• Who is the best central defender?

Who is the best central defender?

(FIFA.com) Tuesday 1 April 2008

The game of football has been blessed with many great defenders and, as the game has progressed, so has the art of defending. Although they may not hit the headlines as much as the centre forwards, a reliable centre back can be the difference between winning and losing an important match, a national championship - and even the FIFA World Cup™.

It is for that reason why Italy captain Fabio Cannavaro was voted as the FIFA World Player of the Year by his peers back in 2006. Prior to Cannavaro, the likes of Franz Beckenbauer, Daniel Passarella and Bobby Moore set the gold standard and more recently, Paolo Maldini has taken up the baton, winning continental honours with AC Milan at the age of 39.

In this Have Your Say, we are interested to find out who you think is the best defender in the world today. Obviously, the Italian duo mentioned above will attract many compliments, but what about the merits of Carles Puyol, Sergio Ramos and John Terry? Looking outside of Europe, you might be more impressed with Roberto Ayala, Lucho or Rafael Marquez.

So, who do you think is the best central defender in the world today?

Which joker write dis? IF not Rio Ferdinand then who? This constant mentioning John Terry is getting comical now. Terry not better than Carvalho much less Rio.

John O'Shea!

OK! That was a joke!
      ...but what cannot be denied is he put in a fantastic display yesterday vs Roma! No center-back could have performed better! ...funnily his first touch ( 34th Min) was possible a game saver!
      He deserved FULL

Is one ting mi haffi seh bout dis;how much a dem yah defendah yah bless wid speed?

Originally posted by myYout View Post
          Is one ting mi haffi seh bout dis;how much a dem yah defendah yah bless wid speed?

...not the quickest but maybe only Puyol is mediocre on speed across ground.

...Cannavaro is past his best. Maldini is past his best. It is a marvel that they are still considered top notch.

Sergio Ramos has slowed...but his workrate is top rate and he also is still one of the best!

Franz Beckenbauer - (Moved so fluidly and apparently languid...that he fooled the opponent into thinking he was slow. Ran by many who had great 'turn-over rate. Showed it time and again when he went forward! Scored quite a few goals!) - and Daniel Passarella were quick!
          Fedinand is quick!

...and by the way Bobby Moore was more of a mid-fielder than a center-back.

Perhaps you can name the top world center-backs who are not quick?
          Senderos?
          Good!
          Not TOP OF THE WORLD! ...not the fastest! ..but as our Jamaicans can tell you (He ran by/outran all we put against him in Florida) not slow!
          Last edited by Karl; April 2, 2008, 06:45 PM.

Karl, help me with this. I have been watching Barcelona for a while and they don't seem to play the kind of football you believe is necessary for TOP OF THE WORLD status. I mean, they walk thru the entire game, exhibiting the very best in ball control, passing, movement, understanding. But you say the name of the game is speed, and more speed. Then why is Barcelona so successful? How come, how come?

Thanks for your answer!

Oh you think the Barcelona players are moving about slowly? ...and you think they are not TOP OF THE WORLD?

...or do you think they are moving around slowly and are still TOP OF THE WORLD?

If you think they move around slowly...look again?

btw - I hope you do not think there is no period in a game where a player stops...or jogs...or walks?

The Barcelona players...as group...they are not all with the same top speed (God I have to say that...or???)...they are quick - Across ground and quick of mind - "footballically speaking"!

They hardly ever break into the kind of sprinting that takes place in the English game.

(I can't follow your many definitions of speed, Karl. Mi head a hat mi!)

And yes, they do WALK around the pitch! (Feel free to supply us with your myriad definitions of "walk".) Yet, they are indeed TOP OF THE WORLD.

How come, how come?

Karl, I am confused by the combination of the article and your words. I thought Maldini was and is a left back.

Maldini has played quite a bit of Central Defense especially later in his career.

Welcome to the Confused Readers of Karl's Posts Club!

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                        Karl, I am confused by the combination of the article and your words. I thought Maldini was and is a left back.
                        Aaaaah bwoy? - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paolo_Maldini

...perhaps you should also google Der Kaiser? Maybe reading on him tells why he appeared slow in his matches....
                        ...and besides seeing clips of him ghosting by players give hints on my reason for saying he was fast?
                        Last edited by Karl; April 3, 2008, 01:13 AM.

So I take it that everybody agree that Rio is the best?

They hardly ever break into the kind of sprinting that takes place in the English game.
                            I do not know about that type absolute! Certainly it appears that the sprinting is more methodical...i.e. it appears there is more thinking going into what is being done...and the emphasis is on appears.

However, when these top teams meet - look at the Champion League and the internationals - across the pitch...it appears most often that speed across ground is just on or about the same.

...as to work-rate? Which teams works harder than the Italian and the Germans?

(I can't follow your many definitions of speed, Karl. Mi head a hat mi!)
                            I know it is difficult for those who never played the game. ...but I know you did. So you must know that speed has to do with reaction time...acceleration...and sustainability...

...and you must have met players who you could move across ground faster than...yet got up to speed (say from a standing start) - faster than you could and thus had the jump on you...or who had faster feet (coudda pop out yuh r@#@#$$$) - now you see the ball (at this particular spot), now you do not (by the time you reacted and your foot went out to (attempt to ) make contact with the ball it was no longer where you ...

...and maybe more than a few who were up to the next move before you even thought of the previous move ...i.e. consistently in a particular game were in thought 'two-three steps' ahead of you?

So yes the physical observed quickness/speed of.... has various 'speed' components. Close yuh yeye dem! tek deep breaths! clear yuh brain! ...and start agen! OK?

And yes, they do WALK around the pitch! (Feel free to supply us with your myriad definitions of "walk".) Yet, they are indeed TOP OF THE WORLD.

How come, how come?
                            Perhaps the thinking is so fast or the moves so practised...that the movement...the perception of the uninitiated of those movements appear slow?

One way I judge movement...opponent vs opponent, team vs team...is a recall of previous observed play and current observation of player vs player turn-over rate. A player may appear to be 'easy' loping across ground...and a known quantity is obviously galloping!

You claim Luton Shelton is a speed demon...yet at times we see defenders (apparently) moving slowly and matching his speed or easing away in chase for ball. After observing for a while a judgement can be made on the defenders quickness vis a vis what we know of Shelton. It really is not so hard...it really should not be so hard for you who has played the game...right?

Look at Ronaldo of BoyU - He has quick feet! He also has quick acceleration! ...fair speed across ground! ...quick mind! I am sure many opponents could match him in speed across ground...but with his other 'quickness'...the complete package...most have serious problems matching up with him!

*btw - examples - Shelton's problems stem from not having the quick mind...a quick enough mind...to go with his other quiickness.

Similarly Fuller's mind is his problem!

Quicker of mind would take both to the next level. Marlon King plays 'years' smarter than both those guys together!

...and Maestro has the same problem. He cannot be called a speed merchant...but he has quick feet and great technical skill...but tactically (the thinking part) he is deficient. That was the problem Taylor had at the Metro Stars. He had the physical attributes...but the thinking part...TEAM concept...TEAM goals...how to operate at or near maximum efficiency in that TEAM goals/aims...contribution environment...eluded him. He still has that problem! (Just watched him in two matches vs DC...and in my mind's eye compared him to what I saw at the MetroStars, local H/V matches, and for JA...seems to have remained in one place where TEAM...thinking is concerned.)

I think Nesta is still better than Rio.