World Cup qualifying for Jamaica, who will it be?

• World Cup qualifying for Jamaica, who will it be?

Last Wednesday I sat and watched the WC qualifier between Bahamas and Bristish Virgin Island. The winner will face Jamaica.

This two leg qualifying round is being played here in Nassau with the second game to be played on the same astro turf of the Bahamas Football Association Field on Sunday at 4:00pm. I do believe that BVI do not have a facility to host any International game.

For the Bahamas, their team is made up mostly of college players. As a matter of fact it is the same team that went to Haiti and beat us 1-0. For BVI, its a mix team of aged and youth. A number of Jamaican expats are on the BVI team and they provide the close ball skills that was on display.

The game was ordinary with the youthful Bahamians having the higher percentage of possession of the ball. What was very much in evidence was the lack of an experienced player to take charge of their team. BVI have two elders in midfield and they used common sense to launch their teams attack. They used the wind, which was strong, to their advantage to launch a couple of dangerous missiles of a shot towards goal which had the Bahamian custodian flying through the air flapping at the rockets which came his way. Fortunately for him the balls went wide. The Bahamians used speed to try and break down the BVI defense who played a flat back line with acres of room between them and the grandfather of a goalkeeper who only had one good hand. For every ball he saved the medic had to come on the field and treat him as his bad wrist gave him a warm time. He is the only KG BVI have.

At the sound of the final whistle the score is tied 1-1 with BVI having the upper hand by way of the 'away goal' rule as this game was the Bahamas home game.

Now here is a bit of news, the Bahamas best player was kicked off the team because of poor attitude. As I said above, this team is made up of college players. There are only four local based players who must report for training. These four have being receiving the brunt of the physical training as the Brazilian coach only have them to work with. It is understood that the 'big balla' who is local based, started to rebel and things got out of hand and he was told not to return. If the 'big balla' was on the team and played last Wednesday, the score would have being different as he would have had a field day with that flat back line of BVI.

We Jamaicans who make our living here strongly support the Bahamas team because we are dying to see the Reggae Boyz here in Nassau.

Thanks for the report!

Press Release from the JFF

On Wednesday March 26 the British Virgin Islands and the Bahamas played to a 1-1 result in the first round of their FIFA World Cup Qualifiers played at the BFA National Center in Nassau.
      The Second Round is scheduled for Sunday March 30, with Bahamas once again enjoying home field advantage.
      Professor Rene Simoes leaves the island on Saturday March 29 for the Bahamas. The Technical Director, will be watching Sunday’s game as Jamaica faces the winner of the two way encounter in Kingston, Jamaica on Sunday, June 15, 2008.

Jamaica betta go learn fi play pon astor turf before this ga

me or get the right footwear for this turf. Sometimes is harder to beat unorthodox teams than quality opponents. We betta lead by about 8-0 at halftime before we include the 3 local substitute. Do we realize that Simoes nu lose no match a yard in 49 games. We need to play some games with strictly local players and have more than the amount of substitute so as not to affect our fifa rating. We are going to need our midfielders to be workhorses because our defense options is limited especially Claude Davis absence.

I am surprise how Simoes always include Wolfe in all of his teams. Can someone tell me what is so special about this player.

Can someone also tell me why Jermaine Hue never seems ready for national duties but perform well for his club. The man have been there since Tappa days and him can't hold down the left midfield for such a skilled player. The man need to take some colon cleanser and go get regular bath a St.Thomas.
        Honestly I am kinda tired of the experimenting now and it about time we have a steady core of players who are capable of replacing each other on any given day without any major ill effects on the field.

bwoy unnu nu easy. Tired a the experimenting? A Simoes second game what unnu expect the man to do? Do like Lazaroni? Pick based on some local coach suggestions?

Simoes know all the players already that he is using expect

1 or 2. Him can try fool some people but mi a follow jamaican soccer long time and simoes know all these players from way back before france days.

Simoes know James Thomas, Oneil Thompson, Kerr, Cousins, Austin, Woodbine and Adrian Reid from long time?

Mi know him know Wolf and Demar Stewart. Where him know the others from?