free up sponsorship for individual teams.
          Easier to get all the disparate groups that currently sponsor as they 'invest that sponsorship money for penetration of their local markets' to divert their funds into markets they do not serve?

Don't think so!

Alright Karl.

Check England, Brazil, Argentina etc and you will see many of the good 15-18 year old don't develop inna major talent either.

Yes we can do a better job it happen more frequently around the world than you think.

Check England, Brazil, Argentina etc and you will see many of the good 15-18 year old don't develop inna major talent either.

Yes we can do a better job it happen more frequently around the world than you think.
                Sass: The top is for elites! ...that also should mean that even at the lower levels - those who get in are elites! It means a vast many will never make it to the top. Damn a vast many will never make it into any recognised team - and the numbers that will not...could not make it grows as...school ---> parish ----> club ----> national team. Yup! ..one or two will not make it at the lower level and blossom and find place at higher levels...but with good systems that number will be even fewer.

Aside: Just as in JA those who make school-teams are an elite group. It is at each level...or it should be in any good system...the best of the best!

crap you talking Karl. Pure crap.

When did school team belong to the elites?

Did Tappa go a high school? How him ended up scoring 2 world cup goals?