• Just thinking?

Could not for one reason or another attend a match -
    What I used to do in the days before TV/Cable and the internet had matches brought to use in 'living colour'?

Like everyone - listen to the radio!

As a schoolboy - In the 1st - 2nd form days?

Believed the commentary! ...even the newspaper reports I believed?

Some thing started to happen after that. I gradually came to the realisation that by and large the radio and newspaper reports were fiction.

...and 5th through 6th form?

...took the radio and newspaper reports of matches I never saw as fiction!

...after I started to look at matches from the point of view as "serious sport'...tactics, technical skills, quickness within which on the field tasks were accomplished, chess game of team vs team...coacah vs coach, etc., etc. radio and newspaper reports?

Joke! ...some reports may be interesting...but still, as far as ebb and flo and the quality..total quality of the 'chess match' is concerned - joke!

What the hell did I do before watching the match 'live'? ...and I just cannot live without it!

This match?

Luckily Mosiah and the other experts shall come on later and put up the stats and his interpretation of what the stats say
    and his eyes saw!

Karlus, dem did have radio in Jamaica when you were a schoolboy?

Anyway, I know not to trust the commentary of a lot of those folks. I remember when I was in high school, STETHS was supposed to play Clarendon in Chapleton. I went to the game and took my little pocket radio so I could follow the commentary. I got a good point to on the hill side where I could see everything and tuned in to whatever station Ed Barnes was on commenting on the game.

I could not believe it was the same game we were watching from listening to the commentary. I also think that the one Bobby Fray would tend to want to use too much big words and colorful language that most times he would loose concentration on the match. He would then just fill in something which nuh goh suh.

Anyway, when you grow up ah country,most times that is all you have is their radio commentary.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Stats?! Hell no! I have no time for that. I will give my views about the game on Thursday.

Karl, i listened live on radio last night... I don't know who the commentators were, (Jamaican)... all I know is the play by play man was very emotional...made the game exciting; you don't get that on TV.

I then saw the match delayed... the pace was slower than the radio man made it seem.

I was vastly disappointed we gave away the last minute goal. At that stage Whitley should have had a very close marker. Anyway, such is life and we move on.

If we were playing Canada, US or Mex, that would have been a good result. TT came without a few of their key players so the draw is a great result for them.

pr

Karl, i listened live on radio last night... I don't know who the commentators were, (Jamaican)... all I know is the play by play man was very emotional...made the game exciting; you don't get that on TV.

I then saw the match delayed... the pace was slower than the radio man made it seem.

I was vastly disappointed we gave away the last minute goal. At that stage Whitley should have had a very close marker. Anyway, such is life and we move on.

If we were playing Canada, US or Mex, that would have been a good result. TT came without a few of their key players so the draw is a great result for them.

pr
          Thanks!
          ...perhaps just a word on the overall quality of the game? Would be grateful!

Stats?! Hell no! I have no time for that. I will give my views about the game on Thursday.
            Can't wait!

Karlus, dem did have radio in Jamaica when you were a schoolboy?

Anyway, I know not to trust the commentary of a lot of those folks. I remember when I was in high school, STETHS was supposed to play Clarendon in Chapleton. I went to the game and took my little pocket radio so I could follow the commentary. I got a good point to on the hill side where I could see everything and tuned in to whatever station Ed Barnes was on commenting on the game.

I could not believe it was the same game we were watching from listening to the commentary. I also think that the one Bobby Fray would tend to want to use too much big words and colorful language that most times he would loose concentration on the match. He would then just fill in something which nuh goh suh.

Anyway, when you grow up ah country,most times that is all you have is their radio commentary.
              Yuh seit, tuh?
              Bwoy?
              Anyway, a-suh wi di affi suck hit!