• Let's be realistic

Let's be realistic
    With Ian Burnett Sports Editor
    Sunday, March 30, 2008

As Jamaica's Reggae Boyz, stacked with as many as seven local-based players on the pitch in the second half, struggled with a youthful, understrength Trinidad and Tobago team at 'The Office' last Wednesday night, there was a feeling of unease about the team's preparedness for the semi-final phase of the 2010 CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers slated for August to November this year.

Stage Two of the qualifying series starts in mid-June and for all intents and purposes, Jamaica should easily dispose of either The Bahamas or the British Virgin Islands on their two-leg, home-and-away series on June 14/15 and June 21.

The Boyz's prospective opponents for Group Two in Stage Three (the four-team semi-final round, from which two teams advance to the final round) are perennial qualifiers Mexico, along with Canada and Honduras.

But as Jamaica toiled on Wednesday night, what with technical director Rene Simoes tinkering with the local talent pool at his disposal, Mexico were beating a very strong Ghana side 2-1 at Fulham's Craven Cottage in London.

The Mexicans got their goals from Carlos Salcido and Pavel Pardo. Chelsea's Michael Essien had given Ghana the lead.

Also, David Suazo, the Inter Milan player, who I consider the best forward in the region, was leading Honduras to a 2-1 victory over Colombia at Lockhart Stadium in Florida, USA.

Canada were also in action, going down 0-2 to host Estonia at A LeCoq Arena in Tallinn. I humbly submit that Ghana, Colombia and Estonia were far stronger than the Trinidad and Tobago team that turned up at 'The Office'.

To the best of my recollection, Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic was taken to task last year for employing the obligatory screening of local-based players by any new national coach. At the end of a four-nation Asian tour on July 3, 2007, the Serbian coach said he was finished with phase one of his plan to get the Reggae Boyz to South Africa 2010, and would start integrating the overseas-based professionals as the core group going forward with the few local-based players identified.

Unfortunately, there were no more friendly games for Bora to kick off the second phase of his plan.

What has happened since is now history. In November, Captain Horace Burrell regained control of the JFF and Bora was promptly dismissed.

Now nine months later, and a full 10 weeks to the start of the World Cup qualifying campaign, 'Phase one' or the wholesale screening of local-based players continues.

Happily, from now on we should be able to avoid that kind of drastic changeover in leadership at such a delicate stage in the preparation for a World Cup campaign. I say that because the JFF has now aligned the every-four-year Voting Congress with the FIFA World Cup calendar.

With so much emphasis placed on qualifying for the World Cup Finals, this newspaper has been arguing for such a change ever since Captain Burrell was ousted from the presidency in 2003.

That move gave Crenston Boxhill and his team very little time to chart their course because the season was well underway.

The truth is that we should not fault Simoes for screening players. After all, I am sure no one wants a repeat of August 18, 2004 when the US snatched a late equaliser (1-1) against the Boyz at the National Stadium in a World Cup qualifier, with then head coach Sebastiao Lazaroni revealing that he "did not know the players", and was therefore unsure about the requisite substitutions. That 88th-minute strike and two-point loss might have been what cost us a place in the final round of qualifying, and possibly a place in the 2006 World Cup Finals in Germany.

A lot of people might not want to accept it, but the reality is that there are not many more than a handful of local-based players at this time, who are really ready for international football outside of the Caribbean.
    And that is why I was disappointed with the Reggae Boyz squad on Wednesday night. There were too many players who are clearly not yet ready for the big stage on the field at the same time.

I couldn't help but liken Wednesday's experience with the fiasco involving our Olympic (Under-23) qualifying campaign last year. We got knocked out by The Bahamas and Haiti in that French-speaking country, after sending the core of the Under-20 team, which won a surprise silver medal at the PanAm Games in Brazil, to the older Olympic qualifying tournament.

In the euphoria of that historic PanAm Games performance, everybody seemed to have forgotten that the same set of players failed to qualify for their Under-20 World Cup earlier in the year.

Similarly, because the Boyz performed creditably on their recent three-week training camp in Brazil, all of 10 of them were listed on the 20-man Reggae Boyz squad on Wednesday night.

It might have been a surprise to coach Simoes that the standard dropped so badly in the second half when he introduced so many of these players, but I certainly was not surprised. I have seen it too often, both here and abroad, under Simoes in his first stint, Lazaroni, Clovis de Oliveira, Carl Brown, Wendell Downswell and Bora.
    Last edited by Karl; March 30, 2008, 04:23 PM.

Jamaicans pretty much have to decide if he agenda is to beat Trinidad or develop a program.
    It is the falsehood implied here that keeps us rooted to 'development' every year for the last 10 years!

