The Road to success always under construction - Simoes Ltr

Originally posted by Bill Moravek View Post
    I think many over analyze what a coach may be thinking or a player for that matter. At the end of the day it is very simple. A coach needs to see players in action..not just in practice..not in just closed door situations. He must give the players he has invited an opportunity to show themselves in these types of games. Period..end of Story. And in Jamaica's case...it is all the more important to broaden the player base.

Some players will do well...some others will not cope with the crowd and freeze. But if you keep bringing them along, exposing them in games and they have the attributes needed to contribute...then they will be fine. Not all players can manage though after a number of these games though and that is how you are able to better define your player pool.

With all this said...friendlies are a good practice for players and coaches. They give you so many opportunities you would otherwise not have to look at players and how they react in situations. But I wouldn't place to much importance on results in these fixtures. How many games have Jamaica won that actually counted for something...like WC qualifying...these are the games that matter and should be judged.
    I agree with you...but taking for granted the subject matter is very well known, as all teachers know or all teachers should know, the method of delivery is of vital importance!

so because Rene made a bunch of substitutions in the second half...and Jamaica tied the game..then he was wrong and is a bad teacher/coach? I don't follow you...I am quite certain Rene accomplished what he set out to do. Just because the crowd displayed there emotion and the press question doesn't make what he is doing wrong...it happens all over the world with much more accomplished national sides/pro teams than Jamaica. And I am quite certain the players that have the ability will be more than capable of moving forward and doing well.

Yuh talking Pato? Is there a Plato? Well, they had a Socrates, so...

I would rather he subject the players to this now...let them learn and grow..so they will be a valuable part of the player base when time comes to play games that actually mean something. Gimme a break...it was a friendly. I don't understand why so many get so caught up in these games that do not matter in relation to development of players and player pool. Of course you want to be competitive and do as well as you can..however..you want to broaden the experience of the players and player pool...that is the number 1 priority. That is the only way you can see how well a player has progressed...how the team fits together as that is a very important dynamic. And you can't accomplish these things unless you chop and cut with substitutions some times. Most national squads around the world do this..it is nothing new..

I think the approach was right. I am not sure what we are arguing. Yes its always good to beat TT but the fact we did not is not the end of the world. Now if you ask why the subs did not perform then thats another story.

Some teams start 8 new players at the start of the second half! Although I don't want to lose to T&T in anything, I do agree that we are taking this result a little foolishly. It's not a big deal.

However, at all times, no matter how many changes, I think the coach must always be thinking about a victory. Even while looking at new players, those players must be inserted into game and charged with playing for a victory. It might not be possible with the calibre of players being subbed into a game, but neve just throw someone into a game and not care about how they go about trying to secure a win. If you don't get it, it's not the end of the world!

Seems obvious to me!

so because Rene made a bunch of substitutions in the second half...and Jamaica tied the game..then he was wrong and is a bad teacher/coach? I don't follow you...I am quite certain Rene accomplished what he set out to do. Just because the crowd displayed there emotion and the press question doesn't make what he is doing wrong...it happens all over the world with much more accomplished national sides/pro teams than Jamaica. And I am quite certain the players that have the ability will be more than capable of moving forward and doing well.
                Bill how long were you in Jamaica? I would have thought from your short stay with us that you would have picked up that we fancy ourselves the greatest footballing minds in the world

Well even plato can run ball round some a them

Exactly...and I think everyone can agree that Rene is doing that...I think that is pretty much stating the obvious..true

all of a sudden everybody know more than simoes... karl stop the foolishness and stop the poppyshow over analysis... karl, (i am singling you out because u are an easy target ) you dont know more than simoes, not even a fraction so hold the rhetoric... that goes for all the other gee-nuss-es dem...

just mek de man duh him ting and wait fe de result... unuh (aftanoon lazie) want de man duh test and unuh (how yuh duh lazie) nuh want de man prepare... cho, mi loooze affa unuh (lazi mi big fren )

Jamaicans are strong willed individuals and certainly have their opinions...but trust me...it is like that everwhere..in every country...at the end of the day ..people are people..and everyone has an opinion...

absolutely... the game was being dominated by the starters... what better time to take a look at the other players... the game was a 'draw' but objective observers know which team was the dominant team on that day... simoes is doing the right thing... the media should not have put simoes in this position where he had to write a letter of explanation...

simoes deserve BETTER than this...

I am not questioning Rene!
                            I am saying methods need to fit aims!
                            I have not a clue what Rene's immediate aims were. Yes, I do know his long term aim - Get us to South Africa!

Practise match by practise match what the aims are?
                            Haven't a clue!

Mo sometimes with youngster you just have to throw them out there.

As you see Cousins performed different from Thomas under pressure. Only hope Cousins can look into himself and turn it around next time and with this adventure too Thomas see what is demanded of him. It is not all bad. I thought seeing how Trinidad play in the first half Simoes thought these youngsters could have held on but guess what? they didn't so we will ketch them again.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                                all of a sudden everybody know more than simoes... karl stop the foolishness and stop the poppyshow over analysis... karl, (i am singling you out because u are an easy target ) you dont know more than simoes, not even a fraction so hold the rhetoric... that goes for all the other gee-nuss-es dem...

just mek de man duh him ting and wait fe de result... unuh (aftanoon lazie) want de man duh test and unuh (how yuh duh lazie) nuh want de man prepare... cho, mi loooze affa unuh (lazi mi big fren )
                                Hey...to wonder is as deeply ingrained as it is to breathe!