Where do we get our journalists

• Where do we get our journalists

I really hope that was not you, Mosiah, asking the questions at the 5 minute mark.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFOGzAv5mJI

no sah

I just asked the same question on the other site. I am hoping that was not a journalist asking those question. The man sound like someone who they pulled off the street and put a mic in front of him. What kind of training do some of these journalist get? I cringe at times when I read some of our national newspapers. You would never believe that UWI has a mass communication program.

The man just ask the right question in jamaica patois

I didnot see anything wrong with the questions he ask. I like the way Simoes answer. I personally think simoes is trying to get Jermaine Hue to step up his game. The man believe it is time for simoes to stop experiencing and he was just upset that trinidad tie the game. I get the impression from the man that the best local lads are not being selected.

Originally posted by Brush View Post
          I just asked the same question on the other site. I am hoping that was not a journalist asking those question. The man sound like someone who they pulled off the street and put a mic in front of him. What kind of training do some of these journalist get? I cringe at times when I read some of our national newspapers. You would never believe that UWI has a mass communication program.

My people once hosted an event for some of Jamaica's sports journalist and when I see how the grown man them behave and communicate, it became quite clear to me how low the standards were.

After the World Cup in 1998, one of the sports shows had a panel of around 8 or so of our journalists and it was the worst thing I have ever seen on TV. The Jamaican public made quite a big deal of Bibi Gardner, Alex Thomas and Pele Wilson's inability to communicate on TV, but these trained professionals were actually just as bad and in some cases worse.

good questions, good answers by the person and rene

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

what in ability to communicate every question was answered , you dont have to speak the queens english to communicate.

if he is communicating with the jamaican public which got alot of bangarang communication during this past election , i have no problem with it,if it was a forgein press conference then...i might have a problem with it ...might

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

what in ability to communicate
                That is a general assessment of the sports journalists in JA.

The man was asking a statement. That's what was wrong with it.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Then it is wrong , what they should state is our journalist dont communicate in the queens english.Like our politicians dont communicate in the queens english when campaigning in thier constituency.

Is it necessary though , with talk host on radio and T.V conversing back and forth in patwa? Is there a line that says stop? if there is , it is grey.

Fact is Simoes answered every question , to the point of asking if it was a joke? He couldnt understand why his journalistic peers were laughing at the situation which to me had him under a bit of pressure.

I couldnt understand it also.

Asking a statement ?

He made a statement in a question , "why is it Jamaicas best midfielder J.Hue cannot get a game " something to that effect .

Nothing is wrong with it because he said before he started his statement it is my opinion as you (Simoes ) says.

That journalist is an idiat..dem fi take wey him card. Nothing wrong with asking critical questions as that is your job; just don't come with statements and act like you are the coach.

Agree, the so-called journalist is a clown and joke. Standard english should be used in communicating at a press conference, and he should NOT be an advocate for any baller. Tek whey his press credentials now!

A badman journalist them deh

" a six dem side deh fi get"

LOL. Wonder if is siccko ask the question