With due respect given to my young friend Sass - it is not one or the other. Development of players is an ongoing thing...a perpetual renewal thing...through from when a player first kicks a ball up until the player reaches and plays at fullest potential.

In a real sense that development process dovetails or does not with getting into our national senior team. A player as he/she goes through the various learning & development stages does the 'bulk' of that at levels below the National Senior Team.

It is the nonsense policy of looking at the National Senior Team as a 'hit and miss' try out station that has us perpetually with less than best possible performances and keeps 99.999999=% of our players rooted in mediocrity. The NATIONAL SENIOR TEAMS should at all times step on the field with BEST AVAILABLE PLAYERS! All others who wish to become part of that elite group MUST by performance FORCE way in.
    Last edited by Karl; March 30, 2008, 04:34 PM.

The good Simoes' issued statement isn't without ambiguities, "blame me" is not saying anything, and "I thought we were building a foundation(slavishly echoed by the journalist)not trying to beat T&T", why can't we have both?
      Simoes is contracted only to get the Boyz to WC 2010. Not all coaches are equal, hence Simoes should be under the microscope.
      At this stage, we should have a squad, and seaching for the starting eleven.

Blessed

Rocky this is not even Digicel cup.

Can you tell me when else will Simoes have a chance to look on these players before world cup qualifiers starts? in an international game.

In light of time being of the essence, why not have Whitmore do the scouting?

Blessed

We have every reason to think Whitmore would've picked a local squad(no King etc.) that would beat T&T, and no reason to think that would not be building a foundation.

Blessed

and you are totally wrong. Remember the last time we played Caribbean minors in our own stadium? We draw with one team and St.Kitts beat us.
              When last our locals beat anybody? Bahamas beat our under 23 team and we draw another game so they couldn't progress. And the coach wasn't using 18 and so many 20 year old in the Digicel qualifiers. How soon we forget.

Who said Whitmore and others not doing the scouting. Even if they scout at some stage you have to put them on the international scene as you see our club level is even good enough to prepare player for Bahamas.
              Last edited by Assasin; March 30, 2008, 12:18 PM.

A local team picked by Whitmore beating that team from T&T is something probably will never be ascertained, but Whitmore has had success using the same formula(a light dusting of UB40 players mixed with mostly locals), the difference is his substitutions were able to protect the lead....
                Wasn't that foundation building?

Blessed

OBTW, Assasin do consider by protecting the lead, that local side is at least unbeaten.

Blessed

I have played in many pre-season and sometimes in leagues. In pre-season if you are two goals up at halftime coaches would ring in the changes after. If you are level or down then then he would only make strategic changes until the last 15 or so minutes.

We don't have any more pre-season after these games so the coach have to use these games.

What is the advantage of running up the score and not giving these youths their first or second caps?

...but could you have run up the score and or kept the lead and have given the youngsters GREAT LEARNING EXPERIENCES?

Could the teacher have accomplished both...or at the least used another method in attempting to accomplish both - (perhaps that was the aim i.e.accomplishing both the teaching of the locals and preserving the lead)?

When you are in teaching (a college - the world bring the college?) constantly your methods are reviewed and the search for better presentation/teaching never stops! Simoes is a teacher!

btw - The day the teacher stops trying to learn more that is the day he/she starts to short-change the students and by extention the society!

FIRST THING IS the identification of Talent and that is what Simoes is doing. Do you think you can put a dunce inna a gifted class? You have to weed them out and give the better average youths a chance to succeed and that is what Simoes is doing.

My god the man has only been there for 3 months and played 2 international game. Look at Capello and England, he actually lost but he said he had a good game and he saw what he wanted to see. He said he lost pretty much because of the changes cause he wanted to see everybody.

Again it has been three months and where were we when we were losing to St.Vincent and Bahamas? Why didn't we run up that score?

The Cousins and them a the player who going to play in Digicel and the youth games so every experience them get is vital.

You are actually not dealing with reality here. If Whitmore had lost one game you would have heard that he is not of the quality to coach the team. Even with wining the two games that was said.

It makes no sense we look pretty and not ready come qualifiers. The current set of players is simply not good enough to take up through qualifiers so that is why the man is looking to build on this. How many local players did Whitmore use in his two games?

Give the youth them a chance man. Unnu use to cuss Burrell say a pure UB40 him a bring in and local youth nah get a chance, now them get a big chance unnu want fi limit that.

Who want Derby with Trinidad? I want to be able to challenge US and Mexico. The game is of no real importance to me.

simoes approach was right these people dont see the long term. What Bora was doing was also the right approach, the difference here is you need to articulate what you are doing.

I don't think you need to articulate anything. Simoes feels he does, but I doubt if Bora would have said anything to anyone except his employers, the JFF.

I don't have a problem with Simoes' method thus far. Duh yuh ting, Rene!