• Are you serious, Rene Simoes?

Are you serious, Rene Simoes?

SOMEHOW I think our football National Technical Director, Rene Simoes, either underrates the intelligence of the average football fan or he truly has no clue how to go about preparing us for the upcoming CONCACAF World Cup qualifying series.

Right on the heels of the notso-well-thought-out tour to Brazil where he creamed off the best local players, robbing the local clubs of their services for an extended period, we now hear he invited Englandbased Deon Burton for last night’s friendly international against Trinidad and Tobago at the national stadium.

Maybe by today we’ll be recalling an outstanding game by Burton last night and my griping will be like water on a sow’s back, but based on the clips we heard on television and radio, the Sheffield Wednesday striker was invited to join the Reggae Boyz, not on what he is doing now, but hear this, what he did during the successful 1998 campaign.

Since Simoes is hoping lightning will strike in the same place twice and we will advance to the World Cup finals in South Africa two years hence, he might as well try to resuscitate the careers of Marcus Gayle, Robbie Earle and Fitzroy Simpson, the other English-based players who had made the trip here over 12 years ago.

Maybe Simoes is still trying to come to grips with the language when he spoke about Burton’s heroics off the bench in the 1997 campaign, as I am certain he could never hope the player would still be as good as he was then, given the passage and ravages of time on the body.

Eleven years is a lifetime in sports, especially football, and to think that Burton can produce today as he did then is nothing short of foolhardy or maybe being way too hopeful.

Maybe Burton’s seven goals for the relegation-threatened Sheffield Wednesday was what caught Simoes’ eye, but if he thinks Burton is the answer to our goal- scoring problems, then we are in a worse-off situation than we thought.

Time is too short for experimenting with players on the downside of their careers, trying to hang on bad teams.

It would be wise for Simoes to remember his description of our qualification to France when he described it as building a house from the roof down. Maybe he needs to concentrate more on putting in infrastructure for long-term development rather than trying to build the house from the roof down... again.

Last edited by Karl; March 27, 2008, 02:51 PM.

Can rely on siccko everytime to write him crap and include him personal insults in everything.

Mosiah you should not use your position on this board to ridicule others. And yes you are ridiculing him

I am ridiculing who?

Its just part of modern day football. Players have their critics and so will coaches if they dont produce results. I for one was opposed to Simoes coming back to our program and overseeing this team and our football future. I echoed that several months back that we should hire someone else but he was appointed regardless.

He will need time for us to see what impact he will have and how we go forward. Only time will tell.

http://activepaper.olivesoftware.com.../Pc0620200.jpg

Originally posted by Warlord View Post

He will need time for us to see what impact he will have and how we go forward. Only time will tell.
              Only time will tell? Unnuh is a funny set a people yuh should a kiss di man feet from the Brazil tour alone

Im not a fan of Simoes coaching this present team and the one for the future. I dont live in nostalgia like most posters here do. I want what is best for our football moving forward and im a firm believer that lightning never strikes twice!

If he does it again great but it isnt a formality. It isnt like God has walked in and taken over.

If the man can write a critical article on Simoes, why can't Mosiah be be critical of him.

Thank you!

Yuh nuh see a instigate mi a instigate? Wha do yuh man?

Well, if recalling Burton is based on his performance over a decade ago, then Reid is right ... thats madness.

Mosiah claimed he played well. I wonder if any other person who saw the match would like to give an opinion on what his performance was like?

unnu low di man. The man a look fi put a team togather and a look pon the players them. Unnu think Fatty Ronaldo a get play based on what he is doing now? How many teams took extended look at rum head Gazza even when him can't kick a ball? How many teams still a tek look offa Michael Ricketts formerly of Bolton and England? You think a the talent that he has now?

Burton still playing active ballgame higher than any NPL team and last time I check the man was leading scorer for his team last year scoring 13 goals and he scored in his last game. What the heck is wrong if the man look pon a active 30 year old. Unnu cuss when the man call UB40 and unnu cuss when the man play local players.

Give the man a break make him put his team togather. What Rene Simoes have done for us in his three months BORA or no other coaches hasn't done in their time in Ja. The man a put togather a comprehensive program like never before in the history of Jamaica but we willing fi pull the man inna mud fi every little small thing. When unnu have legitimate criticism of the man unnu can surface but stop gripeing cause a unnu same one said "Rene had nothing to offer Jamaican football".

Unu expect any better from Paul Reid. The man a talk like Simoes expect Burton to solve everything and is basing this on his past glory. Quite amazing that he did not start him if this was the case.

Anyhow, man have to defend him position hard seeing that he said Simoes has "nothing" to offer Jamaica.