• Hugo Sanchez fired as coach of Mexican national soccer team

Carlos Rodriguez, THE ASSOCIATED PRESS 12 minutes ago

MEXICO CITY - Hugo Sanchez was fired as coach of Mexico's soccer team on Monday, two weeks after El Tri's under-23 team was eliminated from Olympic qualifying.

The Mexican soccer federation fired Sanchez after 16 months on the job, having failed to deliver on promises of regional titles and an Olympic medal.

The decision of the Mexican federation committee, made up of the directors of the first-division clubs, was unanimous.

The failure to qualify for Beijing is particularly stinging for Mexican players of this generation, who won the Under-17 World Cup in Peru in 2005 and reached the quarter-finals at the Under-20 Word Cup in Canada last year.

Jesus Ramirez, who guided the Mexican U17s to their 2005 title, was installed as the interim manager of Mexico.

Also tarnishing Sanchez's 33-game coaching tenure was Mexico's loss last year to the United States in the CONCACAF Gold Cup final.

Sanchez, a former star for Real Madrid, struggled with losses to regional minnows such as Honduras with the full national team and Guatemala with the U23s.

Sanchez acknowledged his Olympic program had failed, but had refused to resign.

Before taking the helm, Sanchez went on a four-year campaign to become Mexico's manager, repeatedly criticizing predecessor Ricardo La Volpe and promising to make the team a world champion.

In the Gold Cup, the team struggled to beat teams it previously dominated, such as Cuba, Panama and even the island of Guadeloupe.

The Gold Cup also laid bare the shortcomings of Sanchez, who led the Spanish league in scoring five times while playing for Real Madrid. From his time coaching Pumas, Sanchez didn't hide his inability to dominate the technical side of the game and relegated that responsibility to his Argentine assistant Sergio Egea.

However, his motivational coaching style didn't fly with some players, especially those belonging to European teams. Just before the end of the Gold Cup, three members of the team decided not to play in Copa America. Pavel Pardo and Ricardo Osorio, both of whom play for Germany's Stuttgart, and Carlos Salcido of Dutch team PSV Eindhoven, all quit, saying they were too tired to play.

Salcido had previously said he had personal differences with Egea.

Without them, Sanchez and Mexico finished third, causing the wave of criticism to subside for a while.

Following that victory, the team fared poorly in a series of friendlies, during which it only defeated Panama, tied against Nigeria and the U.S. and lost to Brazil and Guatemala.
    Last edited by Karl; April 1, 2008, 08:50 AM.

rhatid.. suh what dem woulda duh if dem nevah qualify fi Gold Cup ???

I think peckerman may be the next coach

Blouse Kup Assasin...yuh see how some countries tek this ting serious!!!

How many games of the 33 did Sanchez lose? I would not be surprise if he had an 80% winning record.

All this means is that all countries beware. Mexico is coming wid bad intentions.

Bad intentions? Yuh mean a bad team

Hugo Sanchez set the bar!
            Hugo Sanchez failed to clear the bar!

Hugo talked too much and its the old adage, Dont criticised from the outside! because when you get the job you wont be given time to recover from failure.

I dont think his hiring was unanimous, so his firing certainly will be

I hope our Reggae Girlz can add to their woes and beat them tomorrow in the women's Olympic qualifier!