• Ricketts Refused re-entry to the UK and maybe out of a job

Ricketts may have played last game
    By Simon Parker
    Comment | Read Comments (5)
    Donovan Ricketts was not allowed back into England after international duty

City are unlikely to see Donovan Ricketts again after immigration officials blocked him from coming back into the country.

Ricketts, whose contract is up at the end of the season, is stuck in Jamaica - and looks to have played his final game at Valley Parade.

The 30-year-old keeper, one of the highest earners in the squad, would also be in breach of contract if he is unable to turn up to work for training.

Ricketts was stopped at Heathrow Airport on Friday as he returned with Omar Daley from international duty.

An official noticed that although he had a valid passport and work permit, Ricketts had not got the necessary stamp in his documentation to meet UK employment laws.

He was promptly refused entry and put back on a plane to New York, where he hoped to get the passport stamped at the British Embassy.
    advertisement

But when City contacted the immigration agency in Sheffield, they were told that Ricketts had not completed the paperwork within the six-month deadline of the work permit being issued - and therefore it was viewed as invalid.

City could have applied for a new work permit but that would have been turned down because his contract is up in three months; Jamaica are outside FIFA's top 70, so he does not meet the international requirements; and he is no longer the club's first-choice goalkeeper.

"We tried everything we could to get Donovan back in but rules are rules," said City boss Stuart McCall.

"I like the fella and I'm disappointed that he's back in Jamaica. I would love him to get back but the longer things go on, it doesn't look good."

Ricketts, who last played for City at Wrexham in January, saw a move to QPR collapse in the transfer window because of work-permit problems.

McCall brought in Scott Loach on loan to replace him and the Watford youngster has appeared in every game sinc

Well look like him salt. Shoulda tek care of him affairs.

Somebody made a blunder. Who should have completed his paper work?

Boxhill?

He is responsible for his own affairs.

What is Ricketts agent and J.F.F doing about this ongoing

discrimating saga by the home office and his club. There is obvious something discreetly going on to test our national goalkeeper. I hope Ricketts is smart enought to not allow these people make him give up on his career and talent which God gave him. Some people will not tell you that they can't afford to pay you so much until they have other options available. Our goal is beat every team we encounter and move up the fifa ladder so that there is less excuse for the home office regarding our position. Ricketts just relax a yard and enjoy the beaches and gyms and God will take care of things behind the scenes. What is yours legally will be yours..Other top clubs will see you in South Africa and really want you in their squad for way more than what you are being payed now.

This is a way for the club to dump the salary also.

This is tough!
                ...extremely tough!

No its not discriminating, by any means. There are two factors that we have to understand. The players was transfered to QPR but that fell through. That meant he no longer had a squad # at Bradford but was their highest paid player. So here is the scneario, they are paying a players who is not playing, and for what ever reason they have not moved him back in the squad. By not completing the paperwork ( which may not have been doable anyway) you can force the player to void the contract. This I think is an interesting case for a player Association as I think Donavan should be paid, but they will argue otherwise. Hopefully they can work to get him in at close of season by then he we should be back in the top 70.

I feel for him... he was better off not going to Jamaica but at the same time he needs the caps

Cyaan't trust dem "White People!"

Wuss off dem dat sellout dem own... chuss dem even less !

How about loaning him to somwhere else?

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                          No its not discriminating, by any means. There are two factors that we have to understand. The players was transfered to QPR but that fell through. That meant he no longer had a squad # at Bradford but was their highest paid player. So here is the scneario, they are paying a players who is not playing, and for what ever reason they have not moved him back in the squad. By not completing the paperwork ( which may not have been doable anyway) you can force the player to void the contract. This I think is an interesting case for a player Association as I think Donavan should be paid, but they will argue otherwise. Hopefully they can work to get him in at close of season by then he we should be back in the top 70.

Is he eligle to go to the european mainland, if not how about the US MLS? Man ha fi put food pon the table!

outside of the transfer window?

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                              I feel for him... he was better off not going to Jamaica but at the same time he needs the caps
                              You're right!
                              Really a bad break for him!